• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

720BE Unlocked

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jaydickp

Hi good day to all!

I'm new to overclocking but already set my 720be 4th core unlocked and I just raised the multiplier 200x18 for 3.6
I already ran it for 12hours utilizing prime95 without errors
Ram was set at 1600mhz at 9-9-9-32
Did not set any particular voltages for ram, nb, cpu

System specs:
Air cooling - Megahalems Megashadow Push/Pull Scythe
Temps at 3.6Ghz Idle: 29C Max: 40C

ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO (updated to latest bios 0512ver)
4x2GB G.Skill rated at 2000mhz
IGP
2x640GB WD Caviar Black (Raid 0)
HX620 Corsair

Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

BTW room temp is at 13C

Here's my CPUz: http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932850

The problem was when I have set the rams at 1600mhz with tighter timings 8-8-8-21. I failed prime95 after 5min.

Do I have to overclock my cpu more to 3.7 or 3.8 so that my rams would cope up with tighter timings or is this a problem having rams fully occupying

I have already tested rams using mem diagnostic test of windows7 and all was fine passing 2 tests

you are running pretty high for stock Voltages..start bumping those V's one at a time.

this is gonna take a little while, you need to hit your CPU NB and your CPU V up .025 at a time and give it a try.

:welcome: to overclockers forums!

Anyways... that's a very nice OC from 2.8ghz to 3.6ghz and with an unlocked core! You must be extremely lucky to have been able to do that. From what a lot of people say about the 720BE is that it OC's very well on stock voltage (1.3v) up to 3.5ghz, and a lot of people get to 3.7ghz - 3.8ghz. If I were you I'd read Dolk's PhenomII guide, it'll have all that answers you need!

Dolk's guide: here