Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Upgrading W7 RC to Home Premium

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-17-10, 10:05 AM Thread Starter   #1
RhoXS
Member



Join Date: Nov 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Upgrading W7 RC to Home Premium


Last spring I installed W7 RC on my new laptop. The RC expires in less than two weeks so I have to finally bite the bullet and install the W7 Home Premium version I received last November.

Will the Home Premium version install over the existing RC or do I have to do a clean install?

__________________
Asus P8P67 Pro Rev 3.1
Intel i7 2600K
Samsung 840 256GB SSD
WD 750 GB Caviar Black
8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 8-8-8-24
EVGA 9800GTX Graphics
Corsair H50
Corsair HX850W Power Supply
Corsair 600T Case
W7 Professional 64 bit
RhoXS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-10, 10:16 AM   #2
Lavacon
Member

 
Lavacon's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lost in NH

 
You will always be best served to do a clean install imo.

I have read of people doing a install over on some window 7 forums, but, the process was more trouble than it was worth.

__________________
Heat

Go Pats!
Lavacon is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-10, 10:44 AM   #3
mhiner
Member

 
mhiner's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Akron, Ohio USA

 
I believe that you cannot upgrade from a release canidate. I haven't tried but I read a MS bulletin about it a few weeks ago and I recall that being one of the items.

__________________

System 1) i5-2500k @ 4.5 : Z68X-UD3H-B3 rev 1.3 : Gigabyte 7950 Windforce 3
Asus 7950 Direct CU II (crossfire) : 16gb (4x4) Vengance DDR3-1600 (@1866)
Corsair 500R : OCZ Fatal1ty 750w : H100 : Intel 335 240gb : WD10EADS
DVD1070i : iHAS424-98 : Windows 7 Home 64 : Dell 3007wfp : Asus H243H
System 2) AMD x6 1045t : MSI 870s-G54 : 8gb Corsair XMS @ 1600 : GTX 460 : HAF 912
OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W : WD7500AAKS : WD10EADS : Vertex 60gb
DVD1070i : Vista Ultimate : Windows 7 home x64 : Hyper 212+
Server 1) ACER easystore H340 home server
mhiner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-10, 10:56 AM   #4
medo145
Member

 
medo145's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA

 
not recommended, but here is a link to go from RC to RTM

http://www.intowindows.com/how-to-up...s-7-rc-to-rtm/

I'm actually in the same boat, windows just informed me that there is like 14 days left until expiration. I have win7 ultimate ready to go, just don't want to have to reinstall everything, but probably will.

edit:
also need this if you are going to home premium
"Open the registry and navigate to HKLM/Software/Microsoft/WindowsNT/Current Version. Change EditionID to HOMEPREMIUM and Product name to Windows7 HOME PREMIUM."

__________________
|ASUS P8Z68 DELUXE/GEN3|i72600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz(100x45)|EVGA GTX670 FTW+ 4GB @ 1006/6008|
|4x4GB G.Skill DDR3 1600 PC2 12800|LianLi(PC-A70B)|Corsair HX750|ASUS Xonar Essence STX|
|Samsung 840 Pro 256GB (OS)|3x1TB (WD Black) 0+5 Intel Matrix Raid|

|Asrock Z97E-ITX/ac|i54670K 3.4GHz @ Stock(...x..)|Corsair H60|
|2x4GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1600 PC2 12800|Corsair(250D)|Corsair CX600M|
|Samsung 840 Evo 250GB (OS)|3TB (Seagate)|

Last edited by medo145; 02-17-10 at 11:06 AM.
medo145 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-10, 10:57 AM   #5
benbaked
Folding/SETI/Rosetta Team Member

 
benbaked's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WA

 
First hit on Google: http://tech.icrontic.com/articles/up...-rc-to-retail/

I used this method to upgrade my laptop's W7 RC to retail Home Premium and it worked fine. Installing a fresh copy is the best route, but this method will work.

__________________
HEATWARE (22-0) | Folding/SETI/Rosetta (crunching BOINC as the ben.World.order)

ASUS Maximus Hero VI | i7-4770K | EVGA 680GTX FTW | G-Skill Trident X 2x8GB | Crucial M500 480GB

The Chronicles of OCF Rosetta

StaTek is my hero.

R.I.P. Adak, OldSkool, pscout
benbaked is offline Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-10, 02:56 PM Thread Starter   #6
RhoXS
Member



Join Date: Nov 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Thanks. I appreciate the efforts to help. I will do the upgrade this weekend.

