Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

2010 Poll: How do you fill/refill your cooling loop?

View Poll Results: How do you fill or top up your coolant loop?
With a t-line. 25 24.75%
With a reservoir. 70 69.31%
With another method. (please give details) 6 5.94%
Voters: 101. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-31-10, 10:10 AM Thread Starter   #1
muddocktor
Retired

 
muddocktor's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Iberia, LA

10 Year Badge
 
2010 Poll: How do you fill/refill your cooling loop?


This poll is one of a series of polls designed to give members the opportunity to see what the membership as a whole have chosen in regards to some of the more common cooling choices. This particular poll is for members to show what kind of cooling fluid fill/refill method is being used by them. It will also give anyone who feels the need, the opportunity to explain why they have chosen that method and possibly help others decide on what their next cooling fill method will be. This poll, along with the others will be stuck in the appropriate section and will be open for one year, after which a new poll will be set in place to allow future members to show their choices, current members to list any changes in their choices, and to allow members to track shifts in trends over an extended period.

Having said that, how do you fill or top up your loop, do you use a t-line, a reservoir or another method? The "another method" could be anything such as immersing the whole system underwater and then, once it has been filled, sealing it up completely before removing it from the water or using both a t-line and a reservoir. As always, please give any detail you think may be of use to others, especially if you have an unconventional setup.

NOTE: This is a direct cut-n-paste of eobard's old thread on this subject. I thought this one was a good poll to continue, so I have made a new poll for us to let everone know their preference.

eobard's old poll can be found here.


The 2009 poll can be found right here.
muddocktor is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 10:13 AM Thread Starter   #2
muddocktor
Retired

 
muddocktor's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Iberia, LA

10 Year Badge
 
As for me, I am a firm believer in a reservoir for my loops. The ease of filling and bleeding my loops is the deciding factor for me.
muddocktor is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 10:59 AM   #3
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
I have a drain line low in my loop with a plug to drain the loop. I pull the GPU's off my mobo and tilt them upside down to get the water out of them. I also pull my CPU block off and tilt it so the water drains out. I have to do this since my mobo is horizontal. I don't disconnect any hoses.

I fill the loop and run it for a day, running just the pumps. I then drain one more time, fill again with distilled and my choice of biocide and bleed it.

EDIT: I forgot to add. Both of my rads are vertical with the barbs on top. Both rads have drain plugs on the bottom thankfully, so my loop is pretty much 100% empty when I drain it. Thermochill and XSPC still have the plugs on the newer ones? I dunno.

I think thats what your looking for Mudd?

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H

Last edited by Conumdrum; 03-31-10 at 09:33 PM.
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 11:59 AM   #4
dark bishop

 
dark bishop's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Folding the PWN, Salem Oregon

 
ive got a t line and a plug in the end of my radiator, just fill it up from the bottom.

__________________
Phenom II 1090t 4.0Ghz | Mushkin 8gb ddr3
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 | MSI 6950 2gb TwinFrozr
Silverstone 700w silent modular
Windows 7 ultimate 64-bit
Corsiar H80
Folding User Stats
HEAT
dark bishop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 12:10 PM Thread Starter   #5
muddocktor
Retired

 
muddocktor's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Iberia, LA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conumdrum View Post
I have a drain line low in my loop with a plug to drain the loop. I pull the GPU's off my mobo and tilt them upside down to get the water out of them. I also pull my CPU block off and tilt it so the water drains out. I have to do this since my mobo is horizontal. I don't disconnect any hoses.

I fill the loop and run it for a day, running just the pumps. I then drain one more time, fill again with distilled and my choice of biocide and bleed it.

