Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

help with water cooling

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-10, 12:57 AM Thread Starter   #1
arcanise

 
arcanise's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
help with water cooling


hey guys, just joined and i was hoping you all could help me out.

ive been building computers for years now, and im a computer tech in the marine corp, but ive never even looked too heavily on water cooling. heres my current build and its all fans, and well lets face it fans get loud and dusty, so lets see what you guys can do for me, budget ~$500

cooler master sniper case
intel core i7 960
ASUS P6X58D Premium
nvidia gtx 260 (upgrading to the 470 soon)
1 64 GB kingston SSD
1 500 GB HDD
1 1 TB HDD
XFX Black Edition P1-750B-CAG9 750W power supply

that should be all you guys need to know.
arcanise is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-10, 01:09 AM   #2
BobbyBubblehead
Member

 
BobbyBubblehead's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009

 
to the Forums.

we can cure your noise but theres still fans in the equation and the joy of dust "cakes" blocking your radiators from time to time

certain others will chime in... im taking my brain off-line its seven in the morning here and "I is V tired"

i`ll chime in a little later
BobbyBubblehead is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-10, 01:10 AM Thread Starter   #3
arcanise

 
arcanise's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
lol yeah im stationed in iwakuni japan right now, 1510 right now.
arcanise is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-10, 04:16 AM   #4
Widowmker
Member

 
Widowmker's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: U.S.A.

 
Semper Fi Arcanise. $500 you should be able to WC your CPU and VGA. I hear the 470 is a noisy space heater so make sure you have enough rad for that monster. I'm not familiar with that case so I don't know what rads will fit in it or what mods may need to be done. Here's a link for some testing and reviews on WC components.

http://www.skinneelabs.com/

__________________
CPU - i7 920 DO 4200mhz(daily tune) 4597mhz@1.4375v(max so far)
Mobo - Asus P6X58D-Premium
RAM - OCZ Gold 1600 6gb
Video - Asus EAH5770
HDD - WD Black 500gb
PSU - Thermaltake XT 750
Case - Corsair 800D
Water - Apogee XT, MCP655, TFC rad
Widowmker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-10, 07:51 AM   #5
BobbyBubblehead
Member

 
BobbyBubblehead's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009

 
well I had a look at the coolermaster site and it sent me back here #Laughs#

Heres a link for the sniper case with some WC`ing in place.

http://www.overclockers.com/cm-snipe...-watercooling/
BobbyBubblehead is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-10, 08:21 AM   #6
BobbyBubblehead
Member

 
BobbyBubblehead's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009

 
anyhow looks like options are 2x120 "wrestled" into the top & maybe a 3x120 off the back.

not sure just yet (not been looking) on what a Nv470 wants minimum to tame it
and as for a WB well we need to know the exact card where dealing with at the time.

if you want quiet then we need to look at the lower FPI rads so we can steer clear of the "jet turbines" required to drive them #Laughs#

heres a link to a hole bunch of rads, info & links

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=626885
BobbyBubblehead is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-10, 09:00 AM   #7
Hsnopi



Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Maryland

 
i also did wc for silence. you can reduce a lot of the dust with filters. the prefilters for most hepa filtratiosn systems work and don;t reduce airflow a ton. shake out the carbon though. also some places sell fan covers with built in filters. they are more expensive but do the same thing and look a little prettier.

__________________
-ASUS Maximus II Formula LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel -SAPPHIRE 100251SR Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB 512-bit
-Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz LGA 775,
-mushkin 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Feser triple Rad, Feser dual rad, 5 Noctua fans, 2xSwiftech MCP655, - MCRES-Micro res., MCW-NBMAX(northbridge),Danger Den MPC-CPU - 775 Quad Core Block,DD-4870-X2, DD Aqua Bay
The Build
Hsnopi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-10, 09:14 AM Thread Starter   #8
arcanise

 
arcanise's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
hrmm i was hoping there would be a kit i could just pick up that would fit what i need with minimal modification or none at all, and im not too worried about noise, im just worried about heat more than anything, i plan on OC and not just typical OC either im very determined to get my new i7 to 4.3GHz

to be honest i dont even know where to begin with water cooling, from what i can tell this is what ill need

cpu block
gpu block
liquid tank
tubing
pump
radiator?
i do see two holes in the back of my desktop that are advertised for water cooling, why would the water tubing ever need to exit the case? im pretty sure i can mount one of these radiators on the top of my case and have it blow the air up and out.
arcanise is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-10, 09:33 AM   #9
BobbyBubblehead
Member

