Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Combining Two Memory Kits?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-10, 12:19 AM Thread Starter   #1
Brando753
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2010

 
Combining Two Memory Kits?


I was wondering if i can combine two of these memory kits http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145260 with this motherboard http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128397 with out issue? or do I have to purchase a 8gb Memory kit for almost $200 more . Also I would like to know if someone could explain multi-Channel-Kits for memory. can a Quad Channel Kit work with a Dual Channel Motherboard.

Thanks Guys
Brando753 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-10, 07:16 AM   #2
Nebulous
Seņor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
The answer is:

A) Yes -
Memory Standard -DDR3 1800(OC) / 16XX / 1333 / 1066
Maximum Memory Supported -16GB

B) Yes
Quad channel kits of ram are 4 sticks of ram that are Matched.

This would be somewhat better as all 4 sticks are designed to run together without issues as opposed to 2 dual kits.

Be advised tho that when all ram slots are populated with ram, it will be more difficult to overclock as it will put more strain on the ram controller of the chip & NB on the board.

Good luck on the build

__________________

<MEGA-O>
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H /De-Lid i5 3570K@ 4.5Ghz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR
XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Diamond 7870PE52GDD Ghz Edition HD 7870+H80
Sony AD-7220S / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win7 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-10, 08:10 AM   #3
sweefu
Member

 
sweefu's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia

 
sorry to hijack thread, just wondering what will happen if you mix 2 diff. brands of memory kit?
eg a kingston and a corsair?
If they were both ddrs 1066? (not planning to, just always been curious)

Thanks.

__________________
CPU - AMD Phenom II 550BEMobo - J&W Technologies 790gx-Extreme
Ram - Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 (2x2GB)
HDD - Segate 320GB (O/S) Segate 1TB (Storage)
Video - Sapphire HD5770 Overclocked Edition
Case - Thermaltake M9
Cooling - 6x120mm fans & Xigmatek Thor's Hammer
PSU - Stock 430w that came with case
sweefu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-10, 08:18 AM   #4
Nebulous
Seņor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweefu View Post
sorry to hijack thread, just wondering what will happen if you mix 2 diff. brands of memory kit?
eg a kingston and a corsair?
If they were both ddrs 1066? (not planning to, just always been curious)

Thanks.
As long as both sets have the same timings/voltages then it should work normally.

Usually some brands ie: Corsair/OCZ/Patriot, do not play well together even if they do have the same timings/voltages.

It's a hit or a miss. Only way to find out is to try it.

__________________

<MEGA-O>
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H /De-Lid i5 3570K@ 4.5Ghz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR
XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Diamond 7870PE52GDD Ghz Edition HD 7870+H80
Sony AD-7220S / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win7 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-10, 08:51 AM Thread Starter   #5
Brando753
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nebulous View Post
The answer is:

A) Yes -
Memory Standard -DDR3 1800(OC) / 16XX / 1333 / 1066
Maximum Memory Supported -16GB

B) Yes
Quad channel kits of ram are 4 sticks of ram that are Matched.

This would be somewhat better as all 4 sticks are designed to run together without issues as opposed to 2 dual kits.


Good luck on the build
So would I run into any issues combining the two kits? as you said these memory sticks are dual channel. So will they not work well with two kits?

So again looking between these Two Kits :/

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145260 (Combining Two of These

or just getting One of These....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145262

Would I be suffering Performance Loss if I combine the Two Kits?

Would Love to be able to save the extra $$$
Also Thanks So Much for Explaning the Multi Channel part
Brando753 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-10, 09:49 AM   #6
RollingThunder
Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins
Premium Member #12

 
RollingThunder's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brando753 View Post
So would I run into any issues combining the two kits? as you said these memory sticks are dual channel. So will they not work well with two kits?

So again looking between these Two Kits :/

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145260 (Combining Two of These

or just getting One of These....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145262

Would I be suffering Performance Loss if I combine the Two Kits?

Would Love to be able to save the extra $$$
Also Thanks So Much for Explaning the Multi Channel part
Brando,

An excellent explanation from Nebulous.

There is really little need for more that 4 GB of RAM unless you are into specialized computing such as Autocad or heavy graphics editing professionally. For real world computing and even games, you probably won't see the difference with 4 Gb vs. 8 GB. If you still want to buy the exta RAM, your solution is the best: Same brand, same model, same size but 4 sticks certainly won't help your overclocking if you plan to do so.

__________________
Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2007 1600x1200
2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
Vista 64.............................XP Pro
Experience teaches only the teachable.
RollingThunder is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-10, 12:42 PM   #7
Nebulous
Seņor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
RT hit it on the head as usual

__________________

<MEGA-O>
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H /De-Lid i5 3570K@ 4.5Ghz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR
XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Diamond 7870PE52GDD Ghz Edition HD 7870+H80
Sony AD-7220S / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win7 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-13-10, 11:43 PM   #8
PeterGarcia30
Member

 
PeterGarcia30's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bronx,Ny

 
hmm I learned something new tonight never knew having all the ram slots full could hinder your overclock makes me want to take out 2 sticks and give it another go... ill prob try that out this weekend ill see if i make some gains
PeterGarcia30 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?