Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Two sick rigs that need to be folding with winter here

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-21-09, 11:32 PM Thread Starter   #1
georanma

 
georanma's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jacksonville, fla.

 
Two sick rigs that need to be folding with winter here


So in the last month, I have aquired some obnoxious parts....just look in the sig. I want to run 3-4 vm's with crunchbang linux on them. They will be 4 cores each, with a gig of ram. My desktop is gonna need another 4 gig of ram, that I hope to aquire soon. Sadly, this time around, I seem to be having issues with getting foldling installed. I followed and copied the commands from the site as stated. Is there someone that could make some suggestions? When I try and config folding, It tells me there is no such file or folder as ./fah6 even though im in the directory its in and it is there. I could use some aim action if possible. l33tgator

edit: I also am curious as to how much more memory will affect my folding. Would I be just as well off using 512mb?

__________________
Benderbox:i3 530 @ 4.4ghz //TRUE
Black//MSI GD65//2x2 gig g-skill ripjaws DDR3 2000//XFX 5850//HAF 932//Corsair 750TX
Bendermedia: i7 920 @ 4.0//Rampage III Extreme//H50// 2x3 gig OCZ ddr3 1600//MSI 4890 OC ed.//OCZ Fatal1ty OCZ550FTY 550W

Last edited by georanma; 11-21-09 at 11:37 PM.
georanma is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-22-09, 01:26 AM   #2
harlam357
Senior Fold-a-holic

 
harlam357's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: @Home... Folding@Home

 
The file may just not be marked as executable... try this:

chmod +x fah6

harlam357 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-22-09, 04:43 AM   #3
David
Forums Super Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor



 
David's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by georanma View Post
edit: I also am curious as to how much more memory will affect my folding. Would I be just as well off using 512mb?
The amount of RAM you have decides on whether you will get small, medium or large workunits. AFAIK the larger ones tend to be the best PPD but I may be wrong here.

__________________
David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.
David is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-22-09, 09:31 AM   #4
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
You don't need to run more than one VM per machine. VMware Player has support for 4 cores and, unofficialy, support for 8 cores. Fewer VMs mean less ram, hard drive space and cpu resources are required to fold. 4 core VMs trounce 2 core VMs in production since the release of version 2.10 of the a2 core. A 4 core VM runs well at somewhere about 900 MB. Many get by with less at the risk of the VM crashing if you run out. An 8 core VM will need about 1200 MB to run normal a2 WUs and running -bigadv on the i7 will need a bit over 4 GB.

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats

Last edited by ChasR; 11-22-09 at 09:51 AM.
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-22-09, 04:34 PM   #5
PenguinsPal
Member


 
PenguinsPal's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hollywood,SC

 
I have a couple gib of DDR2 if needed
PenguinsPal is offline Benching Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-22-09, 07:54 PM Thread Starter   #6
georanma

 
georanma's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jacksonville, fla.

 
One is an 1156 setup and one is 1366, so id need ddr3 thanks though. So no real need for more than 1 vm per box .I could do 8 with ht on i guess.
georanma is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-22-09, 08:48 PM   #7
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
You'll get a very nice ppd boost with an 8 core VM on an i7. If you're serious about maximizing ppd, you can run bigadv WUs and make over 20,000 ppd.

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-22-09, 08:55 PM Thread Starter   #8
georanma

 
georanma's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jacksonville, fla.

 
Its winter coming up. Im already gonna have these machines on 24/7, might as well keep the heater off as much as possible. lol. I want to get these set up as best as possible. To be honest most of the time I will hardly be pushing these machines on my own. I havent been gaming as much as just playing with hardware lately. I also just moved a 360 into my room next to my desk, so Ill be even more apt to just be listening to music or watching a movie while gaming on it. Might as well make some use of the money I spent.

__________________
Benderbox:i3 530 @ 4.4ghz //TRUE
Black//MSI GD65//2x2 gig g-skill ripjaws DDR3 2000//XFX 5850//HAF 932//Corsair 750TX
Bendermedia: i7 920 @ 4.0//Rampage III Extreme//H50// 2x3 gig OCZ ddr3 1600//MSI 4890 OC ed.//OCZ Fatal1ty OCZ550FTY 550W
georanma is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-22-09, 09:35 PM Thread Starter   #9
georanma

 
georanma's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jacksonville, fla.

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by harlam357 View Post
The file may just not be marked as executable... try this:

chmod +x fah6
no good there either = / Not sure why this is being such a pain. I did it back when I was running my 9550 with no issues.

