• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

NEWBIE here doing case mods..Need help with a question about fans

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Guitarguy708

Registered
Hey everyone...New to the forum....I hope to learn and also help others if possible in the future...Anyways my question is....Ok iam adding a few extra case fans....(3-4) and i will be using 4pin molex fans..NOW my question is this....You know how the 4pin cord has a adapter on it so you can say plug it into the same line as a cdrom or HD....well How many fans can i add to a single line? For intense...can i add all 4 fans to my line that goes into my Internal Zip drive? or will that be to much of a drain? or NO it wont drain nothing? I have a 300watt ATX PS..running a AthlonXP 1800(no OC).....and have 3 cdrom drives, HD, ZIP, and all PCi and AGP slots filled....1gb ddr ram....Sorry to make this so long...But the reason why iam adding a few fans is cause i cant get my CPU temp down for the life of me....I added a new HSF to the CPU..forget the name but its a good one..(has the copper HS) and iam at 53c full load now...Think this is high? i think i know why my cpu temp is so high...cause my PS is almost right up against the CPU fan cause i have a midtower case..so iam guessing the CPU fan cant grab any air since the PS is almost blocking it....any ideas?....I really dont wanna get a new case cause this case i got now is brand new....and as far as the fans go....is it ok to run 4 fans of my zip drive power line? Thanks guys..and sorry again for the long thread....:)