Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Microsoft Security Essentials... Sucks.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-18-09, 07:53 AM Thread Starter   #1
thaclassikz
Member

 
thaclassikz's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC

 
Microsoft Security Essentials... Sucks.




I've been using Microsoft's free antivirus and antispyware for several months and i've come to the conclusion that it simply sucks. I've recently been noticing some odd behaviors in my computer and with a free online scanner from Eset, realized that i have several trojans on my computer. Needless to say, i was extremely disappointed in the performance of Microsoft's free antivirus, because free doesn't mean it has to suck. I've used Avast's free antivirus for years and have had great luck with it. If anyone just needs the bare minimum of protection, i guess Microsoft's product will do.

__________________
MY HEATWARE
thaclassikz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-18-09, 08:43 AM   #2
hokiealumnus
Water Cooled Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor

 
hokiealumnus's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC

 
Ouch. Looks like I'm going back to Avira. Knew I shouldn't have trusted MS to do antivirus right. Thanks for posting.

__________________

Enjoy benchmarks? Join the benching team! | New to water cooling? Read the Beginner's Guide to Water Cooling Your PC.

xsuperbgx - "As a wise man once said: "Less talky. More clocky."" | cyberfish - "When overclocked, it's undefined behavior."
I.M.O.G. - "Vaseline on Ivy Bridge is a bad idea. But not so bad of an idea that it can't be fixed with a torpedo heater, a dishwasher, an oven, and a few hours. "

\m/ OverClockers mATX L33T Club \m/ - Join Now! - My mITX Build
hokiealumnus is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-18-09, 10:07 AM   #3
SeanBest
Member

 
SeanBest's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Harrisonburg, VA

 
Hmm ... no problems with MSE here ... other than updating takes a little longer than expected.

__________________
HEAT
Motherboard --------- BIOSTAR TPower I45
CPU ------------------- Intel E8600 @ 4GHz
Memory -------------- 4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066
Cooling --------------- Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
HDDs ----------------- Western Digital Velociraptor 300GB 10k RPM
Graphics Card ------- MSI HD4870 OC Edition
Soundcard ----------- Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
Case ------------------ Antec Nine Hundered
Power Supply -------- OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
OS -------------------- Win 7 Pro x64, Mint Debian x64
SeanBest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-18-09, 10:32 AM   #4
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thaclassikz View Post


I've been using Microsoft's free antivirus and antispyware for several months and i've come to the conclusion that it simply sucks. I've recently been noticing some odd behaviors in my computer and with a free online scanner from Eset, realized that i have several trojans on my computer. Needless to say, i was extremely disappointed in the performance of Microsoft's free antivirus, because free doesn't mean it has to suck. I've used Avast's free antivirus for years and have had great luck with it. If anyone just needs the bare minimum of protection, i guess Microsoft's product will do.
What OS are you using? Do you do any torrenting?

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-09, 08:29 AM Thread Starter   #5
thaclassikz
Member

 
thaclassikz's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC

 
I'm running Windows 7, and yes i do torrent, but nothing crazy.

In addition to what i said up there, scanning my whole computer took 3-4 hours for under 1TB of data. The same data only took 40 minutes to scan with Avast.

__________________
MY HEATWARE
thaclassikz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-09, 08:55 AM   #6
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thaclassikz View Post
yes i do torrent
Lemme guess, "just Linux distros, I swear!"

Can't blame the AV software if you're inviting the baddies in..

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-09, 09:00 AM   #7
Sydney
Member

 
Sydney's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reykjavk, Iceland

 
Windows for Gaming, no anti-virus
Linux for everything else, no anti-virus

Never had a single problem

__________________
Gigabyte Z68X-UD7 (EK P67A-UD7)| i7 2600K @ 5.0GHz (Heat Killer 3.0)
4x4GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHz CL9 1.5V | Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce 3X @ 1084(C)/1150(B)/7064(M) | Swiftech MCP35X
Black Ice Pro II 240mm| Antec HCP1200 | Antec P280 |2x 120GB Mushkin Chronos RAID0| Windows 8.1 Preview
Sydney is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-09, 09:03 AM   #8
SuperMiguel
Super User

 
SuperMiguel's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida, US

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratbuddy View Post
"just Linux distros, I swear!"

__________________
<(+_+)> (v)g <(+_+)>
SuperMiguel is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-09, 09:15 AM   #9
Sydney
Member

 
Sydney's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reykjavk, Iceland

 
Now hold on, there's plenty of legal things to torrent apart from Linux distros.