I think thats what your looking for Mudd?
Yes, that is a very detailed and helpful post, Conumdrum.
muddocktor is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 12:11 PM   #6
Spawn-Inc

 
Spawn-Inc's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
started out with t ines and moved to a res as i didn't want to fill the giant loop with a T lol, though i could do it

__________________
CPU: Core2Quad q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (highest so far 4.2GHz)
GPU: XFX 9800GTX @ 850/1230
Ram: Samsung 4GB (4x1GB) 700MHz PC5300
Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32)
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt DxX
HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, WD5001AALS, WD10EZRX, WD10EZRX,
LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
Sound: 2x Logtiech Z 5500/Razor Barracuda HP-1 / AC-1
CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v
3Dmark06:17,814 AquaMark:190,865
Spawn-Inc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 03:50 PM   #7
deadlysyn
Folding Team Content Editor
Who Dolk'd my stars Senior Member

 
deadlysyn's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stealing your megahurtz at night

 
I use a reservoir. I have a little different method of filling the res than most though. I picked up a kind of squirt bottle, similar to the ones you would see for mustard and catsup at a hot dog stand or in the camping section of pretty much any store. With that bottle full, I can fill the res twice, fill the bottle again and top off my loop. Altogether, I have to fill the res a total of 3 times to fill the loop, and then top it off where the res is left about half full after bumping the pump the third time. I came up with this method due to the limited space in my Antec 900, where I had a feeling I wouldn't be able to fit a funnel. It also gives me more control over how much water goes into the res over pouring through a funnel.

As for draining, since I have the MCRes V2, I take some spare tubing, put it on a spare barb, and put that on the top port of the res, which I also use to fill it. I then tip the case on it's face to let the water drain out into a bucket or onto the ground. Once the water stops running out, I then move the case around to get the rest of the water to move into the res, where I can finish pouring it out. It takes a bit of time, but it seems to work. I have thought about putting a T with a quick disconnect on the line between the pump and rad (lowest point of my loop), so that I can just hook up the piece of tubing on the other end of the disconnect and pull the fill plug on the res to speed up the process a bit.

__________________
Water and Air Cooling Lead Senior
Folding for Team 32 as 8thDeadlySyn Folding in the memory of pscout
I'm a Team 32 Folding Mentor. Ask me about Folding.
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3LR, Q9550@3.5, 4 GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066, Corsair Force F60, 300 GB Maxtor SATAII, EVGA GTX460 v2
Laing D5 Vario, D-Tek Fuzion V1, Swiftech MCW60, Swiftech MCRES V2, HWLabs BIX3, 3 Panaflo FBA12G12U's on Rheobus, Primochill LRT black, Antec 900

Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P, Athlon II X3 445, TRU120, 4 GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600, 8800GTS 320MB, 320 GB Maxtor Sata, SB Audigy SE
HEAT - My Folding Stats
Would you like to see your writing on the front page? Ask me how!

Last edited by m0r7if3r on 1-23-2011 at 12:45 PM. Reason: I haz uber 1337 h4x0rz 5k1llz
deadlysyn is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 03:59 PM   #8
Nebulous
Seņor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
Using a "T" line atm, but prefer a res for the same reasons Mudd stated.

__________________

<MEGA-O>
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H /De-Lid i5 3570K@ 4.5Ghz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR
XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Diamond 7870PE52GDD Ghz Edition HD 7870+H80
Sony AD-7220S / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win7 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 04:50 PM   #9
cadman420

 
cadman420's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Michigan

 
I use a small res, and like deadlysyn I use a bottle, mine I got from a sports store that has the curved end, to better fit in my case.

__________________
ASROCK A770DE+ | AMD Phenom II 940 BE @ 3.55ghz | Sapphire ATI 6870 | 6 gb Corsair XMS 800
Corsair 750w PSU | 750GB WD BLACK,Windows 7 Pro x64 | 150GB WD RAPTOR X, Linux Mint 9 x 64



Folding User Stats
cadman420 is offline Author Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 04:55 PM   #10
donuts
Member

 
donuts's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SC (now)

 
I've got both. Cheap rig has a "t"- line, wife's and mine have a res.

For filling both reservoirs, I've got enough tubing on them to just clear the side of the case. I fill/top them using a watering can for house plants.
My "t" , I picked up a funnel that fits the tubing, I use a watering can to pour water to that. (I can't always find the funnel, so...)

