Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

can my PSU handle this?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-11-10, 09:55 PM Thread Starter   #1
calaveraOC
Registered

 
calaveraOC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Socal, USA

 
can my PSU handle this?


so this is my setup so far:

Q6600(G0)@3.0Ghz
1x 5850
1x SSD (Intel X-25M G2)
6x HDD's (WD black's)
1x DVD (never use it :P)
~7 USB devices (including mouse,keyboard)

PSU : Corsair HX620

So far its no problem but what if I want to add another 5850 and xfire?
can my psu handle it?
I tried the online calculator and it comes out to 635W under load.
calaveraOC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-10, 10:04 PM   #2
Headstand
Member



Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Western Germany(misplaced Texan)

 
I may be off par here, but I would think you need like a 750-1000. With that many HDDs and 2 5850s??

After that, I went to Corairs PSUfinder and got minimum 850. I would just get the 1000 and call it a day.

__________________
HAF 932 with lots of fans
GA-P55A-UD6
i7 860
GTX460 768MB
GT240N 1GB
H50 push-pull
2 x 2GB G.SKILL Trident DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000)
60GB OCZ Agility
1 x WD 500 AAKS
2 x WD Caviar Black 1TB SATAIII - RAID1
4 x WD Caviar Green 1.5TB
HEAT
Headstand is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-10, 10:45 PM   #3
atomic ferret
Member

 
atomic ferret's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005

 
I think even if you added another 5850 you should be okay.

__________________

heat
TJ07-Ultra X4 1200W-E8400-Rampage Formula-4870-4gb G.skill-74gb Raptor-500gb Seagate-Windows 7

Apogee GTZ-XSPC Razor-DDC3.2 w/ XSPC top-PA120.3-MCR220-EK 250 res
atomic ferret is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-10, 11:48 PM Thread Starter   #4
calaveraOC
Registered

 
calaveraOC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Socal, USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by atomic ferret View Post
I think even if you added another 5850 you should be okay.
really? I dont know who to believe now :P
calaveraOC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-10, 03:42 AM   #5
Headstand
Member



Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Western Germany(misplaced Texan)

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by calaveraOC View Post
really? I dont know who to believe now :P
Me either. I usually go off Corsair's recommendation, that is why I got the 650 for when I go i7 920 with 1 GTX 2xx card. :dunno:

__________________
HAF 932 with lots of fans
GA-P55A-UD6
i7 860
GTX460 768MB
GT240N 1GB
H50 push-pull
2 x 2GB G.SKILL Trident DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000)
60GB OCZ Agility
1 x WD 500 AAKS
2 x WD Caviar Black 1TB SATAIII - RAID1
4 x WD Caviar Green 1.5TB
HEAT
Headstand is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-10, 07:19 AM   #6
atomic ferret
Member

 
atomic ferret's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005

 
According to a PSU calculator, even with crossfire you're only looking at 450W. Since I have faith that your Corsair unit will actually deliver 620W, you should be good to go.

__________________

heat
TJ07-Ultra X4 1200W-E8400-Rampage Formula-4870-4gb G.skill-74gb Raptor-500gb Seagate-Windows 7

Apogee GTZ-XSPC Razor-DDC3.2 w/ XSPC top-PA120.3-MCR220-EK 250 res
atomic ferret is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-10, 07:32 AM   #7
Lavacon
Member

 
Lavacon's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lost in NH

 
That's pushing it a bit close for comfort. On full load a pair of 5850's in CF draws around 550w(Total System Draw).

Be safe, protect your gear and have some peace of mind and get a bigger PSU.

__________________
Heat

Go Pats!

Last edited by Lavacon; 01-12-10 at 07:54 AM.
Lavacon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-10, 07:51 AM   #8
RollingThunder
Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins
Premium Member #12

 
RollingThunder's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by calaveraOC View Post
so this is my setup so far:

Q6600(G0)@3.0Ghz
1x 5850
1x SSD (Intel X-25M G2)
6x HDD's (WD black's)
1x DVD (never use it :P)
~7 USB devices (including mouse,keyboard)

PSU : Corsair HX620

So far its no problem but what if I want to add another 5850 and xfire?
can my psu handle it?
I tried the online calculator and it comes out to 635W under load.
Cal,

You're fine with a single 5850 (~150w full load), not even close, they use a little less power than a 4870. It will run crossfire with that card but it gets a little "sticky" only because you're running the power supply at a high percentage of capacity. So if and when you crossfire, I'd get something a little bigger.

Reference: http://www.guru3d.com/article/radeon...ew-crossfire/2

Personally I'm not a fan of SLI/Crossfire, the gain per dollar output just isn't worth it (to me) for a high-end vid card unless you're a benchmarking person.

One of our guys (Thideras) runs a server with 21 hard drives HX620 and single graphics card without a problem so you can take that as a good reference.

__________________
Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2007 1600x1200
2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
Vista 64.............................XP Pro
Experience teaches only the teachable.

