• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

will these work together?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

snowmanak406

i am putting a stereo into my truck and ran into a question. i have very little experience with audio so this may be a stupid question but can you run a dual voice coil sub to a single channel amp? i am looking at the Boss SE122dvc and the Hitron HA-1000.1. the main question being will this work and how well?

thanks for any info
mike

Your speaker has dual 4 ohm coils. Putting those in parallel will create a 2 ohm impedance load.

The amp is rated down to a 2 ohm load as well, so it should work just fine.

It's important to understand how a speaker's impedance load matches to an amp's ability to handle that load. Check the specs of both.

Your amp can run anything from 2 ohms on up, but any lower will cause instability in the amp or even damage or blow its output stage. It's also possible to damage the speaker when the amp blows or goes into oscillation due to instability.

:welcome: to the forums.

Your speaker has dual 4 ohm coils. Putting those in parallel will create a 2 ohm impedance load.

The amp is rated down to a 2 ohm load as well, so it should work just fine.

It's important to understand how a speaker's impedance load matches to an amp's ability to handle that load. Check the specs of both.

Your amp can run anything from 2 ohms on up, but any lower will cause instability in the amp or even damage or blow its output stage. It's also possible to damage the speaker when the amp blows or goes into oscillation due to instability.

:welcome: to the forums.