• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Intel Pentium 4 524 (Prescott)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

360fifa

Registered
Hello everyone, i'm new to overclocking as well as new to this website.

I would love to overclock this system but dnt know how to. I would love to learn how to do this. I have a intel pc running a pentium 4 processor of 3.06ghz. CPU-Z tells me that its a socket 775 LGA
Core Voltage is 1.36v
Technology is 90nm
Stepping is 9
Clocks (core #0)
-Core Speed 3079.6 MHZ
-Multiplier x23.0
-Bus Speed 133.9 MHZ
-Rated FSB 535.6 MHZ
Cache
-L1 Data 16 KBytes 8-Way
-Trace 12 Kuops 8-Way
-Level 2 1024 KBytes 8-Way

Cores is 1 Threads 2 (Why does it show 1 core instead of 2 cores?)
Stock heatsink & fan.

I have a AsRock 775Dual-VSTA Mobo. Thanks inadvance.

Last edited:
:welcome: to OCForums :)

Although this guide was writen specifically for the generation of hardware following yours (Core 2 Duo and Core 2 Quad), but the basic princibles and most of the steps are no different for your system:
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=515316

To get you started, you're overclocking will be done by increasing the "bus speed 133.9MHz"...and to do so your CPU voltage will need to be increased a bit.

It's showing as 1 core, becasue it is 1 core....your CPU uses an Intel technology Called HyperThreading to creat two virtual cores for the OS to utilize. This can lead to up to about 15% increase in performance, but most of the time doesn't help much at all on this generation of hardware (p4) :(

Thanks for the Welcome.

Man that was a efty piece. It was very informative very noob as well. I will test this out later. If I have any difficulties I'll post it.

Thanks again for ur'll help.