Last edited by RollingThunder; 01-12-10 at 08:04 AM.
RollingThunder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-10, 08:06 AM   #9
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by calaveraOC View Post
really? I dont know who to believe now :P
Quote:
Originally Posted by RollingThunder View Post
Cal,

You're fine with a single 5850 (~150w full load), not even close, they use a little less power than a 4870. It will run crossfire with that card but it gets a little "sticky" only because you're running the power supply at a high percentage of capacity. So if and when you crossfire, I'd get something a little bigger.

Reference: http://www.guru3d.com/article/radeon...ew-crossfire/2

Personally I'm not a fan of SLI/Crossfire, the gain per dollar output just isn't worth it (to me) for a high-end vid card unless you're a benchmarking person.

One of our guys (Thideras) runs a server with 21 hard drives HX620 and single graphics card without a problem so you can take that as a good reference.
+1

That 620HX is one of hte best in its class. Even without that. One certainly wouldnt need a 850W or especially a 1kw PSU... seriously people!!! I also believe it would handle a quad and 5850's in Crossfire as well. And I agree with RT in that it would run a bit high to its rated capacity. So you may hear the fan spin up. But I believe it would handle it. Hell, it could handle two 7900gtx's/X1950xt's and a dual so I dont see why it wouldnt run two of something that uses less power. I could only imagine that under 100% stress on CPU and GPU that system will only draw 500W or so. THe HDD are nothing except on spinup. As far as the USB is concerned, thats not on the 12v rail, its on the 5vSB I believe. The 620HX has 3A which should handle 10-12 USB peripherals so you are good there as well. RT please correct me if I am mistaking.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

Last edited by EarthDog; 01-12-10 at 08:32 AM.
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-10, 08:54 AM   #10
RollingThunder
Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins
Premium Member #12

 
RollingThunder's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
+1

That 620HX is one of hte best in its class. Even without that. One certainly wouldnt need a 850W or especially a 1kw PSU... seriously people!!! I also believe it would handle a quad and 5850's in Crossfire as well. And I agree with RT in that it would run a bit high to its rated capacity. So you may hear the fan spin up. But I believe it would handle it. Hell, it could handle two 7900gtx's/X1950xt's and a dual so I dont see why it wouldnt run two of something that uses less power. I could only imagine that under 100% stress on CPU and GPU that system will only draw 500W or so. THe HDD are nothing except on spinup. As far as the USB is concerned, thats not on the 12v rail, its on the 5vSB I believe. The 620HX has 3A which should handle 10-12 USB peripherals so you are good there as well. RT please correct me if I am mistaking.
ED,

I'm not sure of the required output of USB devices, I use so few of them (wireless where I can) that I have never had the need to find out. It's not much per USB item.

Some but not all of the new high-end video cards are giving much more with lower power requirements today. The engineering is progressing along with the quality so in many instances SLI/Crossfire power requirements have not gone up. A quality power supply will also save you from yourself and that HX620 certainly is a good one.

Do you remember the long thread here by mcoleg?:

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=511180

Which proves the point about power requirements. I wouldn't do that in a daily "real world" setup but you could and it's still a valid "test" thread.

__________________
Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2007 1600x1200
2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
Vista 64.............................XP Pro
Experience teaches only the teachable.
RollingThunder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-10, 09:27 AM   #11
Lavacon
Member

 
Lavacon's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lost in NH

 
A pair of 5850 cards draw less than my 4870 cards :-(
2/3's less at idle....

__________________
Heat

Go Pats!
Lavacon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-10, 09:28 AM   #12
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
I read that USB thing somewhere. If I have time I can dig up the link. I recall like 7-9 USB perihperals at 2.5A on 5vSB and 10-12 or so with 3A on 5vSB...

That thread was before my time but is certainly valid here. People have been scared into thinking they need much more than they actually do. I see posts from people here (everywhere) like that all the time. Thing is, it cant HURT to have more, but I work very hard for my money and if I can save $30 on a lesser output PSU, or in this case $100 with people crazily suggesting a 1kw monster, I will certainly do it.

You and I have the same feeling on what percentage to run PSU's at (60-70%). that allows for quiet opertion in its efficiency sweet spot as well as allowing PLENTY of headroom for transient response. With a quality PSU like this, I personally wouldnt hesitate to run it at 80% output constantly. But in this specific case, even with 2 GPUs, that CPU AND GPU's will have to be running at 100% (which isnt remotely accurate when gaming) to achieve that number (~500W).

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is online now Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-10, 09:59 AM   #13
RollingThunder
Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins
Premium Member #12

 
RollingThunder's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lavacon View Post
A pair of 5850 cards draw less than my 4870 cards :-(
2/3's less at idle....
I noticed that! Remarkable.

__________________
Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2007 1600x1200
2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
Vista 64.............................XP Pro
Experience teaches only the teachable.
RollingThunder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-10, 01:28 PM   #14
Marshmallow64
Member

 
Marshmallow64's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: California

 
The corsair 620hx will be good enough. A lot of people over estimate the amount of power they need for their systems when a good solid reliable psu will do the trick..

I am guilty of this as well =P.

