Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Missing 80 gigs on hard drive

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-10, 09:30 AM Thread Starter   #1
yzfspecvr6
Member



Join Date: Apr 2010

 
Missing 80 gigs on hard drive


Just had windows vista 64bit installed windows 7 64bit started from fresh wiped out all my files and I had like over 150 gigs missing so I looked into it and I found out deleteing ur windowsold helped so I deleted that and now im missing 80 gigs my new windows folder takes up like 18 gigs I think so i know windows 7 takes up memory but 80 gigs worth? I am missing memory how can I get it back I already did a disk clean up and defrag and that really didnt even give me anything new. Is there somthing im missing or can do???
yzfspecvr6 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-10, 10:14 AM   #2
tinymouse2
Member

 
tinymouse2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Surrey, England

 
Well what HDD do you have? Have you ticked "show all hidden files and folders"?

__________________
Sound setup:
Amp: Cambridge Audio Azur 340A SE
Speakers: Wharfedale 10.2's
Sound Card: Asus D2X


Computer:
q9550 @ 3.8GHz
GTX460 @ stock
tinymouse2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-10, 10:17 AM Thread Starter   #3
yzfspecvr6
Member



Join Date: Apr 2010

 
Honestly Im not sure what HDD i have I have probably looked it up and forgot about it. Yeah I did the show all hidden files and folder but that still wasnt even 80 gigs I think it was just an extra 2 gigs if that If i remember right. I dont know why it didnt give me a fresh install I clicked custom install and it said it will remove all my old files and programs this is quite frusterating. 80 gigs is alot of memory to not have.
yzfspecvr6 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-10, 10:18 AM   #4
Joeteck
Retired

 
Joeteck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island

 
Download a program called WINDIRSTAT, it will help you find out where your space went...

This is a direct download link for you.
Joeteck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-10, 10:19 AM   #5
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
It sounds like shadow copy making its backup.

Right click your hard drive and click "Properties". Go to the "Previous Versions" tab and see if there is any listed.

You can disabled it by right clicking "Computer", clicking "Properties", clicking "Advanced System Settings" and going to the "System Protection" tab.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-10, 10:21 AM   #6
TheCheat
Member

 
TheCheat's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Marquette, MI

 
If your using the HD spec as a reference for amount of space you're expecting, then you need to read up a bit on what happens when you format the hard drive. There is a difference between non formatted space and formatted space.

If this is not the case, take a snippet of your main HD and post it on here. We can help you and narrow it down from there.

__________________
Corsair 600T - i5 2500 - Asus Maximus V Gene - 8GB Ram - EVGA 560 Ti 448cores - 240GB Mushkin SSD - 1 TB WD HD - Seasonic X750 GOLD - Blu-ray - Dell 2407FPW + Dell U2412M
Dell XPS 16 - i7 720 - 8GB Ram - AMD 5730 1GB - WD 500GB HD - Blu-ray
TheCheat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-10, 10:29 AM Thread Starter   #7
yzfspecvr6
Member



Join Date: Apr 2010

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeteck View Post
Download a program called WINDIRSTAT, it will help you find out where your space went...

This is a direct download link for you.
So i can use this program to see where my space is going then delete those files right?
yzfspecvr6 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-10, 10:44 AM   #8
Joeteck
Retired

 
Joeteck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by yzfspecvr6 View Post
So i can use this program to see where my space is going then delete those files right?

Well, yes... But be careful.... If its an application, it must be uninstalled...
Joeteck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-10, 11:09 AM   #9
Mpegger
Member

 
Mpegger's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NYC

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCheat View Post
If your using the HD spec as a reference for amount of space you're expecting, then you need to read up a bit on what happens when you format the hard drive. There is a difference between non formatted space and formatted space.

If this is not the case, take a snippet of your main HD and post it on here. We can help you and narrow it down from there.

There is no difference between a formatted or unformatted drive. The "difference" you see is the misrepresentation of the volume size by the OS because its (the OS) is using the incorrect suffix to state the size. However, if the OS did infact use the correct suffix, then the volume stated would be correct.

Example:

WD 640GB HDD contains 640,132,575,232 bytes (more then 640GB by 132MB).

Windows misrepresents the total size as 596GB.

GB=1000^3

It should actually state 596GiB.

GiB=1024^3

640GB = 640,000,000,000 bytes

596GiB = 639,950,127,104 bytes

596GB = 596,000,000,000 bytes

596GB =/= (596GiB = 600GB)




Since your using Windows, simply goto "Windows Explorer", right click on the actual drive itself (for example ( C: )) and choose "Properties". The screen that opens up will give you the correct total space in bytes just above the pie chart. You can simply use the first group of number(s) before the comma and add 'GB' to that to see what your actual total drive space is (which would match whats stated on the HDD itself).

