Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Enough power?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-27-09, 03:15 PM Thread Starter   #1
FlakMonkey
Member

 
FlakMonkey's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Milwaukee

 
Enough power?


Hey all, I'm gonna be purchasing a couple upgrades in the near future and want to be sure my PSU will be able to handle the added power. Here is my hypothetical setup:

Asus P5B-E
Intel Q9400
VisionTek HD 4890
2GB OCZ RAM
3 x 7200rpm HDDs
1 x DVD-RW
Creative Audigy

running on this Corsair 450W

The HD4890 lists a 500W as a requirement but I've also read that my PSU can handle more. Assume no OC. Thanks in advance for any advice.

__________________
ASUS P5B-E P965
Intel e8400
G.Skill 2GB + OCZ Platinum 2GB
Western Digital 640GB + Seagate 300GB + 300GB + 200GB
XFX GTS 250
Corsair 450W
Lite-On DVD/RW
Creative SB0570 Audigy SE
Lian Li PC-7B Plus II
Mitsubishi D930SB 1600x1200
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
FlakMonkey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-27-09, 04:53 PM   #2
RollingThunder
Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins
Premium Member #12

 
RollingThunder's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlakMonkey View Post
Hey all, I'm gonna be purchasing a couple upgrades in the near future and want to be sure my PSU will be able to handle the added power. Here is my hypothetical setup:

Asus P5B-E
Intel Q9400
VisionTek HD 4890
2GB OCZ RAM
3 x 7200rpm HDDs
1 x DVD-RW
Creative Audigy

running on this Corsair 450W

The HD4890 lists a 500W as a requirement but I've also read that my PSU can handle more. Assume no OC. Thanks in advance for any advice.
Flak,

You're really pushing it at a full load at stock. That Corsair only has 1 6 - pin connector, you need two for that 4890.

__________________
Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2209WA
2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
Vista 64.............................XP Pro
Experience teaches only the teachable.
RollingThunder is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-27-09, 05:04 PM   #3
ratbuddy
Member

 
ratbuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hartford, CT

 
Running the system in my sig, stock clocks on both CPU and GPU, also with 3 hard drives and 1 optical, it's sucking down (roughly) 304 watts from the PSU, 380 at the wall as per a Kill-A-Watt. That's while running Prime95 and Furmark at the same time.

During real gaming use, even on UE3 stuff which is a power hog, the Kill-A-Watt only reads 290-300 watts, which assuming 80% efficiency, translates to 240 watts or so.

Your video card is a tad less thirsty, and the CPU maybe a bit more, so I'd say that PSU is well within its capability to run that system during normal use. The PSU will probably be running at about 60-70% of its rated capacity which is just fine, and not overspeccing the PSU means that during idle times, it'll be running that much closer to the sweet spot of the efficiency curve.

__________________
HTPC - 2500k - 212+ - GA-Z68MX-UD2H-B3 - 2x4GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 - Vertex 2 90GB, Spinpoint F3 1TB w/M4 64GB ISRT Cache - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone LC10B-E - Corsair RM550

-----
Main - X3 450 - ASRock A790GMH/128M 790GX - 2x2GB G.Skill 4-4-4-12 - 2xWD Green 1TB - Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB - Silverstone TJ08 - Corsair CX400W

Nothin' up my sleeve..
ratbuddy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-27-09, 05:43 PM Thread Starter   #4
FlakMonkey
Member

 
FlakMonkey's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Milwaukee

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RollingThunder View Post
Flak,

You're really pushing it at a full load at stock. That Corsair only has 1 6 - pin connector, you need two for that 4890.
Ah thanks for pointing out the 6-pin bit, I completely forgot to check that. An adapter like this or this would work, right? Really trying to avoid a new PSU.

When you say pushing it, does that mean it will work as long as I don't touch anything and leave it all at stock? Or do I not want it to get close to the 450W even at 100% load on the CPU and GPU. Pardon my lack of knowledge in this area :].

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratbuddy View Post
Running the system in my sig, stock clocks on both CPU and GPU, also with 3 hard drives and 1 optical, it's sucking down (roughly) 304 watts from the PSU, 380 at the wall as per a Kill-A-Watt. That's while running Prime95 and Furmark at the same time.

During real gaming use, even on UE3 stuff which is a power hog, the Kill-A-Watt only reads 290-300 watts, which assuming 80% efficiency, translates to 240 watts or so.

Your video card is a tad less thirsty, and the CPU maybe a bit more, so I'd say that PSU is well within its capability to run that system during normal use. The PSU will probably be running at about 60-70% of its rated capacity which is just fine, and not overspeccing the PSU means that during idle times, it'll be running that much closer to the sweet spot of the efficiency curve.
Thanks a lot for this, really good insight. Would I be safe with a 450W then? I'm not sure what sort of headroom I should be leaving.

EDIT: Thanks for your help guys, I decided to go another route to assure my PSU will run then while also saving some money.

__________________
ASUS P5B-E P965
Intel e8400
G.Skill 2GB + OCZ Platinum 2GB
Western Digital 640GB + Seagate 300GB + 300GB + 200GB
XFX GTS 250
Corsair 450W
Lite-On DVD/RW
Creative SB0570 Audigy SE
Lian Li PC-7B Plus II
Mitsubishi D930SB 1600x1200
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Last edited by FlakMonkey; 11-28-09 at 04:16 AM.
FlakMonkey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-30-09, 02:42 AM   #5
Blazing fire
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
If your PSU is a single rail, then the 4pin-molex to 6pin PCI-E adaptor will work. This is because some multi rail PSUs give little amps to the 4-pin wires. I believe the Corsair 450VX is a single rail, so it should be fine.

Blazing fire is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?