__________________
:: Gaming Desktop ::
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @ 3.9 Ghz 1.4v | MOBO: MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 570 (732/1464/1900) | RAM: 4 GB G-Skill DDR3 1600
SSD: OCZ Vertex 120 GB | HD1: WD Black 640 GB | HD2: WD Black 2 TB
SC: Xfi Titanium Fatal1ty | PSU: Corsair HX 620 W
KB: Saitek Eclipse | MOUSE: Logitech MX 518
CASE: Antec 1200 | OS: Windows 7 x64
:: Laptop ::
MOD: Macbook Pro 13 2011 | CPU: Intel Core i5 @ 2.3 Ghz
RAM: 4 GB DDR3 1333 | OS: OS X Lion 10.7.2
Marshmallow64 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-10, 02:22 PM   #15
RollingThunder
Destroyer of Spammers, Trolls and Cretins
Premium Member #12

 
RollingThunder's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marshmallow64 View Post
The corsair 620hx will be good enough. A lot of people over estimate the amount of power they need for their systems when a good solid reliable psu will do the trick..

I am guilty of this as well =P.
At one time I was just as guilty. Worried about the same things unnecessarily until you speak with and listen to our own OW or the guys at [H]ardop.com

__________________
Intel E8500 @ 3608 MHz...............Intel E7500 @ 3333 MHz Home Server
DFI DK P45 T2RS Plus.................Same
WD Velociraptor 150 & WD Raptor 74...Raptor 74 - Hitachi Deskstar 1TB
ATI 5750.............................ATI 6200FX
Dell Ultra Sharp U2413.............. Dell Ultra Sharp 2007 1600x1200
2 x 2 GB GSkill PC8500 @ DDR2 960....2 x 1 GB GSkill PC8500
Corsair HX520........................Corsair HX520
Coolermaster NV 690..................Lian-Li PC-K7
Vista 64.............................XP Pro
Experience teaches only the teachable.
RollingThunder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-10, 04:47 PM Thread Starter   #16
calaveraOC
Registered

 
calaveraOC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Socal, USA

 
thanx for the replies guys. very helpful and informative

out of curiosity though, what happens if you do have an underpowered PSU, will the system just shutdown? crash an application...or cause PSU meltdown?
calaveraOC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-13-10, 03:10 AM   #17
vgta88
Member

 
vgta88's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2007

 
heat output would be higher on the psu exhaust. you will notice voltages dropping under load. if you overload it, it might shutdown if it has any over current protection. ripple voltages might make your cpu unstable.vthe durability would go down with heat. every 10c halves the life of the components. efficiency should go down with more heat = more power from the wall + more heat.

what about 5970's or if they even can be crossfired and a i7? wouldn't that warrant a 1kw psu for the 70% load and the power for some water cooling or you need something to cool that stuff down. (not even including motherboard into the equation)

__________________
I hate these members that never post back results, that will actually help members, when they solved a problem.
yeah you, how did that hdd file recovery go? how did that i7 abs 900 w psu go

**My mind is Borked atm so bare with**
A7N8X-VM/400--will not reinstall xp
Athlon XP-M 2800+
512 DDR 333 Ram
250GB western digital
Insert Desired AGP VCard
250watt generic (13a 12v).
vgta88 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-10, 11:15 PM   #18
freakdiablo

 
freakdiablo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Here

 
If he's fine with that setup and a 620w psu, I should be alright with a q9550 at just over 3.2ghz and a 5850 on a 600w OCZ right? Just got one this afternoon and when the cards under load the PSU is starting to whine :/

__________________
Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI
freakdiablo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-10, 04:44 PM   #19
pik4chu
Senior Yellow Forum Rat

 
pik4chu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by freakdiablo View Post
If he's fine with that setup and a 620w psu, I should be alright with a q9550 at just over 3.2ghz and a 5850 on a 600w OCZ right? Just got one this afternoon and when the cards under load the PSU is starting to whine :/
Easily

Ive got an OCed I7 and a GTX260 running off a Corsair 520. And a Q6600 with an 8800GT running off an Antec Earthwats 450 and never had issues with either.

Even have an E6400 and a 9800GT on an Earthwats 380W

All machines are running at 100% usage 24/7

__________________
DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.0 (V8) | 6*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | eVGA 285 | 1.5 TB RAID 0 | Win7 64-bit (456Watts)
Main Server (WIP): DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.6 | 3*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | 8*1.5TB in RAID 5 (283Watts)

Folding User Stats
Team 32 Countdown heatware
pik4chu is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-10, 10:26 PM   #20
freakdiablo

 
freakdiablo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Here

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by pik4chu View Post
Easily

Ive got an OCed I7 and a GTX260 running off a Corsair 520. And a Q6600 with an 8800GT running off an Antec Earthwats 450 and never had issues with either.

Even have an E6400 and a 9800GT on an Earthwats 380W

All machines are running at 100% usage 24/7
Thanks. Voltages on it are stable and checked that online PSU calculator (said I could have gotten away with a PSU that could supply 300w), just wanted to double check about the whine, but I guess that's just normal then.

__________________
Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI
freakdiablo is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?