Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

9800 GT will SLI with...?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-01-10, 05:47 AM Thread Starter   #1
v0nch
Registered

 
v0nch's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2009

 
9800 GT will SLI with...?


Hey all, was wanting to ask you that I have a BFG 9800 GT 1gb, and planning to run in SLI with another card. ATI won't work in SLI with 9800 GT, and was thinking about either getting:

9800 GT
9800 GTX
GTS 250

--> could u advise me which will be the most stable SLI configuration?

And would like to know if the extra money for a 9800gtx/ GTS 250 will be worth the money in SLI with my current 9800 GT.

Which will be the most compatible? (ofc 9800 GT, but want to get a higher-end card).

Also, i plan to get Q6600 and 600Watt PSU, so will that maybe affect it? ty bye
v0nch is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 06:25 AM   #2
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
9800gt.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 10:52 AM   #3
MattNo5ss
5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Overclockers.com Editor


 
MattNo5ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AL

 
Unfortunately, you have to run the same model of GPU for SLI/Xfire, so 9800GT is the only choice for SLI.

I'm not sure how 9800GTs SLI stack up against newer single cards, and I can't find out here at work But, you may want to look into that.

__________________
i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (98-0-0)

Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build
MattNo5ss is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 10:57 AM   #4
killem2
Member

 
killem2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005

 
I would say, sell the current card, and snag a new nice single 260 or 5770
killem2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 11:56 AM   #5
tinymouse2
Member

 
tinymouse2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Surrey, England

 
It has to be (unless it's changed) exactly the same card, same make, same manufacturer, same VRAM size.

So say it's a 1GB 9800gt made by Asus. You will have to get a second Asus 9800gt with 1GB VRAM and the same clock speeds as the other one.

Hope this helps.

__________________
Sound setup:
Amp: Cambridge Audio Azur 340A SE
Speakers: Wharfedale 10.2's
Sound Card: Asus D2X


Computer:
q9550 @ 3.8GHz
GTX460 @ stock
tinymouse2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 11:59 AM   #6
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Ehh... brand does NOT matter and I do not think that the VRAM size matters either as it is not shared. Clockspeeds do not matter either.

An EVGA GTX260 216 can be SLI'd with a Zotac GTX260 216 even with different clocks.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 12:02 PM   #7
mbigna
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wisconsin

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinymouse2 View Post
It has to be (unless it's changed) exactly the same card, same make, same manufacturer, same VRAM size.

So say it's a 1GB 9800gt made by Asus. You will have to get a second Asus 9800gt with 1GB VRAM and the same clock speeds as the other one.

Hope this helps.
I don't think ever had to be the same manufacturer or VRAM size. However, you definitely needed to make sure both cards (with the same chipsets) were CLOCKED at the same speeds. If one card has more RAM than the other, the extra RAM on the one card would essentially be useless in SLI.

__________________
Adopt a Topic for an Overclocking Wiki
HEAT me up !
mbigna is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 12:09 PM   #8
tinymouse2
Member

 
tinymouse2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Surrey, England

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
Ehh... brand does NOT matter and I do not think that the VRAM size matters either as it is not shared. Clockspeeds do not matter either.

An EVGA GTX260 216 can be SLI'd with a Zotac GTX260 216 even with different clocks.
OK brand doesn't matter but I'm pretty sure VRAM size does matter.
I tried to SLI 2 7900gs's together. A 128MB and a 256MB version and it just didn't work.
Got another 256MB version and it didn't like having different clocks (one came pre-overclocked) and it worked when I downclocked it to match.

Could have changed or maybe I'm just special ^_^

__________________
Sound setup:
Amp: Cambridge Audio Azur 340A SE
Speakers: Wharfedale 10.2's
Sound Card: Asus D2X


Computer:
q9550 @ 3.8GHz
GTX460 @ stock
tinymouse2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 12:23 PM   #9
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
Im voting on the latter (u r special)... hehe!

Regarding the clocks, Im not sure, but I recall seeing it done before. maybe I was special.......that night. IIRC, you can also clock each card indivudal in SLI (not sure on that) so that would make having the same clockspeeds not matter right? Again, not sure on that. I just recall it having to be the same core (not chipset), brand doesnt matter. Maybe it mattered back in those days with those cards, but since G80, I dont recall that being a requirement, not to mention, most cards aside from 8800 GTS 320/640 the memory was the same....

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

Last edited by EarthDog; 04-01-10 at 12:31 PM.
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 12:33 PM   #10
Amtrak
Member

 
Amtrak's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2008

 
Brand does not matter, memory does not matter, and clock speeds don't matter. Brand is just...well, a name, pretty much, while memory size and clock speeds will be matched with the lowest and slowest card.

Crossfire allows you to use different GPUs within the same series; SLI does not.

