• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Making first rig, what order?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

baris_

Hello,

I will be making my first rig, ever. I've never done it before. Is there a specific order in which I should insert my hardware into the case? Or not necessarily a specific order, but a good one that allows me for easy change etc.

Or rather said: What is the order you would do this in?

My rig is in my sig.

Its just a logical process really. Here is a video for you that I found: http://www.maximumpc.com/article/features/video_how_build_pc_ever_step_explained

Personally, I mount the mobo in the case, then the PSU, then the HDD, Optical, CPU, RAM, GPU, then beging the wire management phase and start connecting... You *may* want to connect all the front panel stuff (audio/usb/power/reset etc) to the board first after its mounted in the case as sometimes, depending on a couple item's orientation, it can be a bit tricky to reach those areas.

EDIT: Dont forget to use the little brass risers so the motherboard isnt touching the mobo tray.

+ what turbo said, mount cooler to mobo first, especially if its a bolt through model.

Last edited:
Good point. Wasnt sure if he was getting an aftermarket one. Soooo many threads created...I dont recall. But yeah, that is a good idea, good call! :)

I usually follow a similar pattern. CPU to motherboard, put that in the case. Then powersupply,optical drives, harddrives. Then ram, video card, other pci-e cards.

Finally I connect everything and make sure all plugs are tight.

Cable management comes later for me after the computer is all boot up and working.

Thank you all for your replies.

Its just a logical process really. Here is a video for you that I found: http://www.maximumpc.com/article/features/video_how_build_pc_ever_step_explained