Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Does the Video Card Affect video editing ability?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-24-09, 01:17 PM Thread Starter   #1
AMDGuy
Member

 
AMDGuy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

 
Does the Video Card Affect video editing ability?


I'm putting together a new machine and the most intensive thing it will do is render some HD video content from my camcorder.

I was going to re-use my current graphics card which is a Saphire Radeon PCIe card with 512MB of RAM on it.

However, someone suggested I get a new card with 1GB of memory like a GeForce 9500GT or some such to aid in the video aspects.

I thought the CPU did all the work on video editing/rendering...do I really need a new graphics card too?

__________________
-AMDGuy
Guess I need to change my username?
i5 750 @ 4.01Ghz (191 x 21 with EIST enabled)
1.32500 Vcore 1.15 Vtt
Gigabyte P55 UD3R
4GB OCZ Platinum 1333
AMDGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 01:21 PM   #2
Aynjell
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDGuy View Post
I'm putting together a new machine and the most intensive thing it will do is render some HD video content from my camcorder.

I was going to re-use my current graphics card which is a Saphire Radeon PCIe card with 512MB of RAM on it.

However, someone suggested I get a new card with 1GB of memory like a GeForce 9500GT or some such to aid in the video aspects.

I thought the CPU did all the work on video editing/rendering...do I really need a new graphics card too?
Most programs use the CPU for such tasks, however you may find that having a video card that can handle the UI decently can improve your ability to do what you want with it.

That being said, some applications do use features like cuda, or stream processing I think it's called on the ATI side. They may aid in the heavy duty lifting that video encoding would require.

What applications do you use?

__________________
Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance
Aynjell is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 01:26 PM Thread Starter   #3
AMDGuy
Member

 
AMDGuy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

 
I use Sony Vegas 8 for the video editing/encoding. The OS on the new system will either be Windows 7 or Windows 7 64-bit.

My current system is an old AMD Opteron 170 setup and it takes ages to encode media. The video is also choppy in the preview screen, but I assumed that was because the CPUs couldn't keep up.

I'm trying to build a new system with good components, but not just throw money at it.

Here's what I've got in my cart thus far:

CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX TX 650W Power Supply Retail 1 $102.99
(2) WESTERN DIGITAL Caviar Green WD10EADS 1TB SATA II 7200 RPM 32MB Buffer Hard Drive Bulk 2 $89.99
EVGA 01G-P3-N958-LR GeForce 9500 GT 1GB GDDR2 PCI Express x16 (2.0v) Video Card Retail 1 $62.99
OCZ OCZ3P1333LV4GK 4GB PC3-10666 (DDR3-1333) Dual Channel Memory Retail 1 $99.99
INTEL BX80605I5750 I5 2.66 GHz Socket 1156 1MB Desktop Processor Retail 1 $204.99
GIGABYTE GA-P55-UD3R Intel P55 Core i5/i7 PC3-16000 (DDR3-2000) ATX Motherboard Retail
Megahalem Rev 2B CPU Cooler

I was thinking of eliminating the graphics card if it's not really needed.

__________________
-AMDGuy
Guess I need to change my username?
i5 750 @ 4.01Ghz (191 x 21 with EIST enabled)
1.32500 Vcore 1.15 Vtt
Gigabyte P55 UD3R
4GB OCZ Platinum 1333
AMDGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 01:47 PM   #4
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
You will need a video card for that system.

If all your doing is web browsing and such, a 3450 can be picked up usually around $20 (I bought them for that on Newegg before) which will handle general desktop usage and video acceleration very well.

Not sure about stream encoding though, last I looked there was not a good VGA accelerated video encoding app.

I BELIEVE that HTT will help in video encoding process for software (CPU) based encoders, so might want to looking to getting an i7 for p55. If video encoding is the primary focus of your rig.

__________________
All rants I produce are sole property of 127.0.0.1.
10 types of people understand binary.
Suck iiiiiitttttttttt. -Shawn Spencer
Linux is the stepchild of the OS world. "You told me to set 192.168.0.266 ip address", okay >>>Kernel PANIC - Me
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 01:50 PM   #5
Aynjell
Member



Join Date: Dec 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
You will need a video card for that system.

If all your doing is web browsing and such, a 3450 can be picked up usually around $20 (I bought them for that on Newegg before) which will handle general desktop usage and video acceleration very well.

Not sure about stream encoding though, last I looked there was not a good VGA accelerated video encoding app.

I BELIEVE that HTT will help in video encoding process for software (CPU) based encoders, so might want to looking to getting an i7 for p55. If video encoding is the primary focus of your rig.
I actually agree with this. Moving up to an 860 is a worthwhile investment.

Perhaps something like this?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboD...t=Combo.290305

Or alternatively this?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboD...t=Combo.290326

There's some great bundles with 860 these days. Might wanna look into it.

__________________
Do not break wind in the same room as a dark brother or sister; to do so is to invoke the wrath of Sithis. - Aynjell, in fond memory of Lucien LeChance
Aynjell is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 01:55 PM Thread Starter   #6
AMDGuy
Member

 
AMDGuy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
You will need a video card for that system.

