• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How often should you get new tubing?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
As far as I have read, you should be able to clean the cloudiness out of the tubing by washing it. I am sure someone will be around shortly to give a better answer, since I am new to WC, and don't even have all of my parts yet.

I was thinking something like typical warm dishwater and pipe cleaners, but I wonder if the chemicals in the dish detergent would be too harsh for the tubing. I have heard of people putting their tubing in the dishwasher without any detergent as well.

i used pipe cleaners and it worked about 90%. it was never as clear as it was when i got it. that was with clearflex 60. it took about 3 months to cloud, then 1-2 months later it clouded again. I switched to masterkleer and it's still clear 1 year later.

also for 10 feet it's 4.99 at jabtech :)

depends if its coolant or plasticizer leeching. had some tubing turn after a couple of month.

you can get some good extra length or wired bottle brushes from aquarium shops (used for cleaning external filter tubing)

but after spending a small fortune on WC`ing I just buy replacement tubing :shrug:

If the cloudiness bothers you it's best to accept buying new tubing. IF your running a good distilled water/biocide or silver loop, the cloudiness can be two things.

For example the older Thermochill rads had a LOT of water soluble flux in the rad. It's a biatch to get it all out. It will cloud the water and some will stick to the tubing. It's less of an issue now, but all new rads should be thourouly cleaned first.