Notices

Overclockers Forums > Discussions > Forum Feedback
Forum Feedback Likes and Gripes about the Forums. No Post Count.
Forum Jump

Columns in a sig?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-18-09, 09:36 PM Thread Starter   #1
DarkWhite

 
DarkWhite's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Great North

 
Columns in a sig?


Not entirely sure about how I should be going about this, but I'd like t set up two columns in my sig, for two entirely different sets of information. Just simply doing by manually spacing things wouldn't work because the two areas of text need to be entirely independent of each other. I've tried doing a table, but was tols my sig is too long, so couldn't see if it would even work in the first place. Also, any mods feel free to move this if needed, but it seemed the only appropraite place for one needing tech support on the forums.

__________________
P2 965 (@3.8GHz and counting)
Asus M4A79T Deluxe
XFX Radeon HD 4850
OC Z Gold DDR3 1600 RAM
Razer AC-1 Gaming Audio
M-Audio Delta1010LT Audio
WD Caviar Black 500GB HDD
Xoxide's X-Clear Acrylic Case

Gamertag: Steel Drum Hero
OCF Music #33
And folding, of course
DarkWhite is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-19-09, 02:33 AM   #2
redduc900
Super Moderator
First Responders

 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
Do you mean like this?...

P2 965 (@3.8GHz and counting).........Razer AC-1 Gaming Audio
Asus M4A79T Deluxe...........................M-Audio Delta1010LT Audio
XFX Radeon HD 4850..........................OC Z Gold DDR3 1600 RAM
WD Caviar Black 320GB HDD...............Xoxide's X-Clear Acrylic Case


Last edited by redduc900; 12-19-09 at 02:39 AM.
redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-19-09, 08:11 AM Thread Starter   #3
DarkWhite

 
DarkWhite's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Great North

 
Yes, except I'd be having system specs at one size on the left, and an entirely different block of text, including different size, on the right.
As I said in the above post, they need to be completely independent of each other.

__________________
P2 965 (@3.8GHz and counting)
Asus M4A79T Deluxe
XFX Radeon HD 4850
OC Z Gold DDR3 1600 RAM
Razer AC-1 Gaming Audio
M-Audio Delta1010LT Audio
WD Caviar Black 500GB HDD
Xoxide's X-Clear Acrylic Case

Gamertag: Steel Drum Hero
OCF Music #33
And folding, of course
DarkWhite is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-19-09, 08:44 AM   #4
tinymouse2
Member

 
tinymouse2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Surrey, England

 
As you can see here, you can change colour for text on the same line, font and size as shown ^

Is that what your asking? how to do?

__________________
Sound setup:
Amp: Cambridge Audio Azur 340A SE
Speakers: Wharfedale 10.2's
Sound Card: Asus D2X


Computer:
q9550 @ 3.8GHz
GTX460 @ stock
tinymouse2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-19-09, 08:52 AM Thread Starter   #5
DarkWhite

 
DarkWhite's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Great North

 
no, because if I have two different sizes of text, they are still connected and that's my problem.
Let me demonstrate

Line 1 of Specs.............Line 1 of other
Line 2 of specs.............Line 2 of other
Line 3 of specs.............Line 3 of other
Line 4 of specs.............Line 4 of other
Line 5 of specs.............Line 5 of other
Line 6 of specs.............Line 6 of other
Line 7 of specs.............Line 7 of other

As you can see, each linel ines up, Line 1 is always attached to line 1, and line 2 is attached to line 2. I want it so that the lines don't have to be attached, so I could have 5 lines of 3-point text next to 10 lines of 1-point text, while they take the same amount of space

__________________
P2 965 (@3.8GHz and counting)
Asus M4A79T Deluxe
XFX Radeon HD 4850
OC Z Gold DDR3 1600 RAM
Razer AC-1 Gaming Audio
M-Audio Delta1010LT Audio
WD Caviar Black 500GB HDD
Xoxide's X-Clear Acrylic Case

Gamertag: Steel Drum Hero
OCF Music #33
And folding, of course
DarkWhite is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-19-09, 01:15 PM   #6
Wicked Klown
Hard Ass Southern Boy Senior

 
Wicked Klown's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sheboygan, Wisconsin

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkWhite View Post
so I could have 5 lines of 3-point text next to 10 lines of 1-point text, while they take the same amount of space
[/SIZE][/SIZE][/SIZE][/SIZE]

Just one small problem with having 15 lines of text. The forum rules only allow 12 lines. Just having 5 lines of size 3 would put you over the limit. Size 3 counts as 1.5 lines.


Aslo just do it like
Line 1
Line 1
Line 2
Line 2
Line 3
Line 3

__________________
Media Server | Norco RPC-470 | GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 | Phenom II X4 925 Deneb | 8gigs G.SKILL Ripjaws PC3 10666 | 64gig Crucial M4 | x2 2TB Samsung F3 | x2 1TB Samsung F1 | x1 2TB Samsung F4 | 500gigs Seagate 7200.10 | Sapphire HD4830 HDMI | Corsair 650hx

HEAT

"Never surrender. You're too much of a hardass to die on everyone." - Voodoo Rufus
Wicked Klown is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-19-09, 02:13 PM   #7
Enablingwolf
Senior Member overclocking at the speed of plaid

 
Enablingwolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Strongsville

10 Year Badge
 
Would justifying the text work?