Like...uhm....you know....erh.....

Well, illegal torrents of stuff which you already bought legally (it's legal in Iceland to do that anyway)

__________________
Gigabyte Z68X-UD7 (EK P67A-UD7)| i7 2600K @ 5.0GHz (Heat Killer 3.0)
4x4GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHz CL9 1.5V | Gigabyte GTX780 Windforce 3X @ 1084(C)/1150(B)/7064(M) | Swiftech MCP35X
Black Ice Pro II 240mm| Antec HCP1200 | Antec P280 |2x 120GB Mushkin Chronos RAID0| Windows 8.1 Preview
Sydney is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-09, 11:29 AM   #10
johnz
Member

 
johnz's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
My MSE trial is officially over. It just locked up Explorer when I was trying to update VLC. That combined with the high memory usage is keeping me with Antivir.
johnz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-09, 01:31 PM   #11
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
considering every review site says otherwise, including AV comparitives, i am thinking you may have said "yes yes yes" to a few thing you shouldn't have, AV's cant stop things the user chooses to install and to have several of them, stop torrent game cracks and other things like that

MSE has almost no memory usage...

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-09, 01:35 PM   #12
JDawggS316
Member

 
JDawggS316's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: US

 
Agreed.

__________________
Build Status: I have kids
JDawggS316 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-09, 01:39 PM   #13
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
Working fine on my aunt's laptop, MUCH lower resources than AVira/AVG. Got sick of using them when they became so bloated *sigh.

I have trained her in the ways of web-fu, but can't stop here from opening email attachments, hence the need for AV software lol

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-09, 01:41 PM   #14
johnz
Member

 
johnz's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Guvernment View Post

MSE has almost no memory usage...
I had working memory usage of over 100mb, and a peak of well over 300mb. While that isn't a concern on my system, that's pretty fat for an A/V. Antivir is currently using about 20mb, with a peak of 120mb.
johnz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-09, 01:43 PM   #15
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Avira bloated? That has to be the first time I have ever heard that AND you put it in with AVG? Whoa nelly!!!!!

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-09, 01:58 PM Thread Starter   #16
thaclassikz
Member

 
thaclassikz's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratbuddy View Post
Lemme guess, "just Linux distros, I swear!"

Can't blame the AV software if you're inviting the baddies in..

That would obviously defeat the purpose of an Anti-virus if it couldn't keep out viruses, invited or uninvited, wouldn't it?

__________________
MY HEATWARE
thaclassikz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-09, 02:09 PM   #17
SeanBest
Member

 
SeanBest's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Harrisonburg, VA

 
I'm loving MSE on my desktop and my laptop. Runs super smooth and so far no infections, although I'm a smart surfer!

__________________
HEAT
Motherboard --------- BIOSTAR TPower I45
CPU ------------------- Intel E8600 @ 4GHz
Memory -------------- 4GB Corsair Dominator DDR2 1066
Cooling --------------- Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
HDDs ----------------- Western Digital Velociraptor 300GB 10k RPM
Graphics Card ------- MSI HD4870 OC Edition
Soundcard ----------- Creative X-Fi Xtremegamer
Case ------------------ Antec Nine Hundered
Power Supply -------- OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W
OS -------------------- Win 7 Pro x64, Mint Debian x64
SeanBest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-09, 02:11 PM   #18
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thaclassikz View Post
That would obviously defeat the purpose of an Anti-virus if it couldn't keep out viruses, invited or uninvited, wouldn't it?


No amount of AV is going to protect you from making bad decisions when it comes to installing sketchy software.

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-09, 03:33 PM   #19
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnz View Post
I had working memory usage of over 100mb, and a peak of well over 300mb. While that isn't a concern on my system, that's pretty fat for an A/V. Antivir is currently using about 20mb, with a peak of 120mb.
wow, i would say something was wrong, maybe it was working too hard to stop thing, on mine i think iam at... 29mb and my system has been on for 9 days now and i also torrent and have 3 x 640G WD drives and 2 x 1.5T drives.

Just set it to do a full scan and i am at 68MB of usage while it is doing a full scan. and upto 24% cpu usage.

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-09, 03:35 PM   #20
Joeteck
Retired

 
Joeteck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island

 
The word "Microsoft" and "security", don't belong in the same sentence... lol
Joeteck is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?