Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Drop in points after putting second card in

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-10, 12:56 AM Thread Starter   #1
dark bishop

 
dark bishop's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Folding the PWN, Salem Oregon

 
Drop in points after putting second card in


Well the oven trick worked and I now have a fully functioning 8800gt again. Gave it some burn in and it didn't explode so I put it to folding again.

Problem is that my gtx285 used to get around 8-9k ppd but now its stuck down around 4k even with its over clock. (for safety I'm leaving the 8800gt @ stock)

I've deleted the que.dat, work folder, and fah cores from each folder to try and get it cleared up but no luck.

each card is attached to its own monitor btw.

__________________
Phenom II 1090t 4.0Ghz | Mushkin 8gb ddr3
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 | MSI 6950 2gb TwinFrozr
Silverstone 700w silent modular
Windows 7 ultimate 64-bit
Corsiar H80
Folding User Stats
HEAT
dark bishop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-10, 01:11 AM   #2
GIXXERGUY6

 
GIXXERGUY6's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northwest Ohio

 
deleting the work sets back the cause.

did you set the gpu's to idle? as well as the cpu at idle?

__________________
Thermaltake vh6000bws
EVGA x58 SLI LE 3x SLI
SilverStone ZM1200M
i7 920 D0 - 3.8 Folding away 1.35v(1.23v load)
Megahalems Rev.B push pull R4's
1tb Seagate 7200.11 Sata,5 500gb
2- EVGA GTS450 1gb
Folding User Stats
My Heat
Thanks for kicking my card in the RAMDAC's
GIXXERGUY6 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-10, 01:13 AM   #3
Wicked_Pixie

 
Wicked_Pixie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA

 
Only time I noticed a PPD drop when adding a 2nd card is when I forget to put "-gpu 1" in the shortcut. That happened to me quite a few times.

You can easily check if your newly added card is working by checking GPU-z and check the GPU loads between your GTX285 and 8800GT.

__________________
Folding in loving memory of Grandpa C. (April 2010)
Alzheimer's and Parkinson's


But we in it shall be remember'd;
We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;
For he to-day that sheds his blood with me
Shall be my brother... "
Henry V
-Billy Shakespeare


Heatware
Wicked_Pixie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-10, 01:25 AM Thread Starter   #4
dark bishop

 
dark bishop's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Folding the PWN, Salem Oregon

 
The 8800gt doesnt show any load :/ ? of course it didnt show before hand either.

Both cards are working on P6602's. 8800 (R3, C357, G0) 285 (R1, C210, G1)

I know they are both working cause the temps go up or down depending on whether folding is on or not.

__________________
Phenom II 1090t 4.0Ghz | Mushkin 8gb ddr3
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 | MSI 6950 2gb TwinFrozr
Silverstone 700w silent modular
Windows 7 ultimate 64-bit
Corsiar H80
Folding User Stats
HEAT
dark bishop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-10, 01:54 AM   #5
Wicked_Pixie

 
Wicked_Pixie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA

 
If it's not registering any GPU load on your 8800GT and your GTX 285 PPD is cut in half, I am almost sure that the GTX 285 is working on the same client.

T o test, close one client and see if your PPD goes up on your GTX.

Do you have the -gpu x flags assigned for each client in the target line in the shortcut, like so? Assuming you are using the console client.

I have not used the systray client in ages and forgot how to do that.

__________________
Folding in loving memory of Grandpa C. (April 2010)
Alzheimer's and Parkinson's


But we in it shall be remember'd;
We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;
For he to-day that sheds his blood with me
Shall be my brother... "
Henry V
-Billy Shakespeare


Heatware
Wicked_Pixie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-10, 10:07 AM Thread Starter   #6
dark bishop

 
dark bishop's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Folding the PWN, Salem Oregon

 
yes, both have the -gpu x flag, i am using the systray but im thinking of switching to console.

__________________
Phenom II 1090t 4.0Ghz | Mushkin 8gb ddr3
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 | MSI 6950 2gb TwinFrozr
Silverstone 700w silent modular
Windows 7 ultimate 64-bit
Corsiar H80
Folding User Stats
HEAT
dark bishop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-10, 10:24 AM Thread Starter   #7
dark bishop

 
dark bishop's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Folding the PWN, Salem Oregon

 
even after shutting off folding on the 8800 the 285 is still hovering around 4k ppd?! WTH?!

__________________
Phenom II 1090t 4.0Ghz | Mushkin 8gb ddr3
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 | MSI 6950 2gb TwinFrozr
Silverstone 700w silent modular
Windows 7 ultimate 64-bit
Corsiar H80
Folding User Stats
HEAT
dark bishop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-10, 11:05 AM   #8
Wicked_Pixie

 
Wicked_Pixie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA

 
I found someone having the same issue as you are at folding forum.
Link

Worth a shot.

__________________
Folding in loving memory of Grandpa C. (April 2010)
Alzheimer's and Parkinson's


But we in it shall be remember'd;
We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;
For he to-day that sheds his blood with me
Shall be my brother... "
Henry V
-Billy Shakespeare


Heatware
Wicked_Pixie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-10, 12:08 PM   #9
Mark620


 
Mark620's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Spencer Mountain, TN

10 Year Badge
 
Disable cpu affinity lock?

