• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Where Do I (re)Begin?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Toasty_Squirrel

I've been out of the custom rig building scene for a few years too long now and feel like I've lost my edge and understanding of the more recent technology (PCIe what?). Does anyone know where I can go to reacquaint myself with the hows and whatfors in terms of components (What DDR are we on now? Quadcore, whosit?)

I used to work in IT, I've built tons of custom rigs in the past, and been into the more advanced side of PCs for almost 10 years now so I'm not looking for a beginner's guide, just something to catch me up on what's out there now.

Any advice and links would be greatly appreciated! :bday:

hmmm... well DDR3 (some still use DDR2) triple channel and dual channel... when I get home I'll try to dig up some of my old links and bookmarks if they aren't posted before :)

This is the place to learn it. Just ask questions in the appropriate forums.

If you don't know from PCIe you've probably been gone since like socket 478 times.

Basically, changes are as follows:

Everything is more, for cheaper, of course.

Motherboards tend to be much better for overclocking, even at the bottom end

The current FAB process is 45nm. 40nm process exist (ie, ATI 4770 GPU) and 32nm process (ie, some solid state drives)

we were @ 65nm by about 2006

90 around 2004

Intel's current sockets 1366 1156

AMD AM3

ATI is now part of AMD

AMD gives you a higher performance per dollar ratio

we've gone from DDR (where you likely left) to DDR2 (works @ 2x bus speed) and DDR3 (works at 3x bus speed)-- this is, ofcourse, at a setting of 1:1, but I don't want to blab here.

Standard memory config is still dual channel, however intel's 1366 uses 3 channels