We have three justy tags that work in the sigs. [left] [center] and [right].

In theory, it would give you three columns. All you would have to do is wrap each spec in it's own jusitfy tag.







P2 965 (@3.8GHz and counting)
Razer AC-1 Gaming Audio
Asus M4A79T Deluxe
M-Audio Delta1010LT Audio
XFX Radeon HD 4850
OC Z Gold DDR3 1600 RAM
WD Caviar Black 320GB HDD
Xoxide's X-Clear Acrylic Case

__________________


No one ever expects Aloysius Snuffleupagus








Last edited by Enablingwolf; 12-19-09 at 02:34 PM.
Enablingwolf is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-19-09, 07:00 PM Thread Starter   #8
DarkWhite

 
DarkWhite's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Great North

 
Again, it would only work if the text was the same number of lines.

__________________
P2 965 (@3.8GHz and counting)
Asus M4A79T Deluxe
XFX Radeon HD 4850
OC Z Gold DDR3 1600 RAM
Razer AC-1 Gaming Audio
M-Audio Delta1010LT Audio
WD Caviar Black 500GB HDD
Xoxide's X-Clear Acrylic Case

Gamertag: Steel Drum Hero
OCF Music #33
And folding, of course
DarkWhite is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-19-09, 09:06 PM   #9
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Not possible to do elegantly, BBcode doesn't support it.

It would require html to arrange them independently. HTML is not enabled, and can't be enabled for technical reasons.

If you browse the forums, you can see examples of how other members work around this. Basically, you use characters to space items, which you can make invisible if you don't want them to appear. In your example, the periods used for spacing could be made invisible so they don't appear to be attached - just use the color code which matches the forum background.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-20-09, 09:08 AM Thread Starter   #10
DarkWhite

 
DarkWhite's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Great North

 
dang, I guess I'm staying as is...........
also, just a side note to IMOG, now that there are multiple skins, would that not mean that the dots can't be completely invisible?

__________________
P2 965 (@3.8GHz and counting)
Asus M4A79T Deluxe
XFX Radeon HD 4850
OC Z Gold DDR3 1600 RAM
Razer AC-1 Gaming Audio
M-Audio Delta1010LT Audio
WD Caviar Black 500GB HDD
Xoxide's X-Clear Acrylic Case

Gamertag: Steel Drum Hero
OCF Music #33
And folding, of course
DarkWhite is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-20-09, 10:15 AM   #11
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Correct, anyone who uses the light skin is going to deal with a lot of problems with color. Related to sigs, as well as with posts. Possibly also with usernames, unless the CSS has accounted for that. I haven't spent much time trying it out, but maybe the skin designer accounted for usernames.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-20-09, 04:56 PM   #12
Enablingwolf
Senior Member overclocking at the speed of plaid

 
Enablingwolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Strongsville

10 Year Badge
 
An option in sig design... Not using the technicals of it. Make a faux table. Hightlight the colors and point to the fact your trying for order. You would have to be very crafty. IMO crafty sigs simply just rule.

I hold to 5 points describe a machine well.

_____________________________
CPU
........DPU........EPU
RAM.......STU.........TTU
GPU.......HPU.........IPU
MB..........NB............OB
OS.ver...OSver.......OSver
_____________________________

The limits are not to make life harder or screw with us. It is a security thing. Which I agree with and understand. All or none for HTML. It would take a pretty heavy mod and some special stuff to make it otherwise.

Just be creative on the limits. I got used to making pages for IE6/IW7 special... I might be jaded, but I just keep in mind, sometimes things are what they are. Then - I work with what I got.

All I can say is.... Embrace the limits and show upper hand creativity. I do understand your side though and wish there was not jerks who took advantage of HTML and made it not work on most BBS sites. Be it as it may We work with what we have.

__________________


No one ever expects Aloysius Snuffleupagus







Enablingwolf is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-23-09, 08:12 AM   #13
mbentley
Gloriously Lead
Overclockix Chief Architect
In stealth mode

 
mbentley's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN

10 Year Badge
 
without support for tables (which is not included in vbulletin by default), what you are looking to do isn't possible as others mentioned. there are vbulletin code additions that can be added to add tables to a vbulletin, but i highly doubt that they will be added to ocforums. the code formatting isn't very simple for your typical user to format. (example of tables in vbulletin)

__________________
intel i5-750 -- msi p55-gd65 -- 4 x 4gb ddr3 1600 -- msi gtx550 ti cyclone oc 1gb -- antec p182 -- ocz fatal1ty 750w -- windows 8.1 x64
intel i5-3330 -- msi z77a-gd65 -- 4 x 8gb ddr3 1600 -- intel hd graphics 2500 -- fractal design define r4 black -- debian wheezy amd64

forum rules | overclockix | overclockers geforce survey | mbentley.net
mbentley is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Discussions > Forum Feedback
Forum Feedback Likes and Gripes about the Forums. No Post Count.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?