Draining, I have enough slack to pull the pump outside the case, hang it over a drain pan, and break loose the seal on the pump. I've got D5's so the motor unscrews from the body.

__________________
Heatware

Rosetta
Seti
Folding
donuts is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 07:03 PM   #11
x509
Member



Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by donuts View Post
I've got both. Cheap rig has a "t"- line, wife's and mine have a res.



Draining, I have enough slack to pull the pump outside the case, hang it over a drain pan, and break loose the seal on the pump. I've got D5's so the motor unscrews from the body.
So do you disconnect both the input and output hoses from the pump?
x509 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 07:04 PM   #12
x509
Member



Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: USA

 
Regardless of what you use, are you sure that you've entirely drained the rad?
x509 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 07:56 PM   #13
deadlysyn
Folding Team Content Editor
Who Dolk'd my stars Senior Member

 
deadlysyn's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stealing your megahurtz at night

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by x509 View Post
So do you disconnect both the input and output hoses from the pump?
The D5 has a ring that secures the head to the motor. If you loosen this ring, the head comes away from the motor, and you can drain the coolant without having to disconnect any tubing. To refill the loop, just put the pump back together.

__________________
Water and Air Cooling Lead Senior
Folding for Team 32 as 8thDeadlySyn Folding in the memory of pscout
I'm a Team 32 Folding Mentor. Ask me about Folding.
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3LR, Q9550@3.5, 4 GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066, Corsair Force F60, 300 GB Maxtor SATAII, EVGA GTX460 v2
Laing D5 Vario, D-Tek Fuzion V1, Swiftech MCW60, Swiftech MCRES V2, HWLabs BIX3, 3 Panaflo FBA12G12U's on Rheobus, Primochill LRT black, Antec 900

Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P, Athlon II X3 445, TRU120, 4 GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600, 8800GTS 320MB, 320 GB Maxtor Sata, SB Audigy SE
HEAT - My Folding Stats
Would you like to see your writing on the front page? Ask me how!

Last edited by m0r7if3r on 1-23-2011 at 12:45 PM. Reason: I haz uber 1337 h4x0rz 5k1llz
deadlysyn is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 08:15 PM   #14
donuts
Member

 
donuts's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SC (now)

 


As far as me draining the rad. Once my tubing is drained, tubing can be unhooked from the rad barbs. My pump is the low point of the loop. My rad is on the back of the case (external- barbs on top) pull the 4 bolts holding the rad to the case, and I can carry the full rad to the sink.

__________________
Heatware

Rosetta
Seti
Folding
donuts is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 11:02 PM   #15
x509
Member



Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadlysyn View Post
The D5 has a ring that secures the head to the motor. If you loosen this ring, the head comes away from the motor, and you can drain the coolant without having to disconnect any tubing. To refill the loop, just put the pump back together.
Thanks. That sounds a whole lot better than installing a "T" in the loop somewhere. I assume that you need to be able to move the pump to somewhere outside the case, so when you loosen this ring, you don't get your case wet.
x509 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-10, 07:33 PM   #16
deadlysyn
Folding Team Content Editor
Who Dolk'd my stars Senior Member

 
deadlysyn's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stealing your megahurtz at night

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by x509 View Post
I assume that you need to be able to move the pump to somewhere outside the case, so when you loosen this ring, you don't get your case wet.
Correct. That is the reason I put a barb with about 2 feet of tubing on the fill port on my res. This way, I can safely tip the case over on its side or face, and let the water drain onto the ground (I do it outside), without any fear of damage to my components. When enough has drained that it is no longer filling the res anymore, I move the case around to try to get the rest of the water into the res, where I then flip the case over to the top, so that the rest comes out. If I am just doing the 6 month cleaning, I give it a good flush with clean water, drain again and refill. If it is time for the annual tear down, everything gets taken out, and I follow the same cleaning procedure that I did for every part when I first assembled the loop, including taking the pump and blocks apart and giving them a good inspection and cleaning.

