Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Got ATi video + NVidia video in one system? Nvidia stealth disables PhysX

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-09, 10:49 AM Thread Starter   #1
4GHZ_or_bust
Now 6GHz or Bust!

 
4GHZ_or_bust's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Michigan

 
Got ATi video + NVidia video in one system? Nvidia stealth disables PhysX


Saw this one in my magazine that just arrived today and it seems to have occured about 2 months ago:

Quote:
Nvidia and ATI longtime rivals who do not play nice together. Although having both ATI and Nvidia hardware inside a PC is unlikely, there's now clear evidence trouble happens when you put the two together.

Those with the very rare configuration of having an ATI GPU for rendering graphics and a Nvidia chip for processing hardware PhysX will find themselves unable to compute.
Anyone running Nvidia driver version 186 will find PhysX acceleration disabled when ATI hardware is also present in the system, SlashGear reported.

Nvidia customer service responded to a user regarding the issue, saying, "Nvidia supports GPU accelerated Physx on NVIDIA GPUs while using NVIDIA GPUs for graphics. NVIDIA performs extensive Engineering, Development, and QA work that makes Physx a great experience for customers."

The email continued to list a couple of reasons why the Nvidia GPU would refuse to accelerate PhysX, with one of them being, of course, for business.

"For a variety of reasons some development expense some quality assurance and some business reasons NVIDIA will not support GPU accelerated Physx with NVIDIA GPUs while GPU rendering is happening on non- NVIDIA GPUs," it read. "Im sorry for any inconvenience caused but I hope you can understand."

It's a rare setup and a rare problem probably affecting only the most hardcore and it's unfortunate that it's no longer an option for those wanting the best of both worlds.

Source : Tom's Hardware US
Dirty anti-competition move?

__________________
space for rent
4GHZ_or_bust is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-09, 10:51 AM   #2
Bobnova
Innocent Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
Yup.
Already been cracked open though, modded drivers exist to get around the issue.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)


How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7

Heatware.
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-09, 12:01 PM   #3
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4GHZ_or_bust View Post
Saw this one in my magazine that just arrived today and it seems to have occured about 2 months ago:



Dirty anti-competition move?
Been a few threads on it already. They didn't make it hard to 'crack' because they don't mind people doing this, they just don't want the headache of supporting a competitors product. Who does the end user call when a new ATI driver comes out and their Nvidia PhysX card stops working?

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-09, 01:53 PM   #4
Old Thrashbarg
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
Still, though, they could've just put a warning that it's unsupported with an ATi card, had it disabled by default, and made you click a couple confirmation windows to confirm that, yes, I really do want to enable it anyway, and yes I know it might not work right. I mean, think about the user base this would affect... it's people who, A.) know about Physx and want to use it, and, B.) have managed to install and make work two video cards from different companies. That would imply at least a certain level of knowledge, at least enough that the user should be capable of understanding that it's not an officially supported configuration, and it's a small enough segment of the customer base that even the few inevitable support calls can just be passed off with, "It's not our problem, call ATi."

By quietly removing the option completely, they surely have stirred more of an uproar than would've ever been caused by an ATi driver breaking something.
Old Thrashbarg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-14-09, 05:12 PM   #5
Bobnova
Innocent Senior Member



 
Bobnova's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Humboldt

 
Killing the stanalone physics cards is just rude though.
Their drivers have nothing to do with gpu drivers or video.

__________________
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." -- Einstein (maybe)


How to check your PSU with a multimeter.

17bXw5t51rEBXGavJFMJsC8g7HQgThUGc7

Heatware.
Bobnova is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-09, 07:15 PM   #6
freakdiablo

 
freakdiablo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Here

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobnova View Post
Killing the stanalone physics cards is just rude though.
Their drivers have nothing to do with gpu drivers or video.
Don't you know? Killing the physics cards means people have to buy nvidia cards now

__________________
Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

Project 1UP
Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI
freakdiablo is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-20-10, 02:53 PM   #7
Fenix1016
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ohio

 
but the people doing this already decided to give up physx and go ati but then realized they could use there old nvidia cards along with there new ati ones and i dont think nvidia should stop people from doing this they should look to capatalize on it and open up the market for it as the more people that hear about it like me are interested in trying it so i was looking to buy a nvidia card (that i never thought i would ever do since the issue i had with one of the series in 2 different laptops burnt up due to nividas manufacturing error) but then they make it so it wont work so im not gonna give up the performance of my ati cards that run alot cooler and alot less energy just to have physx enabled but all in all im glad to see someone has found a way around it hoping to try this soon gonna give nvidia another shot hope it works out

__________________
THE BIG RED ONE
AMD 1090T@4.1GHZ
Noctua D14 cpu cooler with artic silver 5
Asus Crosshair IV MOBO
8gb Gskill Flare 2000mhz 7-9-7-24-2t
2x Asus Rog matrix 5870's@1000/1300 in Crossfire
Crucial C300 128gb SATA 3 6gb/s ssd
2x wd's 750gb cavaliar black in raid case (raid 0)
1tb seagate hd
sony optaric dvd drive
Antec true power Quattro 1200w psu with PoweCache
Xclio A380 case
Fenix1016 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-30-10, 08:56 PM   #8
Tweak-venetica-

 
Tweak-venetica-'s Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: in the push believe it or not

 
funny i found this thread i'v used a 9600 GT for physX then GTS 250 then gtx 460, and as i upgraded so did the drivers and it was hard to get them to run driver after driver , until i found the physX mod 1.02 - 1.04. and downloaded latest driver and the 1.04 mod still works , just like to report that Nurien Tech Demo that came out back with the 8800GT has seen end of day with the GTX 460 as a physX device . and my dark-void is screwed aswell , other than that all is well just think it's time for a 1.05 mod

__________________
Mobo : Asus corsshair IV extream ( Prime stable ) CPU : Phenom II 1090T@ 4.3ghz( 39'C load ) corsair H70 Memory : corsair dominator GT 2000 @ 1900 cl6-7-6-19-26
HDD : 3x 1TB seagate baracuda 32MB 7200 1x kingston SSD 128GB 3D config : Asus hd 6970 X2 CF P physX : Asus GTX 285 786 matrix OC
PSU : corsair 1200 watt Chasis : antec 1200 + 1 optional fan ROMS : LG Blu-ray 8x writer
screen : samsung p2770H 70000:1 2ms speakers : logitech z-4 + z-2300

Best cpu overclock 6529mhz phenom 1090t

Tweak-venetica- is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-30-10, 09:37 PM   #9
Tweak-venetica-

 
Tweak-venetica-'s Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: in the push believe it or not

 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WgqfXcjQKHk i actually done a review , sort of but you'll have to watch it in 480p els you cant see the images

__________________
Mobo : Asus corsshair IV extream ( Prime stable ) CPU : Phenom II 1090T@ 4.3ghz( 39'C load ) corsair H70 Memory : corsair dominator GT 2000 @ 1900 cl6-7-6-19-26
HDD : 3x 1TB seagate baracuda 32MB 7200 1x kingston SSD 128GB 3D config : Asus hd 6970 X2 CF P physX : Asus GTX 285 786 matrix OC
PSU : corsair 1200 watt Chasis : antec 1200 + 1 optional fan ROMS : LG Blu-ray 8x writer
screen : samsung p2770H 70000:1 2ms speakers : logitech z-4 + z-2300

Best cpu overclock 6529mhz phenom 1090t

Tweak-venetica- is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?