__________________
Asus P8P67 Pro Rev 3.1
Intel i7 2600K
Samsung 840 256GB SSD
WD 750 GB Caviar Black
8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 8-8-8-24
EVGA 9800GTX Graphics
Corsair H50
Corsair HX850W Power Supply
Corsair 600T Case
W7 Professional 64 bit
RhoXS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-10, 03:07 PM   #7
Quigsby
Member

 
Quigsby's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fargo, ND

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by benbaked View Post
First hit on Google: http://tech.icrontic.com/articles/up...-rc-to-retail/

I used this method to upgrade my laptop's W7 RC to retail Home Premium and it worked fine. Installing a fresh copy is the best route, but this method will work.
I'll try this method tonight. "Upgrading" a friend.

__________________
Quigsby
Rig 1: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L / Intel E8400 w/ Rosewill cooler / Antec 900 / 2GBx2 OCZ SLI PC800 / EVGA 9600GT / Cooler Master 750W
Rig 2: abit IP35-E / Intel E8500 w/ HDT-S1383 / Chenming case / 2GBx2 G.Skill 1066 / 60GB OCZ Agility + WD640 / EVGA 8800GS / Fortron 500W Blue Storm
Heatware
Quigsby is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-10, 04:21 PM   #8
dfonda
Senior Member that
wants to Be Banned
Premium Member #16



10 Year Badge

 
dfonda's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PA. N. of Splat W. of Torin

 
LOl you gotta luv this stuff, I am half tempted to just upgrade but I have had driver problems and probably be better served with a clean install.

Glad to see I am not the only one who squeezes a freebie till the last possible day.

Has anyone found the Windows XP compatibility available in Win 7 Professional to be of any use. In other words the only way they can run some old programs that otherwise would have to be tossed?

__________________
#1Win72600k@4.5GHZ(Hyper212+)Msi P67 G65 16GB RAM evga560Ti
#2 Ubuntu 4P 6172's 48 cores on a SuperMicro
Phones:Nexus 5(Love It) N4,N7, iphone5
Folded for Tim and his wife, Mark and his wife,Pete_Scout Oldskool and Adak..."He was the Best of us".
Last Steam App Update..."Allow App to Magically start itself and login by itself" is on list of permissions!
dfonda is offline Author Profile Folding Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-10, 07:58 PM Thread Starter   #9
RhoXS
Member



Join Date: Nov 2001

10 Year Badge
 
The advice to do a clean install is certainly valid. However, life is full of compromises. After doing two clean installs over the past six months, including the upgrade to W7 on my main desktop, I just do not want to spend the time and effort to do another one. Compounding this, I am going to be forced into another clean install next week on a surplus slightly used laptop I am getting very inexpensively from my employer. Since the laptop I started this thread about is only a minimal secondary machine that I grab when I will be away from home overnight, I intend to spend as little time and money as reasonably practical on it; ergo the overwrite in lieu of a clean install.

Waiting to the last minute to deal with the expiring RC is more or less by plan. I knew I would eventually have to do something with the RC but really did not want to spend any money or time on it so I intentionally put it off hoping some miracle would occur. Well, it was not exactly a miracle but I decided yesterday to give up waiting for my wife to upgrade her evil Vista machine to the W7 Home Premium version I bought last summer. Whenever she is ready (if it ever happens) for us to upgrade her desktop to W7, I will simply buy another copy of it.

dfonda, I have been forced into using the virtual XP mode on my main desktop. In short, it works but it is certainly not ideal. I have a six year old high speed HP scanner with document feeder that still works flawlessly. I use this scanner with an App called Paperport to scan all personal documents, bills, manuals, etc. This gives me a very convenient paperless filing system that is incredibly convenient and works very well. I have been using Paperport for almost 13 years so I am now very dependent on it. Unfortunately the scanner will not work under W7 and replacing it with an equivalent new one would cost about $700. Therefore I must use the XP compatibility mode. Although I can use the the scanner in this mode, the computer is noticeably slower and clunkier. Paperport also crashes unless I go through a little ritual I discovered by accident when I start Paperport. Also, Paperport, in XP mode, has some quirks that are annoying but easy to work around. Bottom line, if you absolutely have no other choice, the XP mode will be useful but it is not by any means the fast stable performer it was when installed by itself.

