Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

My Q8200

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-21-09, 12:34 PM Thread Starter   #1
arznmacz
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indianapolis, IN

 
Question My Q8200


I'm absolutely green to OCing so I'm looking for some guidance. I have a friend who OCs so I'm trying to get into it myself without having to call him every time. Everything seems so esoteric to me but anyway. I'm trying to over clock my cpu and ram. I've heard my cpu sucks for OCing and the speed on my ram says 1066mhz but it only goes to 800mhz. So if anyone can provide any help I'd be most grateful. Below is some information about my system. If you need anymore info. I can provide what I've got from my Everest Report. Thanks

CPU Q8200 CORE 2 QUAD 2.33Ghz
MB ASUS P5QL/EPU
Video Card NVIDIA GEFORCE 8800GT
Ram 4GB OCZ Reaper HPC OCZ2RPR10662G
arznmacz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-09, 12:41 PM   #2
Steven-1979
Member



Join Date: Nov 2008

 
Hi. You might have to set your RAM manually in the bios (including voltage). Check out this thread for more info on oc'ing the Q8200: http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=586754

__________________
- How to pad-mod/VID-mod your cpu

Currently waiting for lga2011 to upgrade to new system

CPU: Intel E8500
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
RAM: 4gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 w/ RAM cooling fan
Cooling: CPU/GPU/NB = Water Cooled
Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 core 216 (@ 771/1566/1298)
PSU: Corsair tx 650w
Steven-1979 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-09, 01:09 PM Thread Starter   #3
arznmacz
New Member



Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indianapolis, IN

 
Thanks I heard the first thing one of the guys said is that you needed a new PSU. So that'll probably be the first thing I'll need since I only have a 500w Raidmax. What do you think? What wattage would you suggest?

Last edited by arznmacz; 10-21-09 at 01:12 PM. Reason: Add another question
arznmacz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-21-09, 01:25 PM   #4
Steven-1979
Member



Join Date: Nov 2008

 
You're probably cutting it pretty close with the psu. I don't know much about them but you can use this to get a general idea of what you need: http://educations.newegg.com/tool/psucalc/index.html ... in my opinion more is always better. I'd go for a single powerful +12v rail over multiple weaker 12v rails but thats a matter of opinion. Black friday is comming up, you could probably pick up a good psu for cheap then. The 420w psu that came with my Raidmax case only had 1 +12v rail with only 13 amps ... so I'd lean towards saying they're pretty weak.

__________________
- How to pad-mod/VID-mod your cpu

Currently waiting for lga2011 to upgrade to new system

CPU: Intel E8500
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P
RAM: 4gb Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066 w/ RAM cooling fan
Cooling: CPU/GPU/NB = Water Cooled
Graphics: EVGA GeForce GTX 260 core 216 (@ 771/1566/1298)
PSU: Corsair tx 650w
Steven-1979 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?