Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

New Member: First built PC and first time overclocking

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-31-10, 08:09 PM Thread Starter   #1
dzlnitro
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2010

 
New Member: First built PC and first time overclocking


Hi guys, my friend who just joined told me to sign up to this forum asap because it is a great community and you guys answer fast and with great knowledge!

PC: (Win 7 Pro 64 Bit)
Core i5 750 2.67 GHz Lynnfield
4 Gigs OCZ FATA1TY Dual Channel DDR3
ASUS P7H55 M-Pro Motherboard
1 Gig GDDR3 GeForce 9800 GT
1TB Hitachi 3Gbps SATA 32mb Cache
Lightscribe DVD Burner

That is my setup I've been running for about 4-5 weeks, this was my first computer I built for myself.

So my friend and I have been experimenting for a couple hours with overclocking, we've watched videos and write ups and so far this is what I have: (I went out and purchased a gigantic Cooler Master CPU Heatsink/Fan combo).

I'm running 3.33 Ghz at 70 Celsius and it appears to be stable right now.

I'm using Prime95 as the load test and i'm noticing that every once in a while that the CPU speed drops to 1.5ghz, is this normal? I'm just wondering since it shoots back up to 3.33ghz after a few minutes, I just want to make sure everything is safe.

I also overclocked the memory to 1332.4mhz (maxes out at 1333mhz)

So I know this was a long first post, but I want to thank you for your time and wisdom!

Ai Tweaker Settings:

BLCK - 166
Voltage - 1.35V
DRAM - 1.50V
DRAM Freq - 1328mhz

-Mike
dzlnitro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 08:24 PM   #2
doz
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV

10 Year Badge
 
Speed will drop due to SpeedStep. If your computer goes idle (and it will at times during the test, just not often) itll drop the multiplier on the CPU. If you dont want this happening (and some people recommending turning it off during stress testing), Disable Speedstep/EIST/C1E in the BIOS. After testing, if you want the power savings from it, turn it back on.

As far as the overclock, you may be able to get more out of it w/ 1.35v. Temps for that voltage are decent, you have about 15c headroom before you need to start worrying. Also, your DRam voltage, what is the stock voltage? You may need to bump it up as I know most OCZ ram is 1.65v stock (although, if you arent getting memory errors, you could leave it).

Also, play w/ the VTT (QPI voltage it might be on your board listed as?) voltage. It can help w/ stability rather than feeding it tons of voltage.

__________________
Asus P8P67
Intel i7-2600k @ 4.9ghz
GSkill Ripjaws 8gb 1600mhz c8
EVGA GTX780 ACX 1228//1650
OCZ Agility 2 240gb, Corsair Force 3 180gb, (2)WD 1tb Black
HAF 932w/ Corsair HX750
Heat
doz is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 08:33 PM   #3
Brutal-Force
Member

 
Brutal-Force's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009

 
doz is right on the EIST (Enhanced Intel Speedstep). Using this is helpful if you want to conserve energy, but for overclockers this option is mostly turned off as well as the C1E and C-states. Set all 3 to disabled.

Also doz is right about your voltages. You should be able to hit 3.3 on stock/auto voltages. Which should be ~1.25V Vcore in your case. If your RAM is 1333, then you are technically not overclocking it. Depending on your RAM multiplier, you could probably push your RAM upwards of maybe 1440 or so. That would be 180Bclk @ 2:8 Ram Ratio.

At 180X21 you would have a healthy overclock, and would probably need to raise your Vcore at that point to around 1.3-1.35V. Follows Miahallens Instructions and you will get a good overclock. Slow and steady wins the raise.

