Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

ddr3-2000 worth it?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-10, 08:32 PM Thread Starter   #1
duckycrayfish
Member

 
duckycrayfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Algonquin, IL

 
ddr3-2000 worth it?


i am getting a really good computer and i dont really understand ram. i dont want to spend 200 more dollars on something that isnt worth it....
i did find this but why is it so cheap?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ogy-_-20227424
duckycrayfish is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-18-10, 09:19 PM   #2
dejo
Senior Moment Senior Member

 
dejo's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tyler, Texas

10 Year Badge
 
for some things it makes quite a bit of difference, mainly synthetic benches. if you plan to do that, then I would say go ahead and get to ddr 2000. I bought some ocz plat way back when that was rated 1600 and it will do 2100+, but think I got some of the early stuff that wasnt binned so tight. if you are looking for value look for the kingston hyperx ddr3 2000 it is very good mem and not to bad on price. bought some at Fry's for 160 for 6gb and it rocks, although just 999 rated at 2000

__________________
if it screams, crank it. if it cries, kill it

Asrock z77 ex6
2600k @4.8ghz
Samsung 2x4gb rams
OCZ Vertex4 256gb ssd
EVGA GTX480
Sparkle 1250 gold PSU
Arc Midi case
dejo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-18-10, 11:04 PM Thread Starter   #3
duckycrayfish
Member

 
duckycrayfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Algonquin, IL

 
im just going to be gaming.... why is the one i linked such a low price?
duckycrayfish is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-10, 12:41 AM   #4
PhaseZero
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003

 
If gaming is your main thing I'm thinking you would see a bigger benefit spending the 50-100 dollars difference between ram on a better video card.

__________________
Processor: Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.6
Motherboard: ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
Memory: Gskill Ripjaws 2 x 2gb DDR3 1600
Hard Drive: Seagate 320gb 7200.10
Video Card: PNY 9600 GSO 768mb 96sp
Power Supply: Rocketfish RF-700WPS2
Case: CM 690 II
Cooling: Corsair H50

Heatware
PhaseZero is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-10, 12:44 AM   #5
PhaseZero
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003

 
oh and for your question, it's cheaper because of it's really loose timings compared to the other offerings at ddr3-2000.

__________________
Processor: Phenom II X4 B50 @ 3.6
Motherboard: ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
Memory: Gskill Ripjaws 2 x 2gb DDR3 1600
Hard Drive: Seagate 320gb 7200.10
Video Card: PNY 9600 GSO 768mb 96sp
Power Supply: Rocketfish RF-700WPS2
Case: CM 690 II
Cooling: Corsair H50

Heatware
PhaseZero is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-10, 06:08 AM   #6
dejo
Senior Moment Senior Member

 
dejo's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Tyler, Texas

10 Year Badge
 
if you are just going to game I would just look to find some 1600 with decent timings and call it a day. no real benefit going much more than that. look into the ocz plat 7-7-7 when I got mine it was 99 for 6gb more now but look around

__________________
if it screams, crank it. if it cries, kill it

Asrock z77 ex6
2600k @4.8ghz
Samsung 2x4gb rams
OCZ Vertex4 256gb ssd
EVGA GTX480
Sparkle 1250 gold PSU
Arc Midi case
dejo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-10, 06:56 AM   #7
Hey Zeus
Disabled



Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Heaven

 
DDR3 2000 worth it? No
DDR3 2200 Worth it? YES
Hey Zeus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-19-10, 07:35 AM   #8
Ha-Nocri
Member

 
Ha-Nocri's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2009

 
yes, invest in better GPU or CPU...
Ha-Nocri is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-10, 08:06 PM Thread Starter   #9
duckycrayfish
Member

 
duckycrayfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Algonquin, IL

 
if this helps.... i will be overclocking
duckycrayfish is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-10, 08:24 PM   #10
Rattle
Member

 
Rattle's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Home... again

 
i think its worth it, what are you gonna save going 1600? $20-25?

I have my mem at 2100MHZ right now, with vtt of 1.18 and 1.6vdimm... does it matter? not that much, but its fun as hell.

