• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Custom Fan Wiring issues

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

chino

Hey, recently i have aquired some Proliant server fans and they're 127mm and quite beefy in the area of CFM. there are 6 wires on this thing and i've contacted Nidec for the wire layout

Black = ground
Orange = open-collector tachometer
Red = +12 VDC
Yellow = open-collector, low-pass/high-fail, trip-point (speed) and locked rotor alarm
Blue = ground
Green = pulse-width modulated speed control

now, im kindof a fan noob here, but im wanting to take this thing and hook it up in... my regular PC.

What i want to do more than anything is make use of the PWM Speed control but i dont have any idea how to hook it up to a rheostat or something.

if anyone could help or lead me in the right direction i would appreciate it.

All you should need is the Black and Red to get it to work. If you want speed sensor, then also orange. If your board has a 4 pin fan header you could also use the PWM, Green wire.

well, what im actually looking to do is not use a 4pin motherboard connection, but to do something more like using a fan controller, without actually using something that takes up a 3.5in drive bay that i already don't have available.

there's a Silverstone 120mm case fan with speed control that's looks like a rheostat that i have in one of my fan spots and that's what I'm sort of looking to do with this big fan.

i guess what i should say is... i want to connect the fan's power to a 12v Molex connector and use some form of independant speed control on it so that i can drill out one of those PCI port covers and put a control knob on the back of my PC Case.

Please post the model number, and a link to a pdf if you have it.