• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i7 920 DO OC an air. can i go further?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Anders1405

I am new to all this Overclocking. My specs are:

Antec 900 Mid-Tower
Asus P6T Ws Revolution MB
i7 920 CPU
GFX 275 896MB GPU
4GB Kingston HyperX 1800 MHz
HDD WD 1TB Caviar Green

I've recently recieve and installed my new cooler Noctua NH-U12P SE2. I am as said. new to OC'ing. I tried to OC with stock intel cooler, and stopped at 3Ghz because of high temperatures. 80 on full load.

Now i have tried 4Ghz with my new cooler. Bios settings is as follows:

CPU ratio = 19.0
BCLK = 211
DDR3 = 1600 MHz

CPU Core = 1.225v
QPI/DRAM Core = 1.250V
DRAM BUS = 1.64V

Turbo mode disabled.

Idle temps are 32-33 C
Full load tested for an hour is 67 C

My question is this. Can i go any further, og should i stay on the safe side of 4Ghz? I would like to get some tips, as i am new to all this OC :D

i think you should stay where you are

you might just want to go up to 4.2, thats where i am with my megahalems cooler

well you say you tried 4ghz but did you test it by running prime95 for like 2+hours or linx to see if its stable.. thats a pretty low vcore to have 4ghz stable imo

and as for going further.. unless you're benching etc you probably will not see a difference in apps for everyday use. I got my rig up to 4.2 before heat was getting too high for my taste and now i use a 3.8(3.82 really) overclock for daily use. i didnt see a big enough difference between 3.8 and 4.2 to justify my idle temps being nearly 20C higher and load temps being at 80-82C.. now I run like 42c idle and 65c load.. so even in the hot summer w/o the AC on i can run without worries of overheating

I run fsx, which is very hard for the CPU, så even a differense of 0.2 Ghz does matter.