Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

performance issue

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-09, 01:17 PM Thread Starter   #1
nemisi
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Africa

 
performance issue


i recently got a new system n all, im running win 7 ultimate 32-bit! when i bench far cry 2 on (ranch small) everthing on ultra,AA 8x, dx10, res 1600x900,
i only get like 30 fps average, it should be much higher
nemisi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-09, 01:31 PM   #2
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
Without knowing what FC2 benches should be w/ your CPU and RAM combo, or what your current clock speed (assuming .23GHz overclock from the default of 2.66GHz, according to the clock in your sig.) or DRAM frequency is, post pic's of CPU-Z open to the CPU, Memory, and SPD tabs. You might also want to post a direct link to your specific RAM, showing default SPD timings and DRAM voltage at DDR3-1333MHz. You could also fill out this BIOS template for the P7P55D, showing all of your current settings...

Code:
A1 Overclock Tuner
A1 Overclock Tuner Mode......:
Cpu Ratio Setting............:
Intel(R) SpeedStep(TM) Tech..: 
Intel(R) TurboMode Tech......: 
Xtreme Phase Full Power Mode.: 
BCLK Frequency...............:
PCIE Frequency...............:
DRAM Frequency...............: 
QPI Frequency................: 
Channel Interleave...........:
Rank Interleave..............:

DRAM Timing Control Sub Menu
1st Information
CAS#  Latency (tCL )...............:
RAS# to CAS# Delay (tRCD ).........:
RAS# PRE Tine (tRP)................:
RAS# ACT Tine (tRAS)...............:
RAS# to RAS# Delay (tRRD)..........: 
REF Cycle Time (tRFC)..............:
WRITE Recovery Tine (tWR)..........:
READ to PRE Time (tRTP)............:
FOUR ACT WIN Tine (tFAW)...........:
2nd Information
Timing Mode (CMDR).................:
Round Trip Latency on CHA (RTL)....: 
Round Trip Latency on CHB (RTL)....:
3rd Information
WRITE To READ Delay(DD)(tddWrTrd)..:
WRITE To READ Delay(DR)(tdrWrTrd)..:
WRITE To READ Delay(SR)(tsrWrTrd)..:
READ To WRITE Delay(DD)(tddRdTwr)..:
READ To WRITE Delay(DR)(tdrRdTwr)..:
READ To WRITE Delay(SR)(tsrRdTwr)..:
READ To READ Delay(DD)(tddRdtRd)...:
READ To READ Delay(DR)(tdrRdtRd)...:
READ To READ Delay(SR)(tsrRdtRd)...:
WRITE To WRITE Delay(DD)(tddWrTWr).:
WRiTE To WRITE Delay(DR)(tdrWrTWr).:
WRITE To WRITE Delay(SR)(tsrWrTWr).:

Dram Driving & SlewRate Control Sub Menu
CMD Driving Up Ctrl................:
CMD Driving Down Ctrl..............:
DQ Driving Up Ctrl.................:
DQ Driving Down Ctrl...............:

CLK SlewRate Ctrl A................:
CLK SlewRate Ctrl B................:
CMD SlewRate Ctrl .................:
CTRL SlewRate Ctrl.................: 
DQ SlewRate Ctrl ..................:


Dram Skew Control Sub Menu
Address Floating Control ..........:
DRAM CLK Delay Patch Location .....:

DRAM ODTO Delay on Channel A ......:
DRAM CLKO Delay on Channel A.......:
DRAM CMDA Delay on Channel A ......:
DRAM WDQS0 Delay on Channel A......:
DRAM TXDQO Delay on Channel A .....:
DRAM RXDQSO Delay on Channel A ....:

DRAM ODTO Delay on Channel B ......:
DRAM CLKO Delay on Channel B.......:
DRAM CMDA Delay on Channel B ......:
DRAM WDQS0 Delay on Channel B......:
DRAM TXDQO Delay on Channel B .....:
DRAM RXDQSO Delay on Channel B ....:


