Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

1 or 2 loops?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-30-09, 04:29 AM Thread Starter   #1
Haggenator
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2009

 
1 or 2 loops?


I currently have this setup.

Loop:
4x120 rad -> pump -> cpu -> 2x80 rad -> GPU

Would it be beneficial to add a separate loop? For the cpu and gpu. Can the 2x80 rad handle the gpu. I would rather get better temps for my cpu than gpu. Would adding a second loop help the temps of my cpu?

Thanks for the help. Let me know if you need any other information.
Haggenator is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-30-09, 05:10 AM   #2
xrodney
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Czech Republic

 
Unless you have some crazy OC on I7 and running CF/SLI I dont think its needed to separate loops. What are your temperatures ?

__________________

Case: Lian Li PC-343B
CPU: Core2 Quad q6600 (HK3, Laing DDC+XSPC top, XSPC RX360, AC Ryan Blackfire4)
GPU: Powercolor HD5870 (AquagratiX, Laing DDC+XSPC top, XSPC RX360, AC Ryan Blackfire4)
Ram: Corsair Dominator (4x2GB) 1600MHz DDR2
Mobo: Asus P5E WS Professional(x38)
PSU: Enermax Modu 625w
HDD: Patriot Torqx 128GB SSD dedicated to OS, 5.6TB HDD storage
LCD: Dell 30" Ultrasharp 3008WFP
Sound: SB Xi-fi, Onkyo SR806, 2xB&W 683 stereo
xrodney is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-30-09, 08:15 AM   #3
ArchEnemy
Registered

 
ArchEnemy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006

 
Don't use 80 rads, those are really horrible in performance, even a single 120mm is beter then both 80mm.
ArchEnemy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-30-09, 08:53 AM   #4
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
Be nice to know what your cooling, etc, your setup first before we can say much.

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-30-09, 01:34 PM   #5
Spawn-Inc

 
Spawn-Inc's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
^^^ indeed it would.

for your average computer it sounds more then enough.

__________________
CPU: Q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (4.2GHz max) / 4790k 4.8ghz @1.265v
GPU: 9800GTX /GTX780 hydrocopper
Ram: Samsung 4GB /gskill 16gb DDR3 1600
Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32) /AsRock Extreme6
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt /EVGA 850 G2
HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, Samsung evo 840 250GB
LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
Sound: Logtiech Z 5500
CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v
Spawn-Inc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 12-30-09, 02:27 PM Thread Starter   #6
Haggenator
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2009

 
okay I have a GTX 285 heavily overclocked and a core i7 860 heavy overclocked. Currently I am at 4.0ghz, 1.32vcore. with about 65-70C on load. Like I said dont care much about the gpu. I have fans in a push/pull setup and they are low speed yate loons. having the computer quiet is very important.
Haggenator is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-10, 12:05 AM Thread Starter   #7
Haggenator
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2009

 
Okay just wondering if anybody has anything to say?

Plus trying to bump up my thread
Haggenator is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-10, 12:13 AM   #8
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
Under load is something like prime 95 small ffts and Furmark load test at the same time for an hour? If so when you game etc your even lower than 65-70C so your fine. No app pushes as hard as those two for load tests.

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-02-10, 01:07 AM Thread Starter   #9
Haggenator
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2009

 
Ya your exactly right, that is about the maximum temps with prime95 small ftts.

But lets just say if I did do 2 loops. Im guessing it would help temps? How much though?
Haggenator is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?