Are you folding on the CPU too?
If so, I have the same problem.
Q6600 with 2ea 8800GT's on Asus P5N-D, 2 gb ram, Win XP
When I run all 3 clients - fewer PPD.
Best PPD is 2 GPU's (NO SMP)

I also have the restart overclock loss on one gpu...seems all my multi gpu rigs do that...

__________________
Folding User Stats
Fold for Team32

"There are two ways to conquer and enslave a nation...One is by sword...The other is by debt."John Adams, 1826

Last edited by Mark620; 03-11-10 at 12:18 PM.
Mark620 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-10, 12:10 PM Thread Starter   #10
dark bishop

 
dark bishop's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Folding the PWN, Salem Oregon

 
Thanks pixie, I had swapped cards before without needing to reinstall drivers so I kinda skipped it this time. Windows said new hardware and recognized it so I thought all was well.
dark bishop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-10, 02:03 PM Thread Starter   #11
dark bishop

 
dark bishop's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Folding the PWN, Salem Oregon

 
as far as folding on the cpu yes i am, when the gpu's are going its down between 2-4k, when not gpu folding its up around 7k.

__________________
Phenom II 1090t 4.0Ghz | Mushkin 8gb ddr3
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 | MSI 6950 2gb TwinFrozr
Silverstone 700w silent modular
Windows 7 ultimate 64-bit
Corsiar H80
Folding User Stats
HEAT
dark bishop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-10, 04:58 PM Thread Starter   #12
dark bishop

 
dark bishop's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Folding the PWN, Salem Oregon

 
had to re install all my clients and nv drivers but its up and going again.

__________________
Phenom II 1090t 4.0Ghz | Mushkin 8gb ddr3
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 | MSI 6950 2gb TwinFrozr
Silverstone 700w silent modular
Windows 7 ultimate 64-bit
Corsiar H80
Folding User Stats
HEAT
dark bishop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-10, 12:49 PM Thread Starter   #13
dark bishop

 
dark bishop's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Folding the PWN, Salem Oregon

 
I dont know whats going on?

Right after re-installing drivers and the clients the 8800 was around 4k where it should be while the 285 was around 8-10k, and the cpu was around 3k. Now the cpu is up to 5k, the 8800 is down to 2k and the 285 is down to 4k.
Attached Images
 

__________________
Phenom II 1090t 4.0Ghz | Mushkin 8gb ddr3
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 | MSI 6950 2gb TwinFrozr
Silverstone 700w silent modular
Windows 7 ultimate 64-bit
Corsiar H80
Folding User Stats
HEAT
dark bishop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-10, 01:58 PM   #14
Wicked_Pixie

 
Wicked_Pixie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA

 
Set the cpu priority to idle on the smp; low for gpu clients. If you already done that, add NV_FAH_CPU_AFFINITY to environment variable and set it to 15.
Wicked_Pixie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-10, 02:23 PM Thread Starter   #15
dark bishop

 
dark bishop's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Folding the PWN, Salem Oregon

 
I figured it out!

Its nvidia's stupid drivers thats the problem, gpuz and evga precision never showed that it had downclocked into 2d mode! I applied a patch someone on the evga boards came up with to lock it into 3d high power via a registry edit.

__________________
Phenom II 1090t 4.0Ghz | Mushkin 8gb ddr3
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 | MSI 6950 2gb TwinFrozr
Silverstone 700w silent modular
Windows 7 ultimate 64-bit
Corsiar H80
Folding User Stats
HEAT
dark bishop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-10, 03:11 PM   #16
KGH

 
KGH's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Jose, CA

10 Year Badge
 
would please share this patch?
this is a common problem with running multi-cards now.

at least I encountered few times and had to reboot/reinstall driver, which is painful.

__________________
Heatware: KGH
Folding User Stats
KGH is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-10, 03:27 PM Thread Starter   #17
dark bishop

 
dark bishop's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Folding the PWN, Salem Oregon

 
certainly sir, here you are, just unzip and follow the extremely simple instructions.
Attached Files
File Type: zip downclockfix.zip (929 Bytes, 92 views)

__________________
Phenom II 1090t 4.0Ghz | Mushkin 8gb ddr3
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 | MSI 6950 2gb TwinFrozr
Silverstone 700w silent modular
Windows 7 ultimate 64-bit
Corsiar H80
Folding User Stats
HEAT
dark bishop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-10, 03:49 PM   #18
KGH

 
KGH's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Jose, CA

10 Year Badge
 
thank you

__________________
Heatware: KGH
Folding User Stats
KGH is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-12-10, 05:47 PM   #19
Wicked_Pixie

 
Wicked_Pixie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA

 
Thanks for the heads-up db!

Saved... just in case I come across this issue.

__________________
Folding in loving memory of Grandpa C. (April 2010)
Alzheimer's and Parkinson's


But we in it shall be remember'd;
We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;
For he to-day that sheds his blood with me
Shall be my brother... "
Henry V
-Billy Shakespeare


Heatware
Wicked_Pixie is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:44 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?