 
BobbyBubblehead's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009

 
you can start out with a swiftech kit and develop it to your gpu needs

H20-H220 kits
http://www.swiftnets.com/

shows why the holes for tubing in the case that GPU your planning on will need another rad in the loop and if your really clocking over radding is the way.

my system took two 3x120 rads to handle the cpu & gpu
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...8&postcount=67
whole thread links in the top right... its not compulsory viewing #Laughs#
BobbyBubblehead is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-10, 09:44 AM Thread Starter   #10
arcanise

 
arcanise's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
=[ i live in a military barracks so im trying to condense all of this inside the case. i was thinking i could mount one at the bottom and one on top for 2 rads?
arcanise is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-10, 09:55 AM   #11
Hsnopi



Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Maryland

 
look at the link in my sig and you can see what went into the build including how it fits. you can start with a kit but get a nice one or you will end up replacing all the parts as you get the bug to wc

for 500 you can get a nice setup. the only difference between a kit and building your own is the planning part. cause really, you still have to install the parts whether from a kit or parts purchase. but i understand the desire

__________________
-ASUS Maximus II Formula LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel -SAPPHIRE 100251SR Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB 512-bit
-Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz LGA 775,
-mushkin 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Feser triple Rad, Feser dual rad, 5 Noctua fans, 2xSwiftech MCP655, - MCRES-Micro res., MCW-NBMAX(northbridge),Danger Den MPC-CPU - 775 Quad Core Block,DD-4870-X2, DD Aqua Bay
The Build
Hsnopi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-10, 10:00 AM Thread Starter   #12
arcanise

 
arcanise's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
mounting rads and fans is no problem, i just dont have the tools/time to mod the case all too much so i need stuff that fits the preset holes
arcanise is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-10, 12:50 PM   #13
Hsnopi



Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Maryland

 
true but you most parts are the same tools you'd need to put on any parts. as for teh radiator, my original build had it velcro mounted to the top

__________________
-ASUS Maximus II Formula LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel -SAPPHIRE 100251SR Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB 512-bit
-Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz LGA 775,
-mushkin 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Feser triple Rad, Feser dual rad, 5 Noctua fans, 2xSwiftech MCP655, - MCRES-Micro res., MCW-NBMAX(northbridge),Danger Den MPC-CPU - 775 Quad Core Block,DD-4870-X2, DD Aqua Bay
The Build
Hsnopi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-10, 09:09 PM Thread Starter   #14
arcanise

 
arcanise's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
see i can figure out how to put it all together, i just need links for equipment because i have no idea how much room i have vs. how big the parts are, i dont want to end up with a radiator twice the size of my case
arcanise is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-10, 05:27 AM   #15
BobbyBubblehead
Member

 
BobbyBubblehead's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009

 
take look at the rad info I posted here, gives all the dimensions even diagrams of the designs with some.

something like the swiftech rads have a low FPI and you can asess if the case will handle a 2x120 up top.

then hang a 3x120 off the back, best I can suggest to attatch them and keep it all together



Q. WC`ers could someone give us some shopping links?.... dont think my UK lists gonna help here

BobbyBubblehead is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-10, 10:15 AM Thread Starter   #16
arcanise

 
arcanise's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
yes links would be awesome im trying to figure out if buying separate parts or a kit would be the best
arcanise is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-10, 04:34 AM   #17
BobbyBubblehead
Member

 
BobbyBubblehead's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009

 
Bump!


Q. WC`ers could someone give us some shopping links?.... dont think my UK lists gonna help here

BobbyBubblehead is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-10, 10:02 PM   #18
Widowmker
Member

 
Widowmker's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: U.S.A.

 

__________________
CPU - i7 920 DO 4200mhz(daily tune) 4597mhz@1.4375v(max so far)
Mobo - Asus P6X58D-Premium
RAM - OCZ Gold 1600 6gb
Video - Asus EAH5770
HDD - WD Black 500gb
PSU - Thermaltake XT 750
Case - Corsair 800D
Water - Apogee XT, MCP655, TFC rad
Widowmker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-10, 10:22 PM   #19
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
Try this for size:
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/25...rcooling-guide


I have no idea about UK stores. There are a few UK guys here, maybe they can chime in.

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-10, 11:00 PM Thread Starter   #20
arcanise

 
arcanise's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2010

 
arcanise is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?