• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

next-gen nVidia product equiv. to ATI 5770?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

x509

I'm not a gamer, but I am a photographer, so my need is for a card that allows significant performance boost via GPU offload to Adobe apps like Photoshop and Lightroom. :-/

I was thinking about the ATI 5570, because of its combination of performance, relative to older products, and its relatively low power consumption at idle. (I want to watercool both CPU and GPU with one loop.)

However, today a guy I know who worked at Adobe until two months ago told me that Adobe has always optimized its GPU offload for nVidia, not ATI, and recomended to me that I get an nVidia card for my next system. So I'm wondering if anyone can tell me nVidia will be announcing soon that might be competitive with an ATI 5770-class card. :eh?:

Sorry if I'm asking a question that has already been answered. :confused: but I'm just joining this forum today. :eh?:

nVidia's offering is supposedly going to be released at the end of Q1 2010.

I have very little experience with photoshop, lightroom etc. but as far as I know they do not optimize for nvidia. It wouldn't make much sense to optimize for one company when so many people have the other. I'm not saying they don't, I don't know for sure, I'm just saying it wouldn't make sense to me.

I know some programs can take advantage of CUDA, which is nVidia only.

The guy I know, the ex-Adobe guy, said that Adobe tends to optimize around CUDA.

I have read the Adobe website, so I know that GPU support in CS 4 is somewhat limited, but as file sizes get larger, it becomes more and more important to leverage GPU capabilities to speed up screen redraws. I'm told that CS 5 will have further advances in this area over CS 4.