Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

I just purchased an OCZ Agility SSD - I use Win7, can I use Norton Ghost?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-23-10, 11:54 AM Thread Starter   #1
MitchV
Member



Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Virginia

 
I just purchased an OCZ Agility SSD - I use Win7, can I use Norton Ghost?


I've read some various tweaks on the OCZ forum. I'm not a gamer these days and I'm not interested in performing benchmark tests for the sake of benchmarks. I bought the drive because I like the idea of my OS being on a dedicated drive (currently it is on an OS partition), and of course I'm after the performance increase. While I don't want to make a mess, I don't need to apply every setting/tweak under the sun.

My MB is an ABIT IP35 Pro. Currently I've got two platter drives that I use for storage (I stream media from my PC).

What I'd *like* to do is to use Norton Ghost to transfer my current OS image to the new drive. I'm a developer and I do some work on this PC... I'd prefer to *not* have to reinstall everything if possible.

Any warnings/dangers I should know about?

Thanks!

__________________
Fancy mobo with 3 ISA slots, two PCI
Intel 486 @33MHz
8mb Fast Page Memory
S3 Trio 3D/X2 video card
150 watt No Name PSU
14.4 US Robotics Modem
Windows 95 - Fully patched with Microsoft PLUS!
HeatWare
MitchV is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-23-10, 01:47 PM   #2
prime81
Member

 
prime81's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Odessa, Texas

 
No warnings that I know of, I would say do a clean install the first go around and make a new image once you have the new drive up and running. This will make things smoother and eliminate possible conflicts from the previous hardware. Let win7 create the partition as it aligns it properly for maximized performance. Other than that the norton ghost should work as normal.

__________________

i7 2700K@4.8ghz w 1.36v(offset +.045)
Corsair XMS 3 2 x 4gb 2000mhz CAS 9
Corsair H100
Sapphire HD7970 3gb
OCZ Agility 3 240gb
Antec 1200 Case
SB recon3D/Sennheiser HD595s
Zalman 850HP Powa!

-Folding for Team32-
prime81 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-23-10, 03:01 PM Thread Starter   #3
MitchV
Member



Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Virginia

 
Q


Quote:
Originally Posted by prime81 View Post
No warnings that I know of, I would say do a clean install the first go around and make a new image once you have the new drive up and running. This will make things smoother and eliminate possible conflicts from the previous hardware. Let win7 create the partition as it aligns it properly for maximized performance. Other than that the norton ghost should work as normal.
Sweet... That's an excellent idea (install the OS first then restore over top of it).

I'll follow that process and update this thread with success/failure.

Thanks!

__________________
Fancy mobo with 3 ISA slots, two PCI
Intel 486 @33MHz
8mb Fast Page Memory
S3 Trio 3D/X2 video card
150 watt No Name PSU
14.4 US Robotics Modem
Windows 95 - Fully patched with Microsoft PLUS!
HeatWare
MitchV is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-23-10, 11:56 PM   #4
UltraManiac
Member



Join Date: May 2008

 
Don't windows 7 allow you to create a back of the c Drive. I think it is prety much the same thing compare to Ghost.
UltraManiac is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-24-10, 12:34 AM   #5
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
I connected the OCZ Agility to my system with mechanical HD, partitioned and formatted the Agility from Windows 7, then used my mechanical HD Ghost images to image my operating systems onto the Agility and started using it.

Do not defragment Solid State Dravies!

After cloning the operating system partitions > BIOS > Hard Disk Drives > Set the Solid State Drive as the 1st Drive. It will automatically replace the previous hard drive on the boot priority list.
c627627 is online now Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-10, 02:12 PM Thread Starter   #6
MitchV
Member



Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Virginia

 
So far, so good. This SSD drive is as good as advertised... I checked my Windows user experience... previously my mechanical HD scored a 5.9. This new Agility drive scored a 7.3!

Perhaps the two things I've noticed the most is the speed at which my PC now opens PDF files that are stored on the SSD and how much quicker web pages load. I didn't realize how dependent Firefox is on the HD.

I'm happy!

__________________
Fancy mobo with 3 ISA slots, two PCI
Intel 486 @33MHz
8mb Fast Page Memory
S3 Trio 3D/X2 video card
150 watt No Name PSU
14.4 US Robotics Modem
Windows 95 - Fully patched with Microsoft PLUS!
HeatWare
MitchV is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-10, 08:07 PM   #7
s-f-r-j
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2010

 
Which model exactly did you get if u dont mind sharing?

This SSD is cheaper then X-25M Intel i am thinking to get, so, i might be considering this.

Thanks
s-f-r-j is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?