Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Poor 4870 Cross Fire Performance

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-28-09, 01:40 PM Thread Starter   #1
Lavacon
Member

 
Lavacon's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lost in NH

 
Red face Poor 4870 Cross Fire Performance


I know this is a beaten topic, but, I figured it doesn't hurt to ask for some opinions :-)

The system I am running is in my Sig.

I am comparing my results to the $700 pc shown recently on THG
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...PC,2509-9.html

Using the same benchmark settings on Far Cry 2 for Instance, I am hitting 42fps avg with my cards OC'd to 800/1100. Single Card performance is around 36 FPS on the same benchmark.(Ultra High Quality, 4x AA 1680*1050)
This puts me 9fps under the lesser system used in their guide.

Really? A gain of 6 fps using 2 cards?

All drivers are up to date and installed clean.
PCI-E is locked at 100 in bios.
My overclock is solid and my components are for the most part better.

What gives?????

PS: Running W7 Ultimate

__________________
Heat

Go Pats!
Lavacon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-28-09, 01:48 PM   #2
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Welcome to the wonderful world of SLI/Crossfire... 1 great GPU over 2 lesser GPUs anyday.

On a more serious note. Im not sure why you would be seeing those results. I figured it would scale better than that...

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-28-09, 01:53 PM   #3
Xtreme Barton
Member

 
Xtreme Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Omaha,NE

 
have you tried swapping cards and benching them both as singles ?
Xtreme Barton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-28-09, 02:07 PM Thread Starter   #4
Lavacon
Member

 
Lavacon's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lost in NH

 
Yup, 36fps single card vs 41-42 Xfire.

I would have bought a 5XXX series had I not already had a 4870. It made more sense at the time to pick up another 4870 for $125 and go for Xfire until Ati & Nvidia goto war in the spring.

__________________
Heat

Go Pats!
Lavacon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-28-09, 02:12 PM Thread Starter   #5
Lavacon
Member

 
Lavacon's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lost in NH

 
PS:

Earthdog.... I want your case....Now LOL

__________________
Heat

Go Pats!
Lavacon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-28-09, 02:50 PM   #6
Xtreme Barton
Member

 
Xtreme Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Omaha,NE

 
what brand are your ati's ?? the specs ..memory size, etc.. maybe a new flash is available
Xtreme Barton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-28-09, 02:58 PM Thread Starter   #7
Lavacon
Member

 
Lavacon's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lost in NH

 
1 is a Sapphire 512 and the other is a Diamond 512. All bios listed on techpowerup are from 2008. I suppose having 2 different cards could be a problem, but, being reference models, I don't see where the problem could be. Both are 750/900 @ stock

__________________
Heat

Go Pats!
Lavacon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-28-09, 02:59 PM   #8
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
2 models should NOT be the cause of this issue. Even if they were clocked differently, I believe in Crossfire it just takes the lower cards' clocks for both.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-28-09, 03:03 PM Thread Starter   #9
Lavacon
Member

 
Lavacon's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lost in NH

 
From what I understand, the lower clock is taken.

Mr Dog... what do you think about adjusting the PCE-E frequency in the bios? I am locked in at 100 as that is the rule of thumb. I have heard mixed things about adjusting this.

__________________
Heat

Go Pats!
Lavacon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-28-09, 03:05 PM   #10
Xtreme Barton
Member

 
Xtreme Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Omaha,NE

 
i agree that two different brand cards shouldn't be the issue i was just curious to see i could find a match for a new flash ..

another curiosity is what are you temps at under load ? no stutters ?
Xtreme Barton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-28-09, 03:05 PM   #11
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
It does take the lower clock...

You can try raisining it. 105-110 that may help a bit. But I dont believe this is the issue either as I dont believe they raised their PCIe frequency in the benches you listed.

WEre you running the same drivers as the bench?
Have you tried different drivers?

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-28-09, 03:10 PM Thread Starter   #12
Lavacon
Member

 
Lavacon's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lost in NH

 
I ran the same drivers as the benches and even ran a newer version to see if it made a difference. Clean install and uninstalls of said drivers.

I keep my fans running at 50% while gaming @ stock, 70% when OC'd I like my temps under 60 degrees. The 4870 runs HOT. if I leave it up to ATI to control the fans, the cards idle around 67 degrees.

__________________
Heat

Go Pats!
Lavacon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-28-09, 03:12 PM   #13
Xtreme Barton
Member

 
Xtreme Barton's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Omaha,NE

 
there is one up for i think it said august of 2009 for the saphire which can be used on you diamond as well .. what version do you have on the two ??
Xtreme Barton is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-28-09, 03:17 PM Thread Starter   #14
Lavacon
Member

 
Lavacon's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lost in NH

 
I can check sku's when I get away from the office :-)

__________________
Heat

Go Pats!
Lavacon is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?