Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Wierd Multiplier Problem

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-15-10, 12:18 PM Thread Starter   #1
Mentokk
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2010

 
Wierd Multiplier Problem


I just noticed my motherboard was not decreasing the cpu multiplier today. It was working fine a few days ago. I have not changed any bios settings since then. Cpu-z and everest both report the multiplier at 20x at all times. Cpu is idle and there was no significant usage by any program.

I went into the bios and loaded defaults and it got more confusing. For me at least. Cpu-z now reports that the multiplier is at 24x at all times unless all 4 cores are loaded, then the multi goes to 21x. The multi never clocks down, but the voltage does. I have tripled checked the bios settings both overclocked and default and Speed Step and C-states are enabled. The multiplier on both is set to AUTO.

I have had several other mysterious problems with this motherboard before. ie settings changing themselves (maybe I'm crazy, idk). I know it is a cheap board but it had positive reviews everywhere I looked. Time for a better one?

Does anyone have any insight into these issues?

(Yes i know I misspelled weird in title can't edit it!)

__________________
CPU # Core i5 750 @ 4.2GHz-1.425v
Cooler#Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Mobo#ASRock P55 Extreme
RAM#Gskill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 @ 1800MHz 9-9-9-24-1T
GPU#Powercolor Radeon HD5770 1GB 950/1335 Stock Voltage
HDD#Western Digital Caviar Black 750GB
PSU#BFG Tech 550W
Case#Antec 900
Mentokk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-15-10, 12:20 PM Thread Starter   #2
Mentokk
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2010

 
Screen shot of cpu-z at idle. .848 vcore
Attached Images
 

__________________
CPU # Core i5 750 @ 4.2GHz-1.425v
Cooler#Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Mobo#ASRock P55 Extreme
RAM#Gskill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 @ 1800MHz 9-9-9-24-1T
GPU#Powercolor Radeon HD5770 1GB 950/1335 Stock Voltage
HDD#Western Digital Caviar Black 750GB
PSU#BFG Tech 550W
Case#Antec 900
Mentokk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-15-10, 04:55 PM   #3
SamSaveMax

 
SamSaveMax's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008

 
According to CPU-Z, right now Turbo Boost is on AUTO or ENABLED and is doing its job.
If you don't want Turbo Boost then you must set it to DISABLED in bios.

SamSaveMax is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-15-10, 07:54 PM Thread Starter   #4
Mentokk
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2010

 
I meant that on default settings (stock clock) turbo is working properly according to the turbo boost gadget but not to cpuz. On the 3.6 oc it is disabled but the multi never down steps from 20x.

Could it be a software problem. I downloaded asrock oc tool a few days ago and used a registry cleaner to remove it today but still did not help. Maybe it has changed something?

__________________
CPU # Core i5 750 @ 4.2GHz-1.425v
Cooler#Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Mobo#ASRock P55 Extreme
RAM#Gskill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 @ 1800MHz 9-9-9-24-1T
GPU#Powercolor Radeon HD5770 1GB 950/1335 Stock Voltage
HDD#Western Digital Caviar Black 750GB
PSU#BFG Tech 550W
Case#Antec 900
Mentokk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-15-10, 08:22 PM   #5
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
If you disable C-state and speedstep you will not see this happening and your multi will stay where you set it at. What you are seeing is C-state and speedstep doing what it was designed to do, setting your multi and v-core according to the load you place your CPU under.

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-15-10, 09:27 PM Thread Starter   #6
Mentokk
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2010

 
I want them enabled though. Otherwise the cpu runs full bore all the time when I dont need it to. I have a separate bios setting for benching with it disabled, but I run 3.6GHz for normal everyday usage and the speed step has been working up until this point. C-states however have never reduced the voltage, but the speed step has worked in the past. This is a screen of the cpu load at 0% and cpu-z showing speed step not reducing the multiplier. The speed step has worked before at these clocks.

__________________
CPU # Core i5 750 @ 4.2GHz-1.425v
Cooler#Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Mobo#ASRock P55 Extreme
RAM#Gskill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 @ 1800MHz 9-9-9-24-1T
GPU#Powercolor Radeon HD5770 1GB 950/1335 Stock Voltage
HDD#Western Digital Caviar Black 750GB
PSU#BFG Tech 550W
Case#Antec 900
Mentokk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-15-10, 09:31 PM Thread Starter   #7
Mentokk
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2010

 
forgot the screen
Attached Images
 

__________________
CPU # Core i5 750 @ 4.2GHz-1.425v
Cooler#Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Mobo#ASRock P55 Extreme
RAM#Gskill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 @ 1800MHz 9-9-9-24-1T
GPU#Powercolor Radeon HD5770 1GB 950/1335 Stock Voltage
HDD#Western Digital Caviar Black 750GB
PSU#BFG Tech 550W
Case#Antec 900
Mentokk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-15-10, 10:00 PM   #8
Brolloks
Benching Senior on Siesta
Premium Member #8



 
Brolloks's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Land of Long Horns

 
You will not be able to predict how Speedstep, C-State and CPU thermal throttling changes the v-core and multi of your CPU, it looks like it is working well so I would not try to figure it out as there are pretty complex algorithms at work here to optimize power vs performance with the CPU.

Brolloks is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-10, 09:47 AM   #9
Ancient_1
Member

 
Ancient_1's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wisconsin USA

10 Year Badge
 
I run with all power saving features enabled on my 920 and ran into a similar problem. The fix for me was to change the power options from desktop to laptop/portable (in XP). After that Cpu-Z would report the correct speed/multi.

Name:  Power.PNG
Views: 183
Size:  12.7 KB

Name:  SSspeeds.png
Views: 196
Size:  157.4 KB

Name:  MultiN.png
Views: 184
Size:  151.3 KB

__________________
Rampage 3 Formula | Core i7 950 | VX-Black w/2 pwm Deltas | Corsair XMS 3x2GB PC3 16000 | SeaSonic X-750 | HIS HD 4670 512MB IceQ | Lite-On DVDRW LH-20A1H | 4x 1tb WD RE3 1x1.5tb Seagate 2x2tb Samsung | 1x FusionHDTV5 Gold 1x FusionHDTV7 Dual Express 1xFusionHDTV7 RT 1x WinTV-HVR-2250 | SILVERSTONE FT01-BW
Ancient_1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-10, 10:38 AM Thread Starter   #10
Mentokk
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ancient_1 View Post
I run with all power saving features enabled on my 920 and ran into a similar problem. The fix for me was to change the power options from desktop to laptop/portable (in XP). After that Cpu-Z would report the correct speed/multi.
Oh man thanks alot haha. i went into my power options and OCTuner had set itself a power plan that disabled power savings, lol. I never thought to look there. I switched it back to normal and now everything works as it should.

__________________
CPU # Core i5 750 @ 4.2GHz-1.425v
Cooler#Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Mobo#ASRock P55 Extreme
RAM#Gskill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 @ 1800MHz 9-9-9-24-1T
GPU#Powercolor Radeon HD5770 1GB 950/1335 Stock Voltage
HDD#Western Digital Caviar Black 750GB
PSU#BFG Tech 550W
Case#Antec 900
Mentokk is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?