If all your doing is web browsing and such, a 3450 can be picked up usually around $20 (I bought them for that on Newegg before) which will handle general desktop usage and video acceleration very well.

Not sure about stream encoding though, last I looked there was not a good VGA accelerated video encoding app.

I BELIEVE that HTT will help in video encoding process for software (CPU) based encoders, so might want to looking to getting an i7 for p55. If video encoding is the primary focus of your rig.
I'm not willing to drop the money on the i7. If the i5 encodes 15 minutes of HD in an hour I'll be thrilled with that, plus in a year or two when the i7 860s drop in price, I'll have a simple upgrade path. That's how I worked my current AMD Rig and got it to last me 4 years+. I started off with a mere 1800mhz single core 939 chip, and moved up to a dual core Opteron 170 when they became cheap.

Can you help me understand why a new video card is needed? I can't get my head around why my current PCIe card wont' work?

I just went and looked and my current video card is a Sapphire Radeon 550.

http://www1.sapphiretech.com/us/prod...w.php?gpid=116

Keep in mind computers aren't so much a hobby for me anymore as they are a tool to get work done. I used to be all about getting new parts and overclocking them, water cooling pioneering, etc. I even wrote several articles for this very website. However, I work in IT now, and just want the thing to work and not fool with it all the time. I get enough of that at work and prefer to put the real money in to other hobbies (like my muscle cars).

__________________
-AMDGuy
Guess I need to change my username?
i5 750 @ 4.01Ghz (191 x 21 with EIST enabled)
1.32500 Vcore 1.15 Vtt
Gigabyte P55 UD3R
4GB OCZ Platinum 1333

Last edited by AMDGuy; 11-24-09 at 02:01 PM.
AMDGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 02:03 PM   #7
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
That is an ANCIENT card. I dont think its going to like W7 at all. Im sure it will turn down all the goodies it has to offer. Just get a cheap 8600gt or something like that for a videocard, even though the other will work, just without all the bells and whistles.

I would also second the i7 860 (Which is still Socket 1156 so the mobo/ram is cheaper than s1366) The HT on that chip will blow through those MUCH faster than the the i5. Im certain your time is worth the cost.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 02:15 PM Thread Starter   #8
AMDGuy
Member

 
AMDGuy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuromancer View Post
You will need a video card for that system.

If all your doing is web browsing and such, a 3450 can be picked up usually around $20 (I bought them for that on Newegg before) which will handle general desktop usage and video acceleration very well.

Not sure about stream encoding though, last I looked there was not a good VGA accelerated video encoding app.

I BELIEVE that HTT will help in video encoding process for software (CPU) based encoders, so might want to looking to getting an i7 for p55. If video encoding is the primary focus of your rig.
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
That is an ANCIENT card. I dont think its going to like W7 at all. Im sure it will turn down all the goodies it has to offer. Just get a cheap 8600gt or something like that for a videocard, even though the other will work, just without all the bells and whistles.

I would also second the i7 860 (Which is still Socket 1156 so the mobo/ram is cheaper than s1366) The HT on that chip will blow through those MUCH faster than the the i5. Im certain your time is worth the cost.
Looks like you're right on the W7...no drivers available.

Guess that answers that.

__________________
-AMDGuy
Guess I need to change my username?
i5 750 @ 4.01Ghz (191 x 21 with EIST enabled)
1.32500 Vcore 1.15 Vtt
Gigabyte P55 UD3R
4GB OCZ Platinum 1333
AMDGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 02:20 PM   #9
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDGuy View Post
I use Sony Vegas 8 for the video editing/encoding. The OS on the new system will either be Windows 7 or Windows 7 64-bit.

My current system is an old AMD Opteron 170 setup and it takes ages to encode media. The video is also choppy in the preview screen, but I assumed that was because the CPUs couldn't keep up.

I'm trying to build a new system with good components, but not just throw money at it.

Here's what I've got in my cart thus far:

CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX TX 650W Power Supply Retail 1 $102.99
(2) WESTERN DIGITAL Caviar Green WD10EADS 1TB SATA II 7200 RPM 32MB Buffer Hard Drive Bulk 2 $89.99
EVGA 01G-P3-N958-LR GeForce 9500 GT 1GB GDDR2 PCI Express x16 (2.0v) Video Card Retail 1 $62.99
OCZ OCZ3P1333LV4GK 4GB PC3-10666 (DDR3-1333) Dual Channel Memory Retail 1 $99.99
INTEL BX80605I5750 I5 2.66 GHz Socket 1156 1MB Desktop Processor Retail 1 $204.99
GIGABYTE GA-P55-UD3R Intel P55 Core i5/i7 PC3-16000 (DDR3-2000) ATX Motherboard Retail
Megahalem Rev 2B CPU Cooler

I was thinking of eliminating the graphics card if it's not really needed.
Honestly you'd be better of getting rid of the Megahalems and getting a nicer video card. Is switching to another program for your encoding an option?

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 02:31 PM   #10
GT3mich
Member

 
GT3mich's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Birmingham,Michigan

 
If you live near a Microcenter you can get a i7 860 for $229
http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0317378
In store only.

