Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

P6T7 WS Supercomputer

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-12-10, 08:46 PM Thread Starter   #1
duckycrayfish
Member

 
duckycrayfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Algonquin, IL

 
P6T7 WS Supercomputer


im thinking about getting the P6T7 WS Supercomputer. it looks like an amasing motherboard, but can you put a pcie x1 into one of its pcie slots?
i dont want to get it unless you can do that... and it would be really bad to get it and find out i cant.
could someone also tell me what its fbs is and how fast ram it can support? (like ddr3-?) i found specs on ram but i really dont understand it. thx

Last edited by duckycrayfish; 01-13-10 at 04:38 PM.
duckycrayfish is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 01-17-10, 04:47 AM   #2
Freddiz
Registered

 
Freddiz's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Stockholm Sweden

 
For the PCIe x1 in a x16 slot, that works great. You can use x1, x4 x16 in a PCIe x16 slot.

__________________
_____________________________________________
Corsair Obsidian 800D
Asus Rampage II Extreme X58, EK NB block
Intel i7 950@4.0Ghz-1,30v, Heatkiller 3.0
Corsair Dominator 1866 CL9
GTX 260-216 3-Way SLi, EK blocks
Corsair HX1000w
2x Intel SSD X25-M Raid0
Dual Swiftec MCP655
1x360, 1x140, 1x120 Rads.
Tygoon 1/2" tubing
Freddiz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-10, 11:00 AM Thread Starter   #3
duckycrayfish
Member

 
duckycrayfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Algonquin, IL

 
ive seen other people argue against that T.T
duckycrayfish is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-10, 05:02 PM   #4
jaymz9350
Member

 
jaymz9350's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Marytucky, Ohio

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckycrayfish View Post
ive seen other people argue against that T.T
You can actually put a 16x card in a 1x slot if you cut a notch out for it. Pretty much pci-e is fully compatible regardless of the slot sizes.

__________________
i7 3770k @ 4.5 1.25v
4x2 GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 9-9-9-24
ASRock Fatality Pro Z77
XFX 7970 / Samsung SyncMaster 216BW
Corsair TX750
128 GB Samsung 830 / 1.5 TB WD Green / 500 GB WD Blue
Folding User Stats
jaymz9350 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-10, 05:58 PM Thread Starter   #5
duckycrayfish
Member

 
duckycrayfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Algonquin, IL

 
lol what would be the point of that?
duckycrayfish is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-10, 06:09 PM   #6
jaymz9350
Member

 
jaymz9350's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Marytucky, Ohio

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckycrayfish View Post
lol what would be the point of that?
didn't say there was a point to it but it can be done. I've seen cases where people wanted the 16x slots in there board for RAID cards for a home server (I believe I even saw one on here somewhere) and put a low power GPU in a 1x slot as bandwith was of no concern.

__________________
i7 3770k @ 4.5 1.25v
4x2 GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 9-9-9-24
ASRock Fatality Pro Z77
XFX 7970 / Samsung SyncMaster 216BW
Corsair TX750
128 GB Samsung 830 / 1.5 TB WD Green / 500 GB WD Blue
Folding User Stats
jaymz9350 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-10, 06:24 PM Thread Starter   #7
duckycrayfish
Member

 
duckycrayfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Algonquin, IL

 
oh. this is kindof off topic... but what are the benifits of having a raid card with a mobo that can do raid?
duckycrayfish is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-10, 07:08 PM   #8
jaymz9350
Member

 
jaymz9350's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Marytucky, Ohio

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckycrayfish View Post
oh. this is kindof off topic... but what are the benifits of having a raid card with a mobo that can do raid?
A true raid card will take all the load off of the processor. Onboard motherboard raid is still not true hardware raid. a good card will have it's own processor and ram to handle all the raid functions.

__________________
i7 3770k @ 4.5 1.25v
4x2 GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 9-9-9-24
ASRock Fatality Pro Z77
XFX 7970 / Samsung SyncMaster 216BW
Corsair TX750
128 GB Samsung 830 / 1.5 TB WD Green / 500 GB WD Blue
Folding User Stats
jaymz9350 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-10, 07:14 PM Thread Starter   #9
duckycrayfish
Member

 
duckycrayfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Algonquin, IL

 
what about with the ICH8R south bridge? doesnt that handle all the raid stuff?
duckycrayfish is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-10, 08:27 PM   #10
jaymz9350
Member

 
jaymz9350's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Marytucky, Ohio

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckycrayfish View Post
what about with the ICH8R south bridge? doesnt that handle all the raid stuff?
it still off loads on the cpu just like a cheap raid card would. a good raid card cost's more than most of the highest end motherboards alone.

__________________
i7 3770k @ 4.5 1.25v
4x2 GB G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 9-9-9-24
ASRock Fatality Pro Z77
XFX 7970 / Samsung SyncMaster 216BW
Corsair TX750
128 GB Samsung 830 / 1.5 TB WD Green / 500 GB WD Blue
Folding User Stats
jaymz9350 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-10, 08:31 PM Thread Starter   #11
duckycrayfish
Member

 
duckycrayfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Algonquin, IL

 
O.o sht.....done asking about those.....
duckycrayfish is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?