A1 Overclock Tuner Continued
CPU Differential Amplitude.........:
CPU Clock Skew.....................: 
CPU Voltage Mode...................: 
Voltage............................: 
IMC Voltage........................:
DRAM Voltage.......................: 
CPU PLL Voltage....................: 
PCH Uoltaqe........................: 
DRAM DATA REF Voltage on A.........: 
DRAM CTRL REF Voltaqe on A.........: 
DRAM DATA REF Voltaqe on B.........: 
DRAM GIRL REF Voltaqe on B.........:
Load Line Calibration..............:
CPU Spread Spectrum................: 
PCIE Spread Spectrum...............:
CPU Settings
CPU Ratio Setting..................:  
C1E Support........................:  
Hardware Prefetcher................:  
Adjacent Cache Line Prefetch.......:  
Max CPUID Value Limit..............: 
Intel (R) Virtualization Tech......:  
CPU TM Function....................:  
Execute-Disable Bit Capability.....:
Intel (R) HT Technology(I7 only)...: 
Active Processor Cores.............:  
A2OM...............................:  
Intel(R) SpeedStep(TI1) Tech.......:  
InteI (R) TurboMode  Tech..........:  
Intel® C-Start Tech +..............: 
*CState package limit Setting......:


Last edited by redduc900; 11-02-09 at 01:36 PM.
redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-09, 06:29 PM   #3
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
run gpuz and see what the pcie link speed is at.

__________________
i7 920@3.6ghz | Asus R2G | GK F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH | Galaxy GTX660 GC | C650TX | OCZ VERTEX EX 120GB, VERTEX 250GB
i3 330m | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI
i5 2450 | Jetway JNF9G-QM77 | 2x2gig DDR3-1333 | WIP
"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-09, 11:55 AM   #4
Zantal
Member

 
Zantal's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Italy, Rome

 
i don't think there is any problem. he is just expecting too much from his pc.

the i5 is mildly overclocked, and i assume also the gtx260 is not overclocked.

then considering the mid-high playing res and the filters applied (AA 8X + dx10 effects) and everything on max 30 fps are ok for his setup.

prove me wrong

edit: if you can run 3dmark vantage, any score above 10k is ok for your setup (remember to disable physx in the options)
it should be less than a 1/2 of my actual score approximately.

__________________
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1250W
CPU: Intel i7 920 O.C 4.00 Ghz on air 211 X 19
GRAPHICS: 2X GTX480 @ 900 - 1800 - 2000 on Water
HAIRDRYER:2X GTX480 =)
MOTHERBOARD: asus p6t deluxe
MEMORY: 6gb ddr3 triple channel corsair @ 1700 MHz
STORAGE: 3 X 300GB Maxtor in raid 0
Vantage score @ P32257
Zantal is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-09, 06:47 PM   #5
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zantal View Post
i don't think there is any problem. he is just expecting too much from his pc.

the i5 is mildly overclocked, and i assume also the gtx260 is not overclocked.

then considering the mid-high playing res and the filters applied (AA 8X + dx10 effects) and everything on max 30 fps are ok for his setup.

prove me wrong

edit: if you can run 3dmark vantage, any score above 10k is ok for your setup (remember to disable physx in the options)
it should be less than a 1/2 of my actual score approximately.
no tring to be mean when i ask this... but have you looked at FC2 benchmarks? if he cant pull higher then 30 fps at his res even with things on med or high, then something is wrong. my Abit IP35-pro with a E7200@3.4ghz with a ATI4850(single) at 1440x900 with max settings 8xAF/4xAA, i was getting around 100fps. i think the min was around the 70's. been a while since i messed with that game, i dont have it with me at the condo.

It really doesnt take much of a pc or GPU to get the FC2 game above 30fps.. i bet i could get higher then 30fps using my Celeron-L 420@3.2ghz with a 4850...