__________________
Intel Q9550 3.315 GHZ, Gigabyte P45-UD3P
4 gb OCZ Reaper DDR2 800, Sapphire 4870 1gb x2, 3DMark06 20513
Thermaltake TR2 RX 750w,
x2 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB, 1tb Hitachi drive
<- thats my computer there
GT3mich is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 02:45 PM Thread Starter   #11
AMDGuy
Member

 
AMDGuy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GT3mich View Post
If you live near a Microcenter you can get a i7 860 for $229
http://www.microcenter.com/single_pr...uct_id=0317378
In store only.
That's a great price! None near me though.

Anyone got suggestions for a decent video card other than what I listed? Price range is $50 - $60.

I'd like 2 DVI output capability to hook up 2 monitors.

Saw this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130395

__________________
-AMDGuy
Guess I need to change my username?
i5 750 @ 4.01Ghz (191 x 21 with EIST enabled)
1.32500 Vcore 1.15 Vtt
Gigabyte P55 UD3R
4GB OCZ Platinum 1333
AMDGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 02:46 PM   #12
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDGuy View Post
That's a great price! None near me though.

Anyone got suggestions for a decent video card other than what I listed? Price range is $50 - $60.

I'd like 2 DVI output capability to hook up 2 monitors.
Again, is switching from Vegas an option? What formats are you working with?

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 02:52 PM Thread Starter   #13
AMDGuy
Member

 
AMDGuy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratbuddy View Post
Again, is switching from Vegas an option? What formats are you working with?
I can use whatever, but I really like Vegas. It's fairly easy to work with and I get results I'm happy with.

I use a Panasonic HD camcorder that records in AVCHD format.

I then encode that to MPEG2 for most things, and sometimes to FLV for web.

I do intend to encode to BlueRay eventually to keep the HD format, as soon as BlueRay media comes down in price.

My current system is on it's last leg. I'm getting 3-4 lockups a day and I'm just trying to get it to last until Black Friday/Cyber Monday to get some good prices on new components.

__________________
-AMDGuy
Guess I need to change my username?
i5 750 @ 4.01Ghz (191 x 21 with EIST enabled)
1.32500 Vcore 1.15 Vtt
Gigabyte P55 UD3R
4GB OCZ Platinum 1333
AMDGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 02:54 PM   #14
madhatter256
Special Member ★

 
madhatter256's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: CFL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDGuy View Post
That's a great price! None near me though.

Anyone got suggestions for a decent video card other than what I listed? Price range is $50 - $60.

I'd like 2 DVI output capability to hook up 2 monitors.

Saw this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130395
Radeon 4670.
madhatter256 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 03:10 PM   #15
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDGuy View Post
I can use whatever, but I really like Vegas. It's fairly easy to work with and I get results I'm happy with.

I use a Panasonic HD camcorder that records in AVCHD format.

I then encode that to MPEG2 for most things, and sometimes to FLV for web.

I do intend to encode to BlueRay eventually to keep the HD format, as soon as BlueRay media comes down in price.

My current system is on it's last leg. I'm getting 3-4 lockups a day and I'm just trying to get it to last until Black Friday/Cyber Monday to get some good prices on new components.
I'd definitely look at ditching the Megahalems and using software that supports GPU encoding. AFAIK they all support AVCHD and it's way faster than using CPU

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 03:23 PM Thread Starter   #16
AMDGuy
Member

 
AMDGuy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ratbuddy View Post
I'd definitely look at ditching the Megahalems and using software that supports GPU encoding. AFAIK they all support AVCHD and it's way faster than using CPU
Interesting. Did some quick Googling and a lot of what I found said GPU encoding isn't ready for prime time. Crashes, bad quality, etc.

Think I'll stick with Vegas for now. It works great.

__________________
-AMDGuy
Guess I need to change my username?
i5 750 @ 4.01Ghz (191 x 21 with EIST enabled)
1.32500 Vcore 1.15 Vtt
Gigabyte P55 UD3R
4GB OCZ Platinum 1333
AMDGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 03:37 PM   #17
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDGuy View Post
Interesting. Did some quick Googling and a lot of what I found said GPU encoding isn't ready for prime time. Crashes, bad quality, etc.

Think I'll stick with Vegas for now. It works great.
If you're happy with it, great. I suspect some of those reviews might have been old, though. Even Badaboom has come a long way

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 03:46 PM Thread Starter   #18
AMDGuy
Member

 
AMDGuy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by madhatter256 View Post
Radeon 4670.
Checked this out as well, and don't see any Windows 7 drivers.

__________________
-AMDGuy
Guess I need to change my username?
i5 750 @ 4.01Ghz (191 x 21 with EIST enabled)
1.32500 Vcore 1.15 Vtt
Gigabyte P55 UD3R
4GB OCZ Platinum 1333
AMDGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 03:48 PM   #19
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDGuy View Post
Checked this out as well, and don't see any Windows 7 drivers.
http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx

Definitely works on W7.

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-24-09, 03:49 PM   #20
EarthDog
Super Mutterator
Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
They are there bro...

"4600 series"

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?