Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

3 Different Programs, 3 Different CPU Temps

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-09, 12:58 PM Thread Starter   #1
gwar2288
Member



Join Date: Oct 2009

 
3 Different Programs, 3 Different CPU Temps


So, what Program is the most accurate when it comes to monitoring temps?
Speedfan, CoreTemp and RealTemp all return completely different values

Temps at Idle:
Coretemp:
27-31C

SpeedFan:
15-18C < Clearly Wrong as this is only 1C above Ambient.
GPU@ 40C

Realtemp:
30-35C
GPU@ 40C

So, what one am I supposed to believe?
gwar2288 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-09, 01:42 PM   #2
Parad0x420
Member

 
Parad0x420's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dark Side of the Moon

 
I use Coretemp and HWMonitor.. also check the hardware monitor in your BIOS and see what it displays for temps and voltages. One of those programs should be closer to the value from BIOS.

__________________
Phenom II X6 1075T Thuban @ 4125 15 x 275 1.439v LLC enabled
TRUE Black Rev. C - Shin-Etsu X23-7783D - CM R4 Reds push/pull
ASUS Crosshair IV Formula AM3 890FX NB@2750Mhz HT@2200Mhz
G.Skill Flare 4GB DDR3 @ 1833Mhz 7-8-7-24-1T 1.65v
ASUS 7970 3GB @ 1000/1450
OCZ Vertex 4 256GB SATAIII - Win 7 Ultimate x64
2x WD 640GB Caviar Blue / 2x WD 750GB Caviar Black
PCP&C 750W Silencer Black
Samsung Syncmaster 2493HM 24" @ 1920x1200
Corsair Obsidian 700D
Dck Legend Toxic

3DMark06 - 23491 - Vantage - P18580
- Vantage X8757
Parad0x420 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-09, 01:55 PM   #3
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
they all read from the same sensors, but you may need to adjust your T junction thingy for it to be most accurate

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-09, 02:01 PM   #4
trents
Senior Member

 
trents's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Centralia, WA

 
Some considerations to factor in:
1. What CPU are you running? AMD CPUs with the Brisbane core had broken thermal sensors and gave obviously inaccurate temps, especially at idle.
2. Are you sure you are measuring the same thing with all the programs? Some may be measuring core temp and some CPU temp. They are different. Core temp readings refer to the internal temp of the processor itself wheil CPU temps refer to a reading in the socket area below the CPU. They are usually withing a few degrees of one another, however.
3. Speedfan's labels are often wrong. That is to say it often incorrectly identifies the various sensors in the system. If you open up the program, run Prime95, and watch the deltas you can easily identify which temp readings go with the cores/CPU as opposed to say, chipset sensors or other environmental sensors on the motherbaord. The core/CPU readings will rise very quicly compared to the others and the core temp readings will usually be a little higher than CPU temp readings when max is achieved. Speedfan is a wonderul, very useful program. It just needs a little tweeking. The labels can be edited, by the way, to match sensor names with their correct temps. Keep in mind also that currently, Speedfan only gives one core temp reading even when you have a multi core processor. I think it either takes the reading from the hottest core or averages them.

__________________
CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
Cooler: Swiftech H320
RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
Case: NZXT Source 530
PSU: OCZ 750W
Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

Last edited by trents; 10-18-09 at 02:11 PM.
trents is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-09, 02:29 PM Thread Starter   #5
gwar2288
Member



Join Date: Oct 2009

 
Yeah, my BIOS temps are closest to CoreTemp it seems.

I am running a new i5 so just want to make sure I don't cook it

Thanks all for your help
gwar2288 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-09, 02:51 PM   #6
burebista
Member

 
burebista's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Romania

 
For Intel CPU's (especially newest ones like Nehalem/Lynnfield) I'd say to use RealTemp or if you don't like it then CoreTemp.
burebista is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?