__________________
Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

HEAT
Rattle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-10, 11:30 PM Thread Starter   #11
duckycrayfish
Member

 
duckycrayfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Algonquin, IL

 
for the latency 8-8-8-24, getting ddr3-1600 would save me about $130. so im trying to decide between spending it on ram which could overclock better? or saving for the nvidia g300 series.

im trying to make this a really good computer but i dont want there to be anything that slows my computer down. especially if its something as little as ram. so if it actually makes a big enough difference i would deffinitly pay that. or many im getting a little ocd over this :P. i mean 2000 is a pretty perfect #.....

this whole thing is turning out to be about $700 over my budget though haha

Last edited by duckycrayfish; 01-21-10 at 12:01 AM.
duckycrayfish is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-10, 12:03 AM   #12
Rattle
Member

 
Rattle's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Home... again

 
my bad I thought you were speaking of i5, for i7 your not gonna be hitting 2000 for daily use, grab some 1866 thats cas 9 they will usually do 1600 at 7-7-7-16 or so which is where your usually going to end up with i7 1366. Or any 1600 kit thats cas8, they will usually open up to well past 1866 at 9 cas anyway.

reason why that OCZ is "cheap" for 2000 is the looser 10-10-10 timings, right now i would go with 1600 cas 8 for the best price.

__________________
Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

HEAT
Rattle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-21-10, 11:17 PM Thread Starter   #13
duckycrayfish
Member

 
duckycrayfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Algonquin, IL

 
i think im starting to understand it.... but i dont know what makes good ram or what cas is.... hows this?
http://www.provantage.com/ocz-techno...k~7OCZT0ER.htm
duckycrayfish is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-10, 01:09 AM   #14
Rattle
Member

 
Rattle's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Home... again

 
that kit is a huge waste of money, your likely never going to run that fast with a 1366 setup.

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...tCode=10009825

there's plenty of kits like this that will do 2000 anyway

http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...it-review.html

__________________
Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

HEAT
Rattle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-10, 06:36 AM Thread Starter   #15
duckycrayfish
Member

 
duckycrayfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Algonquin, IL

 
ya but overclocking ram confuses me.... i understand overclocking the cpu better. and 1600 is enough even with an overclock?
duckycrayfish is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-10, 12:56 PM   #16
Rattle
Member

 
Rattle's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Home... again

 
yes it is it works on a multi, if you hit 200 bclk and 3800 or 4000 mhz you can do 1600 or 2000.

Like was said you can get a 2000 kit for well under under 175 anyway even if you wanted to splurge.

__________________
Z87-GD65 | 4770k | H100 | 16gb Sammy 30nm 1866 | GTX780 SC | Xonar Essence Stx | BIC DV62si | ATH AD700 | 550d | AX850 | VG24QE | 840pro 256gb | 5tb | CherryReds | m60 | Func1030 |

HEAT
Rattle is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-22-10, 06:38 PM Thread Starter   #17
duckycrayfish
Member

 
duckycrayfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Algonquin, IL

 
im getting it in a set of 3's..... but can u do tripple channel with sepratelly bought ram? i know it has to be the exact same kind.... but does the ram need to come like that or be compatible? cause i want to save a bit to get my video card but and i just need 4gb to start.
duckycrayfish is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-23-10, 07:00 PM   #18
Stvwndr219e
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004

 
Why not just get one of the cheaper 1600mhz kits? There are plenty under 100 and the increase from 1333 to 2000 even doesn't make that big of a difference in gaming.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...g-i7,2325.html

__________________
Intel Xeon W3520 3848A352 @ 4.2 Ghz, 21x200
ATI Radeon 4870x2
ASUS P6T6 Workstation Revolution
3x2GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24
6TB Storage (2x1TB WD Black, 2x 2TB WD Green)
LG Blu-Ray Reader
Corsair HX1000
Stvwndr219e is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-10, 10:59 AM Thread Starter   #19
duckycrayfish
Member

 
duckycrayfish's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Algonquin, IL

 
well where do you think i would see a difference in the performance?
duckycrayfish is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-10, 08:45 AM   #20
sage0030
Member



Join Date: Sep 2009

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by duckycrayfish View Post
well where do you think i would see a difference in the performance?
good cpu and graphics card, also fast hd,
sage0030 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?