__________________
Benderbox:i3 530 @ 4.4ghz //TRUE
Black//MSI GD65//2x2 gig g-skill ripjaws DDR3 2000//XFX 5850//HAF 932//Corsair 750TX
Bendermedia: i7 920 @ 4.0//Rampage III Extreme//H50// 2x3 gig OCZ ddr3 1600//MSI 4890 OC ed.//OCZ Fatal1ty OCZ550FTY 550W
georanma is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-09, 12:34 AM   #10
David
Forums Super Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor



 
David's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews

10 Year Badge
 
In a terminal go into the directory where you have put the folding@home stuff. Type ls and paste the output here. Mine looks like:

Code:
david@tigger ~ $ cd FaHSMP/
david@tigger ~/FaHSMP $ ls
client.cfg   FahCore_a2.exe   machinedependent.dat  queue.dat
Core_78.fah  FAHlog-Prev.txt  mpiexec               unitinfo.txt
fah6         FAHlog.txt       MyFolding.html        work
david@tigger ~/FaHSMP $

__________________
David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.
David is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-09, 09:28 AM Thread Starter   #11
georanma

 
georanma's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jacksonville, fla.

 
at work, but will try when I get home.

__________________
Benderbox:i3 530 @ 4.4ghz //TRUE
Black//MSI GD65//2x2 gig g-skill ripjaws DDR3 2000//XFX 5850//HAF 932//Corsair 750TX
Bendermedia: i7 920 @ 4.0//Rampage III Extreme//H50// 2x3 gig OCZ ddr3 1600//MSI 4890 OC ed.//OCZ Fatal1ty OCZ550FTY 550W
georanma is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-09, 03:09 PM Thread Starter   #12
georanma

 
georanma's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jacksonville, fla.

 
Im getting an output of
fah6 FAH6.02-Linux.tgz mpiexec

__________________
Benderbox:i3 530 @ 4.4ghz //TRUE
Black//MSI GD65//2x2 gig g-skill ripjaws DDR3 2000//XFX 5850//HAF 932//Corsair 750TX
Bendermedia: i7 920 @ 4.0//Rampage III Extreme//H50// 2x3 gig OCZ ddr3 1600//MSI 4890 OC ed.//OCZ Fatal1ty OCZ550FTY 550W
georanma is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-23-09, 03:55 PM Thread Starter   #13
georanma

 
georanma's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jacksonville, fla.

 
Figured it out. I was missing dependancies. I was probably F'd when I was installing and missing that tid bit...even after reading the page 10 times.

I think the only issue I may be having is with the whole passcode thing, so that my work is credited to my name.

__________________
Benderbox:i3 530 @ 4.4ghz //TRUE
Black//MSI GD65//2x2 gig g-skill ripjaws DDR3 2000//XFX 5850//HAF 932//Corsair 750TX
Bendermedia: i7 920 @ 4.0//Rampage III Extreme//H50// 2x3 gig OCZ ddr3 1600//MSI 4890 OC ed.//OCZ Fatal1ty OCZ550FTY 550W

Last edited by georanma; 11-23-09 at 04:10 PM.
georanma is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 12:37 AM Thread Starter   #14
georanma

 
georanma's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jacksonville, fla.

 
So, one vm per rig will be plenty of folding? Also, when i tried and set it up at 2 cores with 4 cores each, it wont take it = (. Im pretty sure I left HT on this machine.

edit: When I deleted my two machines, and went to just start a new one, I was not able to get the dependancies to install for fah (ia32-libs). says cant find package and I have internet. Gonna play around some more since I cant sleep. Once I get this set up, and the gtz is on the i7, Ill get folding on a crunchbang vm as well..


I take that back. I added repositories, and was then able to get the dependances. We may be full steam ahead. Now, If I can only get my work credited to my username = /

__________________
Benderbox:i3 530 @ 4.4ghz //TRUE
Black//MSI GD65//2x2 gig g-skill ripjaws DDR3 2000//XFX 5850//HAF 932//Corsair 750TX
Bendermedia: i7 920 @ 4.0//Rampage III Extreme//H50// 2x3 gig OCZ ddr3 1600//MSI 4890 OC ed.//OCZ Fatal1ty OCZ550FTY 550W

Last edited by georanma; 11-24-09 at 03:21 AM.
georanma is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 04:04 AM   #15
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
You don't have to install ia32-libs on 9.04 or 9.10.

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?