• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New builder needs some pointers

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Buggedout

Hi there, I am very new to building PC's but very keen to start. I'm trying to build a PC that will last me for as long as possible, ie has huge room for upgrading. My plan was to buy the best bare bones I could afford and buy relatively cheap interchangeable parts and gradually build it up over time.

Here is the project so far:

- Intel Core i7 920 D0 2.66GHz Socket 1366 8MB Cache
- ASUS P6T6 WS Revolution MB
- Corsair 650W TX Series PSU
- Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB 7200rpm SATA 3Gb/s 32MB Cache
- XFX GeForce 8800GTX 768Mb
- Corsair XMS3 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 (1600MHz) Tri-Channel
- Samsung 22x DVD±RW SATA Dual Layer ReWriter
- Case fans:
1x 120mm Stock (Front Intake)
1x 80mm Stock (Side Intake)

Components left to acquire/to do list:
- SAS Drive (No rush to aquire)
- Cooling for CPU? (Stock at moment)
- Cooling for RAM?
- Case Fans:
2x 80mm (Rear Exhaust)???

Any advice or criticism on any aspect would be very gratefully appreciated.

Can anyone advise on cooling please? I do plan on OCing but not straight away.

BTW I managed to get the Gcard relatively cheap, that would be one of the first upgrades I was thinking about. (hehe, thinking about upgrades before I have even setup the system).

:welcome: to OCForums!
Yea, the vid card is pretty dated and not exceptionally powerful as today's standards go, but will likely get you by until you can upgrade. What resolution monitor are you running?

CPU air cooling is dominated by the Thermalright Ultra Extreme (TRUE), Prolimatech Megahalems. Other major contenders include Noctura, Xigmatek, Coolermaster Hiper 212.