Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Idle temps doubling between Stock and 4Ghz?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-15-09, 06:08 PM Thread Starter   #1
gwar2288
Member



Join Date: Oct 2009

 
Idle temps doubling between Stock and 4Ghz?


Just thought I would ask, what is the average Idle temp (yes yes I know it's not hyper accurate but whatever) for people running an i5 750 at 4GHz?

At stock (with EIST and C1E) Realtemp was reporting 14-15*C. Load Temps never went above 40-42*C
At 4GHz, (with EIST and C1E) Realtemp is reporting 28*C. Load Temps are 60-63*C
gwar2288 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-15-09, 06:14 PM   #2
freeagent

Member

 
freeagent's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Winnipeg!

 
You got a hot chip

Or because you added a lil more then 1300mhz to your clock speed

__________________
Xeon X5690 E.S. @ 4209mhz, 1.325v /Corsair H100/2x 38x120 Panaflo
Asus Rampage III Formula @ 200/3609/3609
3x2gb STT Chrome @ 802mhz 6-6-6-20 1.65v
Asus GTX 580 DCII @ 900/1000 1.1v
Intel 520 120GB/WD 1TB Black
Auzentech Prelude
Thermaltake SP850M
Fractal Design Define R4
freeagent is online now Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-15-09, 06:42 PM   #3
Daddyjaxx
Member

 
Daddyjaxx's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Duluth, GA.

 
Unless you are in a 45-50 room, your chip could not be idling at 14-15c. That's 57 farenheit. 40c load is way to low too. What version of RealTemp do you have?

__________________
i980 stock speeds for now in
Asus Rampage III Extreme on Win 7 Home Premium
3 X eVGA 480 GTX
3 x 2 GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600 @ 1600
1000w and 850w Corsair in MM Ascension Horizon
Crucial 128GB Real SSD and 2 x 1 TB W/D Black
3x XSPC RX360 with Feser Shround and Panaflo Med
EK Supreme HF and EK Rampage III block
DD Satin 480 Blocks,
2 x DDC 18w XSPC Dual Res Dual DDC
Daddyjaxx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-15-09, 07:06 PM Thread Starter   #4
gwar2288
Member



Join Date: Oct 2009

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daddyjaxx View Post
Unless you are in a 45-50 room, your chip could not be idling at 14-15c. That's 57 farenheit. 40c load is way to low too. What version of RealTemp do you have?
v3.39.2

I live in Ireland and it is always cold here More than likely my ambient temps are below 14*C

I am not running the stock cooler though, I am running a Thor's Hammer with 2xKaze Slipstream 1900RPM and IC7 Diamond TIM (note to self, sort out sig)

Last edited by gwar2288; 11-15-09 at 07:14 PM.
gwar2288 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-15-09, 08:30 PM   #5
MattNo5ss
5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Overclockers.com Editor


 
MattNo5ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AL

 
I thought your temps might be wrong as well, but if you really have sub 14C ambient, then I guess it could be accurate...my ambient is 25C, there's no way I could stay in a room in the low 50F's...lol

Whether they are 15C or 28C, it doesn't really matter. If they were in the 50C's, then you should be worried. Just worry about load temps unless idles are extremely high, which would suggest bad heatsink contact or too much TIM.

__________________
i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (97-0-0)

Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build
MattNo5ss is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-15-09, 09:13 PM   #6
fire2havoc
Member

 
fire2havoc's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California

 
Idle and load temps seem way too cold. What is the TJMax set to in your RealTemp?

__________________
CPU: i7 920 C0 @ 3.8 GHz HT, 1.25v
Cooling: Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Memory: 6GB G.Skill DDR3 1600
Video: ASUS GTX 285
Hard Drives: WD Black 640GB, 2x WD Green 1TB
Power Supply: Corsair 850TX
Case: Antec P180B
Monitor: 30" Dell U3011 H-IPS
Peripherals: Logitech Illuminated + G7 | Sidewinder X4
Sound: Auzentech X-Fi Forte | Audio-Technica AD700 | Logitech Z-2300
OS: Windows 7 Professional x64
fire2havoc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-15-09, 10:15 PM   #7
CompuTamer
Member with Some Fancy Text Under His Name

 
CompuTamer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brandon Mississippi

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwar2288 View Post
v3.39.2

I live in Ireland and it is always cold here More than likely my ambient temps are below 14*C

I am not running the stock cooler though, I am running a Thor's Hammer with 2xKaze Slipstream 1900RPM and IC7 Diamond TIM (note to self, sort out sig)
I wish i lived in an area that cold... i'm lucky to see 40F in the middle of winter here

__________________
Intel Core i7 C0 @ 4.01GHz with 1.388 vCore ..........................................Intel C2D T8100
Intel DX58SO Motherboard IOH + QPI @ 1.250 Volts..............................HP 6910p Notebook
Sony Optiarc Blu-Ray Drive.................................................. ...............DVD-RAM
8 GB G-Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 @ 1.65 Volts ...........................................4GB Hyundai DDR2 800
60GB OCZ Solid 3 + 320GB WD Blue+ 1TB WD Green...............................Intel 320 80GB
Antec 900.................................................. .......................................Titanium Lid
BFG GS-650.................................................. .....................................Various HP AC Adapters
XFX Radeon HD 4850 (660/1060 53C Idle 62C Load) @ 1.31 vCore............ATI X2300 Pro
Dual Dell E2311H LED 1920x1080.................................................. .......14.1" 1440x900
Windows 8 ProMC.................................................. .............................Windows 8 ProMC
Those specs up there? They're silent. Silence is good. Very good.
Your Core 2 Quad is based off of the Pentium pro in a few ways.
CompuTamer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-16-09, 01:03 AM   #8
burebista
Member

 
burebista's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Romania

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by fire2havoc View Post
What is the TJMax set to in your RealTemp?
For Nehalem/Lynnfield TJMax value is written in MSR so no more guess about it.
i5 stock I know that is cold so it's somehow is possible to have ambient temperatures on cores in idle and with your cooling.
Anyway load temps matter so 60-63C at 4Ghz looks fine to me.
burebista is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-09, 08:40 AM   #9
BradF1979
New Member



Join Date: Dec 2009

 
Hi guys, sorry to hijack this thread, but I just built my i5 last night. I'm using stock intel cooler (I have ordered a CM Hyper 212 Plus, but it's not here yet). It's on a GA-P55-UD4P.

Anyway, my system is idling in the low 40s. IntelBurnTest saw the temperature of Core 1 rise to 81 before I killed it, and running Prime95 it went all the way up 78-80 as well.

My computer is in a computer armoire but the one side is off, and it's open at the front and vented in the back, but otherwise solid wood on two sides and the top. I'd say the ambient inside there is between 25-30.

This is all at stock speeds (with Turbo enabled). I had hoped to overclock to 4 Ghz, is a new cooler going to matter that much? I ordered some MX-2 thermal paste with my Hyper 212 Plus as well.
BradF1979 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-09, 08:43 AM   #10
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
You will generally idle about 5-10C above ambient (YMMV) but to be AT ambient is darn near impossible.

Your 4Ghz temps I would bet are spot on for that ambient temp you mentioned.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-04-09, 10:18 AM   #11
AEternal1
Registered

 
AEternal1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: semi mobile

 
i'm averaging 48*c @ 26*c ambient....on a warm day outside.....when its cold outside, i can get down to 28*c @ 24*c ambient.
see my sig
AEternal1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?