Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Program to tell you which application is currently downloading/uploading

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-06-09, 08:54 AM Thread Starter   #1
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Program to tell you which application is currently downloading/uploading


Many offer info IF your system is downloading/uploading but not which app is doing it at any given moment.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-09, 02:06 PM   #2
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
You don't mention OS so I'll assume a modern Windows?

Just run perfmon.
Attached Images
 

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-09, 02:48 PM Thread Starter   #3
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Something that works with Windows XP.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-09, 03:03 PM   #4
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
Something that works with Windows XP.
Yuck. I think there's a version with XP too, I forgot the name though. Sysmon maybe?

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 01:37 AM   #5
Spion
Member



Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: KC

 
netlimiter monitor is what I've always used. The monitor is free.

http://www.netlimiter.com/

__________________
Nova
AMD FX-8120 | 4x4GB RAM | Visiontek HD4850 | BIOSTAR TA990FXE
Seasonic S12 620W | WD 640GB Black Edition | 128GB OCZ Petrol
HTPC Frontend
OEM Production E350-10B0 | AMD E-350 | 4GB RAM
Openelec Beta - Eden | 30GB OCZ Agility
Fileserver
ASUS E35M1-M PRO | AMD E-350 | 8GB RAM
Freenas 8 (Customized) | 5x2TB in ZFS RaidZ
OCForums Metal Club member #3 | Heatware
Spion is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 01:43 AM   #6
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Open a command prompt and issue the command "netstat -ab".

This will yield all process names with active connections and what port they are running on. It will not tell you what the program name is (that will require locating the executable or googling).

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 07:25 AM Thread Starter   #7
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Yeah.

I also tried this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spion View Post
netlimiter monitor is what I've always used. The monitor is free.

http://www.netlimiter.com/
The freeware part is perfect, it displays which prog is is sending/receiving data & how much of it, look at this:

(thanks!)
Attached Images
 
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 10:24 PM   #8
Omsion
Member

 
Omsion's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago and/or NJ

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratbuddy View Post
Yuck. I think there's a version with XP too, I forgot the name though. Sysmon maybe?
prefmon.msc

Needs a bit more configuration though.

__________________
Current
2500K | ASRock Z68 Pro3-M | TR Venomous X
EVGA GTX 460 768MB | 2x4GB G.Skill (F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR2)
Seasonic X650 | Fractal Design Define Mini
Omsion is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 10:28 PM   #9
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratbuddy View Post
Yuck. I think there's a version with XP too, I forgot the name though. Sysmon maybe?
I believe sysmon is what perfmon grew to be, I also think they backported perfmon to XP.






EDIT:


Quote:
Originally Posted by c627627 View Post
Yeah.

I also tried this:


The freeware part is perfect, it displays which prog is is sending/receiving data & how much of it, look at this:

(thanks!)
Wow. Liking that. Look how few there are. Man I miss XP sometimes, just for the networking (LOL 4-5 years ago, those words would never have come out of my mouth)

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 10:36 PM Thread Starter   #10
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
That was actually a Win7 screen shot.

To install it, I had to right click > Properties > Compatibility TAB > CHECK: Run this program in compatibility mode for: Windows XP (Service Pack 3) > OK


I just wanted a quick graphic that tells me nothing is uploading/downloading at that moment that shouldn't be on my Win7/XP/Vista triple boot.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-11-09, 09:52 AM   #11
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
Interesting. Considering the massive amount of network activity Vista/Mojave generates I just assumed it was an XP screenie lol

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-11-09, 10:26 AM   #12
bbergeson
Registered

 
bbergeson's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Novi, MI

 
another tool that shows which programs have an active connection

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s.../bb897437.aspx

__________________
Laptop
Dell Latitude E6500
P8700, 4GB Ram, Quadro NVS 160M, Dual 22" Monitors
bbergeson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-11-09, 12:20 PM Thread Starter   #13
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
I just tried the TCPView app by Microsoft, it doesn't have a nice simple graphical interface like Netlimiter Monitor which is just perfect:


Active App with it's own icon, next to which there's incoming speed and outgoing speed box (which is blank if there's no activity.)
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-11-09, 01:06 PM   #14
Omsion
Member

 
Omsion's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago and/or NJ

 
TCPMon is the incorrect tool for the job anyway...it doesn't track bandwidth, but all your connections on each and every port.
It's a debugging/management tool, like everything else from sysinternals.

__________________
Current
2500K | ASRock Z68 Pro3-M | TR Venomous X
EVGA GTX 460 768MB | 2x4GB G.Skill (F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR2)
Seasonic X650 | Fractal Design Define Mini
Omsion is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-11-09, 01:32 PM Thread Starter   #15
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Yup. http://www.netlimiter.com/ freeware is just perfect, I thank the poster who suggested it, I'm kind of surprised there aren't dozens of apps like that. You just fire it up and see which up is downloading/uploading.


The thing that I don't understand is why doesn't firewall software have a window like that? They all light up green or red, depending if there's dl/ul but they don't have a window to tell you what's downloading/uploading & at which speed.

This feature didn't occur to any software firewall developers? Strange to say the least.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?