__________________
i7 920@3.6ghz | Asus R2G | GK F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH | Galaxy GTX660 GC | C650TX | OCZ VERTEX EX 120GB, VERTEX 250GB
i3 330m | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI
i5 2450 | Jetway JNF9G-QM77 | 2x2gig DDR3-1333 | WIP
"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-09, 01:48 AM Thread Starter   #6
nemisi
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Africa

 
http://www.kingston.com/hyperx/products/khx_ddr3.asp (my ram is 7th from the top of dual channel)


nemisi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-09, 01:50 AM Thread Starter   #7
nemisi
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Africa

 
nemisi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-09, 06:11 AM   #8
Zantal
Member

 
Zantal's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Italy, Rome

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
no tring to be mean when i ask this... but have you looked at FC2 benchmarks? if he cant pull higher then 30 fps at his res even with things on med or high, then something is wrong. my Abit IP35-pro with a E7200@3.4ghz with a ATI4850(single) at 1440x900 with max settings 8xAF/4xAA, i was getting around 100fps. i think the min was around the 70's. been a while since i messed with that game, i dont have it with me at the condo.

It really doesnt take much of a pc or GPU to get the FC2 game above 30fps.. i bet i could get higher then 30fps using my Celeron-L 420@3.2ghz with a 4850...
I had the game once, i think i run the benchmark and i didn't get higher than 100fps in there, and that's with sli and everything to the max. but memory might trick me, it's been over a year since i did that.

although, i keep saying that running 3dmark vantage might tell us if it's a general problem or a game related problem

and check also the ambient occlusion is set to disabled in nv config panel
it really draws many resources.

__________________
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1250W
CPU: Intel i7 920 O.C 4.00 Ghz on air 211 X 19
GRAPHICS: 2X GTX480 @ 900 - 1800 - 2000 on Water
HAIRDRYER:2X GTX480 =)
MOTHERBOARD: asus p6t deluxe
MEMORY: 6gb ddr3 triple channel corsair @ 1700 MHz
STORAGE: 3 X 300GB Maxtor in raid 0
Vantage score @ P32257
Zantal is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-09, 10:31 AM Thread Starter   #9
nemisi
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Africa

 
redduc900- check the pics i pasted and tell me what doesn't look right, im not really sure about my ram timings
nemisi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-09, 07:21 PM   #10
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
nemisi,
please post a ss of gpuz or the graphics tab from cpuz..

__________________
i7 920@3.6ghz | Asus R2G | GK F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH | Galaxy GTX660 GC | C650TX | OCZ VERTEX EX 120GB, VERTEX 250GB
i3 330m | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI
i5 2450 | Jetway JNF9G-QM77 | 2x2gig DDR3-1333 | WIP
"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-05-09, 11:13 PM Thread Starter   #11
nemisi
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Africa

 
nemisi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-09, 03:10 AM   #12
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by nemisi View Post
redduc900- check the pics i pasted and tell me what doesn't look right, im not really sure about my ram timings
The timings look OK; the RAM is rated at SPD timings of 9-9-9-24-1T and 1.65V at DDR3-1333MHz, but since it's currently running on a 2:10 FSB : DRAM ratio at a BCLK of 165MHz, the resulting DRAM frequency is 1650MHz. The BIOS automatically (w/ timings on AUTO) loosened tRCD, tRP, tRAS, and tRFC to 11-11-29-87 in order to compensate for the higher frequency. You could try tightening them (except for CAS Latency and tRFC) to 10-10-10-24-1T, w/ tRFC set to 110.

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-09, 11:21 AM   #13
Zantal
Member

 
Zantal's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Italy, Rome

 
why not simply post 3dmark vantage result to see if it's game related or pc related?

__________________
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1250W
CPU: Intel i7 920 O.C 4.00 Ghz on air 211 X 19
GRAPHICS: 2X GTX480 @ 900 - 1800 - 2000 on Water
HAIRDRYER:2X GTX480 =)
MOTHERBOARD: asus p6t deluxe
MEMORY: 6gb ddr3 triple channel corsair @ 1700 MHz
STORAGE: 3 X 300GB Maxtor in raid 0
Vantage score @ P32257
Zantal is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-06-09, 03:32 PM   #14
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
which NV driver did you install? if installed do you have vsync enabled?

