• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help Overclocking Phenom 9850 Black Edition

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

hollyw0od

Registered
Hi all!

I am new to overclocking and was wondering if I could get some initial overclocking recommendation settings. I read numerous articles about overclocking but I'm just not sure what to change, as I don't want to mess up anything.

Here are some screenshots to help. Thanks!

1.JPG

2.JPG

Here's after changing Multiplier/ Voltage Change to Manual. Maybe this is where I need to change something? I'm not sure what to adjust.

4.JPG

3.JPG

:welcome: to the forums.

Please post system information. The only thing I can tell is that you have a Phenom 9850 CPU and a board that uses an AMI BIOS. I don't know anything about the RAM you have, power supply, cooling, motherboard, even the case (good to know for ventilation, etc).

:welcome: to the forums.

Please post system information. The only thing I can tell is that you have a Phenom 9850 CPU and a board that uses an AMI BIOS. I don't know anything about the RAM you have, power supply, cooling, motherboard, even the case (good to know for ventilation, etc).

Oh sure, thanks.

Motherboard: ALiveNF7G-FullHD R3.0 nForce 630A chipset
CPU: Phenom 9850 2.5GHz Black Edition
Memory: G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) SDRAM DDR2 1066
HDD: 160GB
Graphics: Galaxy GeForce 9500 GT 1GB 128-bit
Power Supply: EarthWatts EA 500 watt

The case is generic and I suppose it has decent ventilation. There is no water cooling or anything like that. The heat sink is the stock one.

Here are some screenshots. Thank you!

P.S. Almost forgot. The memory that is pictured below will be removed and upgraded to what is listed in the specs above. I'm not sure if this affects overclocking but it will be changed as soon as it arrives in the mail.