__________________
HTPC/Main Rig: 42" LG 1080p - Windows 7 Professional
EVGA P55 FTW - i7 860 4914.3 MHz Max and 4412 MHz 24/7
Venomous X - SANYO DENKI - 9SG1212P1G01 - 260 CFM @ 6000 RPMs
Corsair TX850 - Super Talent 2000MHz 8-8-8-24 (1320MHz 6-6-6-19)
BFG GeForce GTX 260 OC MaXcore 55(SLI)
Coolermaster HAF 932
Heat

My Homemade PWM Controller for "The Beast"
Brutal-Force is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 09:17 PM Thread Starter   #4
dzlnitro
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2010

 
I believe I have speedstep disabled...that is something you would disable in the BIOS correct? It also disables the Turbo V if I remember correctly. I'm at 2 hours of load test ad it is still staying steady at 70-72C but is still also dropping like I said once in a while to 1.5ghz
dzlnitro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 10:00 PM   #5
SkiBum1207
Member

 
SkiBum1207's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2008

 
Hey thanks for the really good first post! Its nice to see a proper first post rather than a "OMGZ MY COMPUTERZ SLOZ!!!"

As for the 1.5ghz, it may be thermal throttling. Sometimes if chips become too hot, they will drop their speed and voltage to cool themselves down. 70-72 degrees is quite hot so if I were you I would get an aftermarket cooler. I am a little outdated on air (i only do water) but the Thermalright TRUE 120 is a very good cooler.

EDIT: this site is one of the best for heatsink reviews

http://www.frostytech.com/

__________________
Intel 3770k @ 4.5Ghz
Asus Maximus Gene Z IV
Nvidia GTX 680x2 SLI
2x 240 gb Sandisk Extreme II SSD (Raid 0)
16gb Gskill RipjawsX @ 1866 MHz

Last edited by SkiBum1207; 03-31-10 at 10:06 PM.
SkiBum1207 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 10:35 PM Thread Starter   #6
dzlnitro
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2010

 


This was taken a few minutes ago, i'm running

BCLK 166
Voltage 1.25
DRAM 1.60V
DRAM 1328
Idle at 40C
dzlnitro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-10, 11:07 PM   #7
Brutal-Force
Member

 
Brutal-Force's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2009

 
I am curios why you only show 3 threads. Open the other realtemp which shows 4 cores.

Also your temps are certainly not out of line.

If you are dropping to 1.5GHz during prime load, it is because your being thermally throttled. This should not be happening.

Go to bios and disable C1E, C-states (might be numbered on your board) and EIST (speed step) and make sure Vdroop is enabled and then try again.

__________________
HTPC/Main Rig: 42" LG 1080p - Windows 7 Professional
EVGA P55 FTW - i7 860 4914.3 MHz Max and 4412 MHz 24/7
Venomous X - SANYO DENKI - 9SG1212P1G01 - 260 CFM @ 6000 RPMs
Corsair TX850 - Super Talent 2000MHz 8-8-8-24 (1320MHz 6-6-6-19)
BFG GeForce GTX 260 OC MaXcore 55(SLI)
Coolermaster HAF 932
Heat

My Homemade PWM Controller for "The Beast"
Brutal-Force is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 12:22 AM Thread Starter   #8
dzlnitro
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2010

 
With the setup I posted right there, it never dropped to 1.5ghz, i think this may be the setup to keep unless some of my games need more power.
dzlnitro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 09:15 AM Thread Starter   #9
dzlnitro
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2010

 
I can't seem to find the VTT or QPI Voltage as mentioned, I do see QPI Frequency(than again I dont know what that does but that doesn't help. Also where is "Vdroop" is there another name for it?

As mentioned, I did disable the speedstep and c1e/c-states but with my new settings it is not doing a random drop to 1.5ghz.

I really would like to go higher than 3.3...as I see some are attaing 4ghz but i'm only doing air cooling. 3.5ghz seems to be a safe and attainable goal.

__________________
ASUS P7H55 M-Pro
Intel Core i5 750 OC to 3.33 Ghz
4096mb DDR3 OCZ Fatal1ty Dual Channel @ 1333mhz
ATI Radeon HD5770
Ultra LSP650 650w Power Supply
Cooler Master Hyper N520 CPU Cooler
dzlnitro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 09:23 AM   #10
dazmandaz
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2010

 
vdroop may also be called load line calibration, thats what its called in my bios.
and good luck on your 4ghz goal ,ive got mine @4ghz hope to go higher
dazmandaz is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?