__________________
i7 920@3.6ghz | Asus R2G | GK F3-12800CL7D-4GBRH | Galaxy GTX660 GC | C650TX | OCZ VERTEX EX 120GB, VERTEX 250GB
i3 330m | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI
i5 2450 | Jetway JNF9G-QM77 | 2x2gig DDR3-1333 | WIP
"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-09, 02:43 AM Thread Starter   #15
nemisi
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Africa

 
This is the score with my cpu running at 2.9ghz!my nv driver is 195.39 beta!

nemisi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-09, 06:40 AM   #16
Zantal
Member

 
Zantal's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Italy, Rome

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by nemisi View Post
This is the score with my cpu running at 2.9ghz!my nv driver is 195.39 beta!

i got 20k gpu score with an i7 clocked to 4ghz 2 gtx260 216sp overclocked

are we sure it is everything just ok?

3dmark vantage scales nearly 90% with sli.

can't run a test atm since it doesn't work in win7, but i am quite sure that if i disabled HT sli and went for default clocks i would get same score as his.

it might be a game related issue or some bad configurations. (e.g AA 8xs or ambient occlusion turned on)


edit: now i know why he is getting low fps, his gtx260 is the 192sp version

there is no performance issue, everything is working as intended.

__________________
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1250W
CPU: Intel i7 920 O.C 4.00 Ghz on air 211 X 19
GRAPHICS: 2X GTX480 @ 900 - 1800 - 2000 on Water
HAIRDRYER:2X GTX480 =)
MOTHERBOARD: asus p6t deluxe
MEMORY: 6gb ddr3 triple channel corsair @ 1700 MHz
STORAGE: 3 X 300GB Maxtor in raid 0
Vantage score @ P32257

Last edited by Zantal; 11-07-09 at 11:03 AM.
Zantal is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-09, 06:57 AM   #17
tinymouse2
Member

 
tinymouse2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Surrey, England

 
The problems your GPU mate. I have a 260 @ 625 with an q9550 @ 2.83 and I only get 37-42fps average. With a 285 and the q9550 still at 2.83 I get 54-57fps average.
Seems completely normal to me...
tinymouse2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-09, 10:41 AM   #18
Zantal
Member

 
Zantal's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Italy, Rome

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinymouse2 View Post
The problems your GPU mate. I have a 260 @ 625 with an q9550 @ 2.83 and I only get 37-42fps average. With a 285 and the q9550 still at 2.83 I get 54-57fps average.
Seems completely normal to me...
that's what i am trying to say all the time . . .

__________________
PSU: Enermax Revolution 1250W
CPU: Intel i7 920 O.C 4.00 Ghz on air 211 X 19
GRAPHICS: 2X GTX480 @ 900 - 1800 - 2000 on Water
HAIRDRYER:2X GTX480 =)
MOTHERBOARD: asus p6t deluxe
MEMORY: 6gb ddr3 triple channel corsair @ 1700 MHz
STORAGE: 3 X 300GB Maxtor in raid 0
Vantage score @ P32257
Zantal is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-09, 03:21 PM Thread Starter   #19
nemisi
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Africa

 
on 3dmark mark vantage, does my gpu score whats its supposed to be? my gfx card is stock standard
nemisi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-09, 03:48 PM   #20
Badbonji

 
Badbonji's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK

 
Yeah seems about right, now overclock it!

__________________
i7 3770K 4.5GHz 1.2V | Phanteks PH-TC14PE | 16GB TeamGroup Elite 1600MHz | GIGABYTE G1.Sniper M3 | EVGA GTX680 SC 1254/1500MHz | M4 256GB + 150GB Raptor | Corsair HX+ 850W | Antec 1200
i7 965 | 8GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz | GIGABYTE Extreme X58 | HD5450 | M4 64GB + 7TB | OCZ 500W
MacBook Pro 15" | i7 2.3GHz | 8GB 1600MHz
Badbonji is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?