Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Power supply recommendation - augent!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-25-09, 03:42 AM Thread Starter   #1
camcafe
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2008

 
Power supply recommendation - augent!


Hello,

I am about to buy a power supply and need to make sure it has enough power to do what I intend to achieve. Please let me know your recommendation or thought. Thanks

Will a 700W PS enough to overclock my 2.4GHZ Q6600 to 3.4GHZ with ATI 4850 graphic card, 4gb DDR3 10333 memory on GA-EP45T-DS3R Motherboard?

I am looking at buying this OCZ StealthXStream OCZ700SXS 700W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply.
camcafe is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-09, 04:09 AM Thread Starter   #2
camcafe
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2008

 
Which PS should I get?


$43 - OCZ StealthXStream OCZ700SXS 700W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply

or

$74 - Thermaltake Black Widow W0319RU 850W ATX 12V 2.2 SLI Ready CrossFire Certified 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power

Want to achieve the following overclocking:
Q6600 to 3.4GHZ with ATI 4850 graphic card, 4gb DDR3 10333 memory on GA-EP45T-DS3R Motherboard and looking to crossfire another 4850 in the future.

Thanks
camcafe is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-09, 04:18 AM   #3
burebista
Member

 
burebista's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Romania

 
For that setup Corsair HX450 is enough.
But if you feel uncomfortable with 450W you can take a look at Corsair VX550/HX520, Antec TP New 550, Enermax Pro/Modu82+ 525 for example.
burebista is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-09, 06:23 AM   #4
Rich'[ard]
Member

 
Rich'[ard]'s Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melb, AUS

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by camcafe View Post
Hello,

I am about to buy a power supply and need to make sure it has enough power to do what I intend to achieve. Please let me know your recommendation or thought. Thanks

Will a 700W PS enough to overclock my 2.4GHZ Q6600 to 3.4GHZ with ATI 4850 graphic card, 4gb DDR3 10333 memory on GA-EP45T-DS3R Motherboard?

I am looking at buying this OCZ StealthXStream OCZ700SXS 700W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply.
so 'augent' you didn't have enough time to check the title?

nah, 700w is way more than you'll need, like burebista said.
you'd be fine with a good quality 500w. Corsair and Antec are my pics

you can check this thread out, under the 500-600w section:
http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=589708

__________________
яιн.
Processor 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.2v
Heatsink Noctua NH-D14
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Sniper-M3
Memory 8GB Vengeance C9
Storage Samsung 830 120GB + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Graphics Powercolor 7950 PCS+
Power Corsair HX650
Case Corsair 300R
Windows w7 64bit
Goodies Logitech z5400 5.1............G15|G3
HP Folio 13 Ultrabook
Rich'[ard] is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-09, 06:29 AM   #5
Rich'[ard]
Member

 
Rich'[ard]'s Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melb, AUS

 
that much wattage isn't required to power your system.
700-800w is pretty much for high end crossfire/sli systems.
you could save some money and look at a 500-600w PSU
the Corsair HX-620 is pretty well priced, and performs well.

__________________
яιн.
Processor 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.2v
Heatsink Noctua NH-D14
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Sniper-M3
Memory 8GB Vengeance C9
Storage Samsung 830 120GB + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Graphics Powercolor 7950 PCS+
Power Corsair HX650
Case Corsair 300R
Windows w7 64bit
Goodies Logitech z5400 5.1............G15|G3
HP Folio 13 Ultrabook
Rich'[ard] is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-26-09, 10:21 AM   #6
hitek420
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada!

 
I've run the 3.6ghz Q6600 setup in my sig with a Corsair HX520 and even an Antec Earthwatts 430w with no problems at all.

__________________
Q6600 G0 [3.6ghz 9x400 1.31v] ~ Thermalright Ultra120 extreme ~ Gigabyte EP45 UD3R ~ 2x2gb GSkill PQ [800mhz 5-5-5-15 1.8v]
HiS Radeon HD5850 [775/1125] ~ Dell 2209WA [eIPS 22" 1680x1050 75hz]
80gb Intel X25m G2 [Win7 Pro x64]2 x Seagate 500gb 7200.12 [1TB Raid-0 Installs/Scratch] ~ WD 1TB Green WD10EARS [Storage] ~ Corsair HX520 in an Antec 900
E2220 2.4ghz ~ BFG 8800gt w/ Coolink Gfxchilla ~ Asus G31 P5KPL-VM ~ 2GB OCz Platinum Rev2 DDR2 800 ~ Seagate 500gb 7200.11 [Windows XP Pro] ~ Antec EA430D ~ Antec SLK3700BQE
hitek420 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-26-09, 10:41 AM   #7
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
So long as you do not plan to run Crossfire with that card, the Corsair 400CX (not HX450 unless thats a new model) would be fine really with 30A on 12v rail.

