• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocked Dual core e5300. 2.6ghz-3.6ghz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

joshe5300

Overclocked Dual core e5300. 2.6ghz-3.6ghz-3.8ghz

First off, a big hello to everyone, I'm new to overclocking and recently built my first computer.
I recently bought a new motherboard, cpu and some other goodies, here are the specs:
mobo: Gigabyte G31M-ES2L
Cpu: Intel Pentium Dual core duo e5300 2.6ghz
Unknown 3 Heat tube heatsink and fan
Ram: Kingston 2gb ddr2
Graphics card: Gigabyte HD4670 1gb ddr3
PSU: Gigabyte Superb 460w
Case Aywun G01 gaming case
Ok thought id tell you my overclocking specs as im wondering if my temps seem right or not.
standard its 2.6ghz and now its oc'd to 3.6ghz, Because im tight on cash after my splurge ive reused my dads old p4 heatsink and fan, cleaned it up and lightly lapped the copper transfer plate, ran a whole 4 degrees less than the heatsink that came with the e5300, so thats what im running atm.
At idle it sits on 33c with tjmax set to 100
at 100% load its 49-51c and thats running it for 4hours on prime95
and im using realtemp to monitor my temps. so does seem right or is this odly cool for a aircooled setup?
thanks guys for reading and i look forward to hearing your reply's
cheers Josh

Last edited:
Just as a side note, Ive been running prime95 large fft for 1hr+
and the temp for both cores hasnt gone past 52c, thats now overclocked to 3.8ghz
i would of thought the temps would be much higher?

Welcome to the forums!

Yeah that's fairly cool. Did you hafta boost vcore? What's ambient temp?

That's a nice OC, and nice temps too.
The temp sensors aren't the most accurate things around, distence to TJunction is the best way to go.