Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Think i have wrecked my rig please help

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-07-09, 02:44 PM Thread Starter   #1
craney
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2009

 
Think i have wrecked my rig please help


hi guys think i may have done something bad to my rig, i was trying to overclock my ram to 1066 and now my rig wont boot, i have moved the jumper on the cmos to try and reset it i moved the jumper back and tried to boot but it wont boot up, all the fans come on and it sounds like its struggling to boot up kinda stop start get nothing on the monitor what have i done please help me out

thanks a million
craney is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 03:01 PM   #2
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
What are your system spec's, including the MB and RAM?

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 03:03 PM Thread Starter   #3
craney
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2009

 
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...d=8&subcat=817
Kingston HyperX 4GB

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showpr...=5&subcat=1482
Asus M4A785D-M Pro AMD 785G

I have taken out the graphics card which has got rid of the strange fan noise i was talking about, i tried reseating it with no luck, conected the monitor to the dvi port on the motherboard but still not getting any image, the computer does seem to boot up tho but dont hear anythng like the windows tune so im really not sure
craney is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 03:10 PM   #4
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
With the video card removed and the monitor connected to the onboard GPU, do you get a POST beep? Try resetting CMOS again, this time also removing the board's battery... both according to the instructions in your MB manual.

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 03:14 PM   #5
BenF
Member

 
BenF's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hell, Michigan

 
I had a similar problem with my rig. I have the m4a78-e mobo which is probably pretty similar to yours. I ended up having to remove all but one stick of ram, reset cmos, boot up and put in timings that worked, then turn it off and put in the rest of my ram. Its probably not the easiest way to fix the problem but it worked for me.

__________________
Desktop:
-Gigabyte z68x-ud3h-b3 - 2500k @4.5 - XFX 7970 @ 1125/1575 - 8Gb ddr3 1333 - 3x samsung spinpoint f1 1tb - intel g2 ssd-
Laptops:
Fujitsu Lifebook T Series
-M540 - 4gb ram - 300gb hdd
Lenovo T61 (out of commission)
-t7300-Nvidia nvs130-2gb ram-100gb hdd-14" widescreen
"Education is an admirable thing, but it is well to remember from time to time that nothing that is worth knowing can be taught." -Oscar Wilde
BenF is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 03:14 PM Thread Starter   #6
craney
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2009

 
not to sure on removing the battery i have a look in the manual but im sure it only states about resetting with the jumpers nothing about removing the battery, as for beeps no beeps at all when booting up
craney is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 03:37 PM   #7
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
From the MB manual, section 1.9...

Quote:
If the steps above do not help (in regards to "Clear RTC RAM (CLRTC)"), remove the onboard battery and move the jumper again to clear the CMOS RTC RAM data. After clearing the CMOS, reinstall the battery.

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 06:31 PM   #8
RJARRRPCGP
Member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by craney View Post
it wont boot up, all the fans come on and it sounds like its struggling to boot up kinda stop start get nothing on the monitor what have i done please help me out

thanks a million
Sounds like what my Asus P5QL Pro did a little while ago, because when I was changing the frequency settings, the BIOS applied the wrong OC settings when I was switching to another setting.

You must take out the CR2032 battery and move the CMOS jumper to the other position for at least about 10 seconds then put the CMOS jumper back to the original position and then put the CR2032 battery back in.

__________________
Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Duo E8600 @ 3.900 Ghz (390x10.0)

-ICH10R
- eVGA GeForce 9500 GT-Fortron FSP500-60GLN(80) 500W PSU


" holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
"Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
"I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
"Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
"NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."
RJARRRPCGP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-09, 08:49 AM Thread Starter   #9
craney
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2009

 
i have done all of the above with no luck, i have contacted overclockers and told them the problem and they told me to send the items back to them for testing, they said it sounds like a motherboard fault, i have tried everything with no luck at all
craney is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-09, 09:06 AM   #10
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
Disconnect or remove everything that's not needed for the PC to POST, including all but 1 stick of RAM, video card (since the board has an on-board GPU), HDD's, opticals, TV card, LAN card, etc. You might also want to check out the sticky thread above...

"Help My Pc Won't Boot!" Troubleshooting Guide
http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=266936

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?