• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Trying to get most of Q9550

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tunttis

Hi all!
As you can see that this is my first post in this forum so be gentle for me, it's my first time :D I checked the Q9550 thread but last post is 4 months old so I thought that that thread is dead.

So here's the deal. I bought brand new Q9550 (E0 Revision) and upgraded my mobo from Asus P5Q Pro --> P5Q Pro Turbo (due P5Q Pro RMA).
I've read that these 45nm Yorkfields will OC good but this one individual seems not to. Before Q9550 I had E8500 which OC:ed gently over 4GHz with P5Q Pro.

Nevertheless I have only managed to get 3,7GHz out of my Q9550 (435FSB*8,5) and I have used vCore betweeen 1,25-1,35 which sounds like this chip is bad or settings in my mobo are wrong.
Heat is not the issue (Noctua NHD14) IntelBurnTest and OCCT Linpack max temps have been under 75.

Specs are here:
Q9550 (E0)
Asus P5Q PRO TURBO
Kingston DDR2 HyperX 1066MHz
(Radeon 4870).

5929041.png
5929050.png
5929047.png

And here is my bios settings:
Code:
Ai Tweaker
Ai Overclock Tuner [Manual]
CPU Ratio Setting [8.5]
FSB Frequency [435]
PCIE Frequency [100]
FSB Strap to North Bridge [Auto]
DRAM Frequency [DDR2-1045MHz]
DRAM Timing Control [Manual]
- CAS # Latency [5 DRAM Clocks]
- DRAM RAS # to CAS # Delay [5 DRAM Clocks]
- DRAM RAS # Precharge [5 DRAM Clocks]
- DRAM RAS # Activate to Precha [15 DRAM Clocks]
DRAM Static Read Control [Disabled]
DRAM Read Training [Disabled]
MEM. OC Charger [Enabled]
AI Clock Twister [Moderate]
AI Transaction Booster [Auto]

CPU Voltage [1.28125]
CPU GTL Reference [0.63x]
CPU PLL Voltage [1:52]
FSB Termination Voltage [1.34]
DRAM Voltage [2.3]
NB Voltage [1:34]
SB Voltage [1.20]
PCIE SATA Voltage [Auto]

Load-Line Calibration [Enabled]
CPU Spread Spectrum [Disabled]