Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

VP6 Questions

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-31-02, 02:02 AM Thread Starter   #1
Ebola
Senior Toilet Scrubber

 
Ebola's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Rosemount, MN

10 Year Badge
 
VP6 Questions


I just got my board hooked up. (4 in one1s etc) anything i should know about the board.

my cpu temps seem to be high and i'm wondering if its the in socket thermometers or if its my chips. I have glaciator II's on both of my chips with artic silver. thing is these are the really new p3's that intel put IHS's on. one is at 32 and the other is at 35. seems high for glaciators and they should be sitting pretty flat with the heat spreaders on.

__________________
[Cythraul Design]
Ebola is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 01-31-02, 03:52 AM   #2
ol' man
Member

 
ol' man's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001

 
Re: VP6 Questions


Quote:
Originally posted by Ebola
I just got my board hooked up. (4 in one1s etc) anything i should know about the board.

my cpu temps seem to be high and i'm wondering if its the in socket thermometers or if its my chips. I have glaciator II's on both of my chips with artic silver. thing is these are the really new p3's that intel put IHS's on. one is at 32 and the other is at 35. seems high for glaciators and they should be sitting pretty flat with the heat spreaders on.
You never know how good intel got the IHS touching the core with these chips. That is why I always remove them. That is probably where you see the extra temp increase.
ol' man is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-31-02, 10:04 AM   #3
arch5
Member

 
arch5's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tulsa Oklahoma

10 Year Badge
 
VP6 Temps


I have the VP6 and although it is currently running on a Water Cooled setup now, I had Two Alpha PEP66s with the Deltas not too long ago.

You didn't tell me what your ambient temp or case temp is so that may also be a big factor in the temps you're seeing.

I have two P3 700s @ 1.0Ghz
I also have a modded Chenbro Net Server Case which helps case temps.

My Case Temps were and still are around 25C (MBM5)
My CPU Temps were and still are around 26 and 27 Idle
and at full load (Sandra Burn-in) for hours my max temps are around 33C.

Granted, I do not have the heat spreader that Intel put on your processors
but I am still using the thermal grease that came with my Alphas.

So, you should probably focus on Case airflow first if you have'nt already and then try re-seating your heat sinks. If that doesn't work, take a look at your fans. The Deltas I was using were great but I liked the noise so much that I have gone watercooled! I would try all that first before prying off the heat spreader. I know Ol'man has done it successfully several times but that would be my last option. I just don't have the money if I should happen to slip, or the ground shakes, or my son bumps me, or ........

Anyway, hope that helps
arch5 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-31-02, 10:28 AM   #4
arch5
Member

 
arch5's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tulsa Oklahoma

10 Year Badge
 
VP6 Temps


I just realized that you are a senior member,

Which means you are most likely very aware of all the factors of Overclocking and the variables involved. I hope no offense was taken, no offense was meant.

My VP6 actually has a problem with it, and since it was the motherboard used in the first computer I ever built it took me about a year to troubleshoot everything possible in my system to come to that conclusion. I have since become a variable expert on the VP6 but unfortunately mine does not work like it should all the time.

You will notice that your CPU temps will be different.
CPU 2(the one on top) will usually be about 1-2 DegreesC below
CPU1.

Also, this may just be Alpha specific but my temps were also a few degrees lower when the fans blew down onto the processors. That also forced air over the Northbridge.

Go check out VP6-Board.com and also go to highpoint-tech.com for the latest bios/drivers/Raid administrator.

Hope that helps some more.
arch5 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-31-02, 11:10 AM Thread Starter   #5
Ebola
Senior Toilet Scrubber

 
Ebola's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Rosemount, MN

10 Year Badge
 
Whats weird is I have Glaciators and artic silver on the chips and my temps are still high. I'm in fargo ND so ambient temps are pretty low.

right now sandra shows me at 35 for cpu1 and 37 for cpu 2.

I think I'm going to try reseating the glaciators.

I have 4 80mm case fans so airflow is not a problem.

__________________
[Cythraul Design]
Ebola is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-31-02, 01:14 PM Thread Starter   #6
Ebola
Senior Toilet Scrubber

 
Ebola's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Rosemount, MN

10 Year Badge
 
the hs's seem to be tight on the processors and i tried running the machine on its side to see if the glaciators weighed too much but i got the same results.

__________________
[Cythraul Design]
Ebola is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-03-02, 07:47 PM   #7
DS
Registered

 
DS's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: TX

 
Your's is running cooler than mine is.It runs at 42 & 44 C @ 100 % load. Been like this for about 6 months.
DS is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?