Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Whats better? one vs 2(Xfire)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-19-10, 09:23 PM Thread Starter   #1
nward32
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2010

 
Whats better? one vs 2(Xfire)


Im trying to figure out what would be better. Im definatly on a budget and want the most bang for my buck. I need some help figuring out which would be overall better.

Would one card this class:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150464

be better than running two cards of this class:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814121365

My graphics card right now is badly outdated and my computer bogs down on some games but my cpu and memory are under 50% load so i know its just my video card bottle necking the entire system. Any insight would be great. thanks!

__________________
Tower: Cooler Master HAF 932 & Cooler Master Ultimate 700W PSU
Motherboard: Biostar TA790GX A3+
CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 BE & Zalman 9900ALED CPU Cooler
Memory: 8GB (4x2GB) Gskill Ripjaw DDR3 1600
Video Card: ATI Radeon 512MB 1600 Pro (Oh yeah!)
OS: Windows 7 x64
nward32 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-10, 09:32 PM   #2
Mentokk
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2010

 
I would go with the single 5770 as the 5450 is more of a htpc solution. I have a single 5770 oced, and it does well with new games. Dirt 2, and bad company 2 play at highest settings with 4xaa and 4xaf at 1600x900 with framerates of 40+ fps. You can always add a second 5770 in the future.

__________________
CPU # Core i5 750 @ 4.2GHz-1.425v
Cooler#Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Mobo#ASRock P55 Extreme
RAM#Gskill Ripjaws 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 @ 1800MHz 9-9-9-24-1T
GPU#Powercolor Radeon HD5770 1GB 950/1335 Stock Voltage
HDD#Western Digital Caviar Black 750GB
PSU#BFG Tech 550W
Case#Antec 900
Mentokk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-10, 09:58 PM   #3
MattNo5ss
5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Overclockers.com Editor


 
MattNo5ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AL

 
I agree, go one HD5770. You don't need to buy a factory OC'd card, as you can do that yourself.

__________________
i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (98-0-0)

Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build
MattNo5ss is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-19-10, 11:32 PM   #4
Younglin

 
Younglin's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta, CANADA!

 
5770 for sure. Not at all games support crossfire and 1 5450 won't do to well in modern games.
Younglin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-20-10, 11:10 PM   #5
NOVAA
Member



Join Date: Jan 2010

 
I'm pretty sure you could run four 5450's in crossfireX and the 5770 would still eat it for lunch, the 5450 is pretty much the ultimate HTPC solution and was never intended for gaming.
NOVAA is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-10, 12:45 AM Thread Starter   #6
nward32
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by NOVAA View Post
I'm pretty sure you could run four 5450's in crossfireX and the 5770 would still eat it for lunch, the 5450 is pretty much the ultimate HTPC solution and was never intended for gaming.
here is probably a bad question, but what does HTPC stand for?

thanks for the great feedback. i guess i was just thinking more 2 gigs of video ram might be better. thanks
nward32 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-10, 12:55 AM   #7
MattNo5ss
5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Overclockers.com Editor


 
MattNo5ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AL

 
HTPC = Home Theater PC

When you SLI or Xfire the vRAM from each card isn't added together to get total vRAM. If you have 2x 1GB cards, then you still only have 1GB usable at any one moment. The physical RAM chips on each card are used, but only 1GB is addressable.

__________________
i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (98-0-0)

Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build
MattNo5ss is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-10, 12:05 PM   #8
Younglin

 
Younglin's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta, CANADA!

 
Quote:
here is probably a bad question, but what does HTPC stand for?

thanks for the great feedback. i guess i was just thinking more 2 gigs of video ram might be better. thanks
If your using a higher res then yes more vram would help but at lower res's you won't see a performance increase. But like I said before, many games don't support xfire. So if you go the 2 x 5450 route you'll be using 1 GB sometimes anyway.
Younglin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-10, 12:06 PM   #9
Joeteck
Retired

 
Joeteck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island

 
Go with two 5770's...

Hell with the budget!

hahahahahaha
Joeteck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-10, 12:10 PM   #10
Younglin

 
Younglin's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta, CANADA!

 
Quote:
Go with two 5770's...

Hell with the budget!

hahahahahaha
Well if your going hell with the budget jump up to a 5970!
Younglin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-10, 12:17 PM   #11
Joeteck
Retired

 
Joeteck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Younglin View Post
Well if your going hell with the budget jump up to a 5970!

LOL, you only live once, might as well enjoy it...
Joeteck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-10, 12:21 PM   #12
Younglin

 
Younglin's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta, CANADA!

 
Quote:
LOL, you only live once, might as well enjoy it...
+1

And when your young enough to not have any expenses might as well spend your money on what you love. =]
Younglin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-10, 09:02 PM Thread Starter   #13
nward32
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2010

 
lol! let me run that passed my wife. haha. thanks for explaining that stuff though. i have kinda fallen out of the know in some of the latest tech. on a side note, i overclocked my current card using AMDs software to try and sqeeze some more frames out of it, but it crashed once i loaded a game. it was kinda funny.
nward32 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-10, 10:05 PM   #14
Austin3334
Member

 
Austin3334's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: West Georgia

 
get one 5770 and get another one later. 2 x 5770 is very close to a single 5870 and is sometimes better.

__________________
Core I5 760 @ 4GHZ
MSI P55 GD65
Sapphire 6870
4GB G-Skill Rip Jaws 8-8-8-24 1600
OCZ Fatal1ty 550W
OCZ Agility 2 60GB
WD Black 640GB & WD Green 1TB
CM Hyper 212 Push/Pull
Azza Hurrican
Austin3334 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-10, 10:21 PM   #15
Younglin

 
Younglin's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta, CANADA!

 
Quote:
get one 5770 and get another one later. 2 x 5770 is very close to a single 5870 and is sometimes better.
\

With a slight OC it will beat out a 5870
Younglin is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?