__________________
Water and Air Cooling Lead Senior
Folding for Team 32 as 8thDeadlySyn Folding in the memory of pscout
I'm a Team 32 Folding Mentor. Ask me about Folding.
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3LR, Q9550@3.5, 4 GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066, Corsair Force F60, 300 GB Maxtor SATAII, EVGA GTX460 v2
Laing D5 Vario, D-Tek Fuzion V1, Swiftech MCW60, Swiftech MCRES V2, HWLabs BIX3, 3 Panaflo FBA12G12U's on Rheobus, Primochill LRT black, Antec 900

Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P, Athlon II X3 445, TRU120, 4 GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600, 8800GTS 320MB, 320 GB Maxtor Sata, SB Audigy SE
HEAT - My Folding Stats
Would you like to see your writing on the front page? Ask me how!

Last edited by m0r7if3r on 1-23-2011 at 12:45 PM. Reason: I haz uber 1337 h4x0rz 5k1llz
deadlysyn is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-04-10, 10:29 PM   #17
QuietIce
Disabled



Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anywhere but there

 
I use a copper plumping 1/2-1/2-3/4" 'T' with a 1' long 3/4" tube on the fill side. The fill tube holds about half what a MicroRes holds and the 1/2" IN/OUT on the main loop (no barbs!) has virtually zero restriction. For me it's the perfect solution - low-cost, small space, easy to add water (fill-port), and if the 'T' is located just right it bleeds pretty quick.* Few bubbles make it past the 3/4" opening in the top of the T.

For draining I disconnect the fill line from the fill-port and move it outside the case & down, letting gravity and nature take it's course for a few minutes. Once the loop has a little bit of water drained out I put a towel under the highest component (usually the CPU) and pull the tubing off the highest barb to let air into the loop. There's very little if any spillage and certainly nothing that splatters all over the place.


*I try to locate the T so it has a slight uphill run going into the T and a slight downhill going out. This tends to slow the bubbles down a bit so most of them go up the 3/4" opening.

Last edited by QuietIce; 06-08-10 at 05:21 PM.
QuietIce is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-10, 11:18 AM   #18
Haste266
Member

 
Haste266's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Roanoke, VA

 
i started out with a swiftech micro-res almost 5 yrs ago now...went to a t-line for about 2 yrs...just went back to a swiftech micro-res...omg, so much easier to get the bubbles out. =D

the swiftech micro-res rev. 2 has a drain port on the bottom of it. im sure i will make good use of it at some point. i have a small funnel i use to fill my loop.

__________________
i5-750 @3.78ghz on a Gigabyte P55A-UD4P / XFX Radeon 5870 / G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3-2000
Intel X-25M 80gb / 2x 750gb Spinpoint F1 / 2x Barracuda LP 1.5tb / 1x LG GBW-H20L / NZXT M59
Seasonic M12-D / X-Fi Xtrememusic / MCP655, Apogee XT, Black Ice GTX M92 & M184 / Windows 7 Pro x64 / LG 37LH30 LCD 1080p TV
Heatware: haste266 | E-Bay: haste266
Haste266 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-10, 07:17 PM   #19
2C@nts4U
Member



Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: From NORWAY, live in USA

 
Drain Valuve!!


I found after pleanty of blueprinting (doodling) that I came up with....let gravity do the work

1 Drain Valuve at bottom of case
2 Res in middle
3 open valuve and it siphons its self out.....

I just built it and it works great....

here is a link to the photos

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=640255

__________________
MoBo = Asus M4A79- Deluxe
CPU = AMD II X4 Phenom 940BE
RAM = 4GB Ballistix 1066
HDD = Raid 1TB
Sound = SBAudigy2ZS Plat Pro

Video = HD 4870 1GB Toxic
LCD = 3 LCD's 2X Samsung 22" 226BW 1X Acer 22" 1X Samsung 52" 650A and Sony HD Projector wall size 6'X7' feet

Link to picuters of My Custom Built WC PC
2C@nts4U is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-11-10, 12:07 PM   #20
forbin rhodes
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2004

 
I put my pump in a large glass bowl, open its vein and let gravity and a funnel do the rest of the work.
forbin rhodes is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?