__________________
Asus P8P67 Pro Rev 3.1
Intel i7 2600K
Samsung 840 256GB SSD
WD 750 GB Caviar Black
8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 8-8-8-24
EVGA 9800GTX Graphics
Corsair H50
Corsair HX850W Power Supply
Corsair 600T Case
W7 Professional 64 bit
RhoXS is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-10, 09:01 PM   #10
Quigsby
Member

 
Quigsby's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fargo, ND

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quigsby View Post
I'll try this method tonight. "Upgrading" a friend.
Did this tonight from the RC. It went well, on a WD Black drive it took longer than I thought it would (my last install was on a SSD drive.... oh I wish they were cheaper when I was building this guys' rig). Got it done in about an hour.

I also had a driver issue - the NIC wouldn't install. Fortunately he had another box there and I was able to pull down the Win 7 64-bit Realtek LAN driver so he could get on the net. I would strongly recommend if you are doing this upgrade you at least have that on a flash drive because it's the one piece you need for getting on the net.

__________________
Quigsby
Rig 1: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L / Intel E8400 w/ Rosewill cooler / Antec 900 / 2GBx2 OCZ SLI PC800 / EVGA 9600GT / Cooler Master 750W
Rig 2: abit IP35-E / Intel E8500 w/ HDT-S1383 / Chenming case / 2GBx2 G.Skill 1066 / 60GB OCZ Agility + WD640 / EVGA 8800GS / Fortron 500W Blue Storm
Heatware
Quigsby is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-10, 01:08 PM   #11
dfonda
Senior Member that
wants to Be Banned
Premium Member #16



10 Year Badge

 
dfonda's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: PA. N. of Splat W. of Torin

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RhoXS View Post

dfonda, I have been forced into using the virtual XP mode on my main desktop. In short, it works but it is certainly not ideal. I have a six year old high speed HP scanner with document feeder that still works flawlessly. I use this scanner with an App called Paperport to scan all personal documents, bills, manuals, etc. This gives me a very convenient paperless filing system that is incredibly convenient and works very well. I have been using Paperport for almost 13 years so I am now very dependent on it. Unfortunately the scanner will not work under W7 and replacing it with an equivalent new one would cost about $700. Therefore I must use the XP compatibility mode. Although I can use the the scanner in this mode, the computer is noticeably slower and clunkier. Paperport also crashes unless I go through a little ritual I discovered by accident when I start Paperport. Also, Paperport, in XP mode, has some quirks that are annoying but easy to work around. Bottom line, if you absolutely have no other choice, the XP mode will be useful but it is not by any means the fast stable performer it was when installed by itself.
Thanks then that saves me from buying Professional I will be just as well served running any old apps I have in Win xp either by keeping 1 rig with it, or using the VMware player.

The apps I use are not very expensive to replace.

__________________
#1Win72600k@4.5GHZ(Hyper212+)Msi P67 G65 16GB RAM evga560Ti
#2 Ubuntu 4P 6172's 48 cores on a SuperMicro
Phones:Nexus 5(Love It) N4,N7, iphone5
Folded for Tim and his wife, Mark and his wife,Pete_Scout Oldskool and Adak..."He was the Best of us".
Last Steam App Update..."Allow App to Magically start itself and login by itself" is on list of permissions!
dfonda is offline Author Profile Folding Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-10, 09:33 PM   #12
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by benbaked View Post
First hit on Google: http://tech.icrontic.com/articles/up...-rc-to-retail/

I used this method to upgrade my laptop's W7 RC to retail Home Premium and it worked fine. Installing a fresh copy is the best route, but this method will work.
worked like a charm for me! thanks for the link buddy!

__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-25-10, 08:32 PM   #13
benbaked
Folding/SETI/Rosetta Team Member

 
benbaked's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
worked like a charm for me! thanks for the link buddy!
No problemo sir, here have a beer too, I'm drinking one. I thought this method was giving me problems on my laptop but it has smoothed out now, probably a low battery issue.

__________________
HEATWARE (22-0) | Folding/SETI/Rosetta (crunching BOINC as the ben.World.order)

ASUS Maximus Hero VI | i7-4770K | EVGA 680GTX FTW | G-Skill Trident X 2x8GB | Crucial M500 480GB

The Chronicles of OCF Rosetta

StaTek is my hero.

R.I.P. Adak, OldSkool, pscout
benbaked is offline Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?