__________________
CPU || Core i7 920 (D0) @ 4.0GHz w/1.208v HT on
Cooler || TRUE 120 (lapped)
MoBo || ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
RAM || Corsair Dominator 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3-1600 @ 1600MHz 8-8-8-21-1T
GPU || EVGA GTX 275 896MB @ 756/1566/1296
HDD || WD VelociRaptor 300GB (OS), WD Caviar Black 640GB (storage)
Sound || Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
PSU || Corsair TX650W
Case || Coolermaster Cosmos S
OS || Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Monitor || Dell 24" UltraSharp U2410

Last edited by Amtrak; 04-01-10 at 01:43 PM.
Amtrak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 12:37 PM   #11
mbigna
Member



Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Wisconsin

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinymouse2 View Post
OK brand doesn't matter but I'm pretty sure VRAM size does matter.
I tried to SLI 2 7900gs's together. A 128MB and a 256MB version and it just didn't work.
Got another 256MB version and it didn't like having different clocks (one came pre-overclocked) and it worked when I downclocked it to match.

Could have changed or maybe I'm just special ^_^
Quote:
Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
Im voting on the latter (u r special)... hehe!

Regarding the clocks, Im not sure, but I have seen it done before. IIRC, you can also clock each card indivudal in SLI (not sure on that) so that would make having the same clockspeeds not matter right? Again, not sure on that. I just recall it having to be the same core (not chipset), brand doesnt matter. Maybe it mattered back in those days with those cards, but since G80, I dont recall that being a requirement, not to mention, most cards aside from 8800 GTS 320/640 the memory was the same....
I should probably clarify a bit:

Yes, it is not "chipset" but "core" that needs to be the same. I meant to refer to "core" (i.e. both need to be G92's <-- which makes me want to ask the question: "Would an 8800GT work with a 9800GT in SLI?").

As far as clock speed is concerned, both need to be running at the same clock speed. Whether they are purchased with the same speeds or you change the clockspeeds on one or both to match after purchase doesn't matter.

__________________
Adopt a Topic for an Overclocking Wiki
HEAT me up !
mbigna is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 12:39 PM   #12
MattNo5ss
5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Overclockers.com Editor


 
MattNo5ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amtrak View Post
Crossfire allows you to use different GPUs within the same series; SLI does not.
Really? I haven't heard of this. So, you're saying you can Xfire 4850+4870 or 5750+5770?

__________________
i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (98-0-0)

Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build
MattNo5ss is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 12:39 PM   #13
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
An 8800gt is a 9800gt...

I have seen now that the ram needs to be the same, but dont recall that being true.... still looking.

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 01:02 PM Thread Starter   #14
v0nch
Registered

 
v0nch's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2009

 
I was thinking also to sell the current 9800 GT and then buy a GTS 250? like killem2 suggested. However, would a GTS 250 run stable on my Asus P5N-E motherboard though?
v0nch is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 01:03 PM   #15
EarthDog
Researches Meritless
LIES for the Front
Page and Super Mutterator

Overclockers.com Editor
First Responders


 
EarthDog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in Maryland...

 
The GTS250 is nothing but a 9800gtx+. While it will be an upgrade, its not a major one and I wouldnt go that route. What resolution do you game at?

__________________

"We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon
EarthDog is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 01:41 PM   #16
Amtrak
Member

 
Amtrak's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2008

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattNo5ss View Post
Really? I haven't heard of this. So, you're saying you can Xfire 4850+4870 or 5750+5770?
Yes. If they're from the same series you can Crossfire 'em. Same series means 58xx, 57xx, 48xx, etc., not just generation. The exception would be the 5970, which is really two 58xx series GPUs.

5870 + 5850

4870 + 4850

3870 + 3850

__________________
CPU || Core i7 920 (D0) @ 4.0GHz w/1.208v HT on
Cooler || TRUE 120 (lapped)
MoBo || ASUS P6T Deluxe V2
RAM || Corsair Dominator 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3-1600 @ 1600MHz 8-8-8-21-1T
GPU || EVGA GTX 275 896MB @ 756/1566/1296
HDD || WD VelociRaptor 300GB (OS), WD Caviar Black 640GB (storage)
Sound || Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
PSU || Corsair TX650W
Case || Coolermaster Cosmos S
OS || Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
Monitor || Dell 24" UltraSharp U2410
Amtrak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-10, 01:46 PM   #17
MattNo5ss
5up3r m0d3r4t0r
Overclockers.com Editor


 
MattNo5ss's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AL

 
That's neat, the higher card is just scaled down. Could be useful to someone with multiple GPUs from the same generation. My bro has a 5750 and I'm getting a 5770 today, so if one of us upgrades, then the old GPU can be used by one of us.

Learn something new everyday...

__________________
i7 3770K | ASUS Maximus V Gene | 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24 | EVGA GTX780 SC ACX | 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 | SeaSonic SS-1000XP

My Overclockers.com Articles | HWBot Profile | Heatware (98-0-0)

Projects: Copper-Framed, MDF Station | PVC-Framed, MDF Station | Custom Cascade Cart/Case | Untitled TJ07 Build
MattNo5ss is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?