• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help overclocking a Phenom II 955

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

OHAITHERE

Alright, I'm kinda new to OCing.

I have an AMD Phenom II 955 3.2 GHz Black Edition Quad-Core using the stock AMD Fan and Heatsink and I'd like to know what's the best and safest overclocking settings. And should I use AMD OverDrive or the BIOS(BIOS has TONS of overclocking settings).

Motherboard is an ASRock M3A785GXH

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...re=ASRocks_Motherboard-_-13-157-167-_-Product

Thanks.

Last edited:
Go to the BIOS and turn the FSB to 220 (from 200) and see what you get. Run Prime95 and Core Temp and report back. That will get you 3.52ghz without a bump in voltage.

Alright, I'm kinda new to OCing.

I have an AMD Phenom II 955 3.2 GHz Black Edition Quad-Core using the stock AMD Fan and Heatsink and I'd like to know what's the best and safest overclocking settings. And should I use AMD OverDrive or the BIOS(BIOS has TONS of overclocking settings).

Motherboard is an ASRock M3A785GXH

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...re=ASRocks_Motherboard-_-13-157-167-_-Product

Thanks.
The best and safest setting is one that doesn't push the load core temp over 60°C - and not over 55°C is even better. With the stock heatsink you won't get very far but I'm sure you can get a little bit of speed from it depending on your case cooling.

You should first test your load core temp at stock settings. Use Prime95 and CoreTemp OR OCCT, which has it's own temp reading, to get load core temp. Note this is different from the CPU temp your motherboard reports.
OCCT
Prime95
CoreTemp