• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Temp problem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dumpa

After recently putting my computer together and making sure there is decent air flow in my case I realized that my CPU temp maybe a little bit too high. Without any overclocking my idle temp is at 45C or so, with Prime running it goes up to 82C or so. Thermal compound is Arctic Silver 5 and I applied it 5 days ago I think. Am I wrong in assuming this is a little bit too hot? BTW I have zero experience with Intel CPU overclocking.

Components listed in my sig.

Thanks.

Mods : not sure if this is the correct forum or maybe Cooling would be a better choice?

Have you tried remounting the heatsink? How much thermal paste did you apply? Too much will cause temps to go up.

You have one clean rig sir. Great job!

Have you tried remounting the heatsink? How much thermal paste did you apply? Too much will cause temps to go up.

You have one clean rig sir. Great job!

I spread one line across and used a credit card to smear it across 100% of the surface (very thin layer). Room temp is also not an issue (72F or so). I have not tried reinstalling the heatsink. Maybe that should be my next step. Also next week I'll get Noctua NH-D14 with MX-2 grease and try it out.

Sometimes the mount might not be even or something, so reseating could help. The credit card method should be fine, but you could try a small "blob" of TIM in the middle of the CPU and let the heatsink spread it with the pressure. Sometimes different application methods work better for different heat sinks.