Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Quick question about the IP35 Pro + E0 Q9650...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-09, 07:27 AM Thread Starter   #1
silencer51
Member

 
silencer51's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Greece

 
Quick question about the IP35 Pro + E0 Q9650...


Hey guys,

I need a quick asnwer ASAP as I've found an awesome deal at a slightly used E0 Q9650 and I want to get it for my C2D rig.

Will it work with an Abit IP35 Pro? I know this board had troubles with the E0s however some people say it works with the latest beta bios (18)...

I just want to be sure before I pull the trigger...

Thanks!

__________________
---------Main Rig---------
Core i7 920 D0 @ 3,8GHz with Prolimatech Megahalems HSF (Dual Noctua 120mm Fans) / Asus P6T Deluxe V2 BIOS 1108/ 6x2GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz DDR3 @ 8-8-8-24-2T / 2x5870 Crossfire/ 2x150GB WD Raptors ADFD (RAID0) / 3x1,5TB Seagate 7200.11/ 1x2TB Seagate 7200.12 / Samsung SH-223Q DVD Writer / Corsair HX1000 PSU / CM Stacker Case / Dual LG W2600HP-BF 26" TFTs (effing great!!!)
silencer51 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 08:20 AM   #2
kvn864
New Member



Join Date: May 2006

 
I had BIOS 18 and E0 Q9550. Never got them to work together, however I saw others did. Not sure what it depends to. At your own risk my friend.
kvn864 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 08:31 AM   #3
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
I will check the CPU compatability list for you on Abit's site...

EDIT: Well, the QX9650 is listed, but not the Q9650. Im with Kvn on this one. Try it at your own risk, just make sure you have at least bios 17 on there before.

http://www.abit.com.tw/cpu-support-l...5_ip35-pro.htm

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 01:49 PM Thread Starter   #4
silencer51
Member

 
silencer51's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Greece

 
That's the weird thing... Same mobo, same BIOS, same CPU yet conflicting results...

A google search comes up with both success and failure stories.

We 'll see I guess... :/

__________________
---------Main Rig---------
Core i7 920 D0 @ 3,8GHz with Prolimatech Megahalems HSF (Dual Noctua 120mm Fans) / Asus P6T Deluxe V2 BIOS 1108/ 6x2GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz DDR3 @ 8-8-8-24-2T / 2x5870 Crossfire/ 2x150GB WD Raptors ADFD (RAID0) / 3x1,5TB Seagate 7200.11/ 1x2TB Seagate 7200.12 / Samsung SH-223Q DVD Writer / Corsair HX1000 PSU / CM Stacker Case / Dual LG W2600HP-BF 26" TFTs (effing great!!!)
silencer51 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 01:51 PM Thread Starter   #5
silencer51
Member

 
silencer51's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Greece

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by kvn864 View Post
I had BIOS 18 and E0 Q9550. Never got them to work together, however I saw others did. Not sure what it depends to. At your own risk my friend.
Could you please post your configuration when you tried the q9550 on your IP35 Pro?

You couldn't even get it to boot?

__________________
---------Main Rig---------
Core i7 920 D0 @ 3,8GHz with Prolimatech Megahalems HSF (Dual Noctua 120mm Fans) / Asus P6T Deluxe V2 BIOS 1108/ 6x2GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz DDR3 @ 8-8-8-24-2T / 2x5870 Crossfire/ 2x150GB WD Raptors ADFD (RAID0) / 3x1,5TB Seagate 7200.11/ 1x2TB Seagate 7200.12 / Samsung SH-223Q DVD Writer / Corsair HX1000 PSU / CM Stacker Case / Dual LG W2600HP-BF 26" TFTs (effing great!!!)
silencer51 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 05:30 PM   #6
kvn864
New Member



Join Date: May 2006

 
Yes, it will not boot, fans spin full speed but no display. BIOS reset switch on the back of the mobo sometimes gets you to windows, but if you access BIOS and (change or no change in configurations) save and exit....to black screen with no display, next reset: 50/50 chance it'll boot at all. Really weird, but I gave up after a few days, trying anything I knew. It just didn't work for me. I had Gigabyte mobo in the house, running it now. Good luck.
kvn864 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 06:49 PM Thread Starter   #7
silencer51
Member

 
silencer51's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Greece

 
Thanks for the reply kvn864. Could you elaborate on the setup you used? I.e. PSU, graphics card, memory etc...

Also, did you have a Rev. 1.0 or Rev. 1.1 board?

__________________
---------Main Rig---------
Core i7 920 D0 @ 3,8GHz with Prolimatech Megahalems HSF (Dual Noctua 120mm Fans) / Asus P6T Deluxe V2 BIOS 1108/ 6x2GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz DDR3 @ 8-8-8-24-2T / 2x5870 Crossfire/ 2x150GB WD Raptors ADFD (RAID0) / 3x1,5TB Seagate 7200.11/ 1x2TB Seagate 7200.12 / Samsung SH-223Q DVD Writer / Corsair HX1000 PSU / CM Stacker Case / Dual LG W2600HP-BF 26" TFTs (effing great!!!)
silencer51 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 07:00 PM   #8
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
rev of the board isnt going to matter about supporting the Q9650. you might be lucky to find the last beta bios in this thread. it does look like that bios 18 is the latest one... i guess it might have something to do with the later rev p35 chipset for the E0's but that doesnt make sense to me.

__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-09, 01:26 AM   #9
kvn864
New Member



Join Date: May 2006

 
I had revision 1.0 of the board. Setup: Antec 450W (don't remember the name) ATI 5850, 2x1 + 2x512 = 3G of PC6400 RAM. But I don't think it will matter at all what you have, what I understood in the end of it: there is a problem solely between Mobo and E0 quad. You should definitely try, it might work for you.
kvn864 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-09, 03:28 AM Thread Starter   #10
silencer51
Member

 
silencer51's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Greece

 
Okay, so I went ahead and pulled the trigger on that Q9650...

I'm happy to report that it boots fine every time, temps are reporting fine, even the super-tight memory timings I was using with Bios 14 work fine...

Super stable so far.

All this on an IP35 Pro 1.1 revision with beta 18 bios

__________________
---------Main Rig---------
Core i7 920 D0 @ 3,8GHz with Prolimatech Megahalems HSF (Dual Noctua 120mm Fans) / Asus P6T Deluxe V2 BIOS 1108/ 6x2GB OCZ Gold 1600MHz DDR3 @ 8-8-8-24-2T / 2x5870 Crossfire/ 2x150GB WD Raptors ADFD (RAID0) / 3x1,5TB Seagate 7200.11/ 1x2TB Seagate 7200.12 / Samsung SH-223Q DVD Writer / Corsair HX1000 PSU / CM Stacker Case / Dual LG W2600HP-BF 26" TFTs (effing great!!!)
silencer51 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-25-09, 04:51 AM   #11
kvn864
New Member



Join Date: May 2006

 
I think the difference is in CPU. I had a brand new one, and you probably have a little older chip, and that's why it worked, just thinking aloud here. Beta 18 BIOS happened to have a microcode for your particular chip, and it is not being updated and that's why my setup didn't work. Glad you got it going. Now, clock that thing!
kvn864 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?