I would stick with something from Corsair, Silverstone, Antec, PCPnC, good name brands like that will let you be just fine with 30A 12v.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-26-09, 10:48 AM   #8
burebista
Member

 
burebista's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Romania

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
(not HX450 unless thats a new model)
HX450.
burebista is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-26-09, 10:49 AM   #9
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Well I guess it is a new model!!! Thanks!

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-26-09, 10:56 AM   #10
burebista
Member

 
burebista's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Romania

 
Not quite.
Is the same VX450 tweaked for efficiency, modular, 2 PCI-E cables and 7 years warranty.
burebista is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-26-09, 11:03 AM   #11
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Semantics...thats a new model.

Not to mention, it doesnt appear to be out yet. At least it isnt at Zipzoomfly, Newegg, or Tigerdirect or Froogle at the moment. Its out overseas (maybe) and appears to cost more than the 520HX. Not a good buy if thats true.

http://www.hexus.net/content/item.php?item=16408

Is this thing even available in the USA? That hexus article was in 2008, and I dont see it here anywhere.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

Last edited by EarthDog; 10-26-09 at 11:13 AM.
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-26-09, 11:22 AM   #12
burebista
Member

 
burebista's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Romania

 
Let me tell you something: it was out for a while but unfortunately now is almost EOL because it was targeted for European market and it doesn't have great success because peoples don't care about quality but about more watts.
From here:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redbeard
HX450 sales never really got off the ground.
Readme.
burebista is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-26-09, 11:24 AM   #13
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Never even made it here (USA)... MEH. Semantics.

Thank you, again, for the info though.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-28-09, 04:24 AM   #14
Rich'[ard]
Member

 
Rich'[ard]'s Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Melb, AUS

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bishopane View Post
there is a lot of confusion and misunderstanding when it comes to choosing a program for editing your digital images, but i think the new CS3 is best and you should buy only it.
wth?
report?
his link goes to some strip poker site...

__________________
яιн.
Processor 3570K @ 4.5GHz 1.2v
Heatsink Noctua NH-D14
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Sniper-M3
Memory 8GB Vengeance C9
Storage Samsung 830 120GB + Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Graphics Powercolor 7950 PCS+
Power Corsair HX650
Case Corsair 300R
Windows w7 64bit
Goodies Logitech z5400 5.1............G15|G3
HP Folio 13 Ultrabook
Rich'[ard] is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-28-09, 04:38 AM   #15
deadlysyn
Folding Team Content Editor
Who Dolk'd my stars Senior Member

 
deadlysyn's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stealing your megahurtz at night

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich'[ard] View Post
wth?
report?
his link goes to some strip poker site...
Since some of his posts are somewhat on topic, and this one is so far off topic it's ridiculous, and his sig link (which is against OCF rules) goes to a strip poker site (didn't click it myself): REPORTED

__________________
Water and Air Cooling Lead Senior
Folding for Team 32 as 8thDeadlySyn Folding in the memory of pscout
I'm a Team 32 Folding Mentor. Ask me about Folding.
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3LR, Q9550@3.5, 4 GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066, Corsair Force F60, 300 GB Maxtor SATAII, EVGA GTX460 v2
Laing D5 Vario, D-Tek Fuzion V1, Swiftech MCW60, Swiftech MCRES V2, HWLabs BIX3, 3 Panaflo FBA12G12U's on Rheobus, Primochill LRT black, Antec 900

Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P, Athlon II X3 445, TRU120, 4 GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600, 8800GTS 320MB, 320 GB Maxtor Sata, SB Audigy SE
HEAT - My Folding Stats
Would you like to see your writing on the front page? Ask me how!

Last edited by m0r7if3r on 1-23-2011 at 12:45 PM. Reason: I haz uber 1337 h4x0rz 5k1llz
deadlysyn is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-28-09, 09:47 AM   #16
stangjason
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2008

 
I think either one of those gives you room to grow but I have no idea of how good they are quality wise or at producing the power they are rated at. I do know that I love the 500w FSP bluestream line of power supplies and I'd like to know how it compares to the ones you've listed because I'm thinking of upgrading for the future plus I can use an extra power supply for my extra system that I play around with.
stangjason is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-28-09, 10:03 AM   #17
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Neither.

Corsair 650HX or TX would do the crossfire easily and is a better PSU all around than the ones listed I believe.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-28-09, 10:55 AM   #18
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
+1 to what EarthDog said. Actually, the Corsair 750TX is the same price right now as the 650TX after rebate ($99.99). I'd jump on that deal in a heartbeat. The HX series are modular if that floats your boat, but they bring a sizeable premium for it.

Out of curiosity, why did you start a new thread instead of continuing with this one? Perhaps a nice mod or admin will be kind enough to merge the two.

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-28-09, 01:18 PM   #19
muddocktor
Retired

 
muddocktor's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Iberia, LA

10 Year Badge
 
camcafe, please start only one thread on the same subject in the future. I have merged the 2 threads together this time. Don't make us have to delete the extra threads in the future.

Thanks,
muddocktor
Forum Staff
muddocktor is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?