• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Tubes behind motherboard tray of Corsair Obsidian

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ti133700N

Registered
Hi,
I'm new to the water cooling world but I have built many "air cooled" computers in the past. I've been planning for a while how I would install and route the tubes in my Corsair Obsidian case however I'm not quite sure yet... From the pictures I've seen from various water cooling builds, the tubes are always visible. For cosmetic purpose, I would prefer to pass the tubes in the grommeted holes and make them go through the back of the motherboard tray, in the "vent exit area" of the case.

I've measured the clearance in this space and it looks like it's about 25mm wide, so 1/2 hoses should in theory fit in there. I was thinking that using 90 degree or 2 45 degree fittings (like these http://www.watercoolinguk.co.uk/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=39_53&products_id=2066) would be pretty safe. But since I've never seen someone actually do that, I'm wondering if it is a bad idea. Would it affect the flow rate that much ? Is is too risky for some reasons ? What do you think ?

Thank you !

Welcome!

use 3/8" ID tubing if you want to do that, you still get good flow with it. otherwise check out 7/16" ID tubing for the best of both worlds (3/8 and 1/2)

what are the specs of the loop you want to build?

if it's a good pump you will be fine with a few 90's or 45's.

Thank you very much for the quick reply !

I'll try to give as much information as I can since you might have other suggestions for my overall build. So here are the computer parts I have:

Cpu: i7 920 D0
Motherboard: EVGA Classified
Memory: 3x2GB Dominator GT 1600
Hard Drives (Backup): 2x1.5TB Caviar Green In RAID1
Hard Drives (Win7 + Games): 2x120GB Vertex Turbo in RAID0
PSU: Corsair 1000W