Now if your actually "missing" HDD space because of other issues (hidden partition? incorrectly partitioned? system backups?), what the others have stated are things that can help you look into it.

__________________
NZXT Switch 810 / Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 980x @ 3857 / 24GiB / 780Ti
ESXi server / i7-3770s / 32GiB / 16TB ZFS-z2

-----------------------------
[GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB]
"Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006

"One World, One Web, One Program" - Microsoft
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Hitler

(Microsucks) Avatar and quote on loan from AntmanMike
Heatware
Mpegger is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-10, 11:19 AM   #10
Joeteck
Retired

 
Joeteck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island

 
on a calculator do this; <drive size> x .932 = <formatted size>

1500 = 1.398 gig
1000 = 932 gig
750 = 699 gig
640 = 596.48 gig
500 = 466 gig
400 = 372.8 gig
320 = 298.24 gig
250 = 233 gig
160 = 149.12 gig
Joeteck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-10, 11:43 AM   #11
Mpegger
Member

 
Mpegger's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NYC

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeteck View Post
on a calculator do this; <drive size> x .932 = <formatted size>
Stating it this way would still make it sound as if there is actual storage space lost when formatting. I think a more correctly termed formula would be:

<decimal size> x .932 = <binary size>

Decimal being 1000^x; KB, MB, GB, TB, etc.

Binary being 1024^x; KiB, MiB, GiB, TiB, etc.

__________________
NZXT Switch 810 / Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R / i7 980x @ 3857 / 24GiB / 780Ti
ESXi server / i7-3770s / 32GiB / 16TB ZFS-z2

-----------------------------
[GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB]
"Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006

"One World, One Web, One Program" - Microsoft
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Hitler

(Microsucks) Avatar and quote on loan from AntmanMike
Heatware
Mpegger is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-10, 11:47 AM   #12
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Offtopic guys, pull it back on track please.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-10, 12:07 PM   #13
Joeteck
Retired

 
Joeteck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpegger View Post
Stating it this way would still make it sound as if there is actual storage space lost when formatting. I think a more correctly termed formula would be:

<decimal size> x .932 = <binary size>

Decimal being 1000^x; KB, MB, GB, TB, etc.

Binary being 1024^x; KiB, MiB, GiB, TiB, etc.

Which ever, the answer is still the same...
Joeteck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-10, 11:02 AM   #14
threeme2189
Member

 
threeme2189's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Drowning my sorrow and misery in apple juice

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
Offtopic guys, pull it back on track please.
Why exactly are they offtopic?

The above poster states that he/she has "lost" 80 GB of HD space in one way or another.

I too read the thread title and immediately thought that he/she has misinterpreted the whole 1024 bits vs 1000 bits in a byte thing that makes it seem like our drives are never the size that's written on the box.

__________________
My Rig:
HOT Athlon XP 2600 T-Bred :: GA-7M400M Gigabyte Mobo
Asus 9600XT OC from 500/300@580/360 stock! :: 512 MB 333Mhz Spektek Ram
Crappy 80 Gig HDD :: Sony CD Burner/dvd drive + CD drive

If You'll Excuse Me, I Have A Beam Of Light To Catch.
threeme2189 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-10, 12:05 PM   #15
nd4spdbh2
Member

 
nd4spdbh2's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA!

 
whats the size of the hd you have.

and have you turned off system restore to get rid of all the unnecessary restore points?

__________________
#12 in the 4ghz core 2 duo club baby! - 52 inches of CRYSIS! - Black Belt Ubercloxx0r -- Heatware
Main -- Lian Li V2000b -- i7 2700k -- MSI Z68A-GD80 -- 12gb 1600 -- GTX560Ti --Adata 128gb S510 & 2x500gb -- Seasonic S12 600w -- Dell 2209WA
HTPC -- Silverstone GD05B -- E7200 @ 3.2ghz -- G41-M7 -- 4GB 800mhz -- g210 passive -- 320gb 2.5in WD -- Antec EA 430w -- 52inch Samsung LCD
Server -- Antec NSK4480B -- E3300 @ 2.5ghz -- ECS G33T-M2 -- 3gb 667mhz -- Onboard Vid -- 500Gb + 1TB hatachi + 1tb WD -- Zalman 400w
Netbook - Dell Mini 9 - Atom 1.6ghz - 8GB ssd - 2GB pc6400 - WIN 7 PRO!
Need 4 Speed - BH
nd4spdbh2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-10, 01:35 PM   #16
MasterCraft

 
MasterCraft's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wonderland

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by nd4spdbh2 View Post
whats the size of the hd you have.

and have you turned off system restore to get rid of all the unnecessary restore points?


So I'm having the same problem, let me elaborate through pics and see if this is his problem as well. This was all done on a fresh install of windows 7.


I have a 500g Seagate model "STS3500320AS"




as you can see the drive reports 375GB free of 465GB. a difference of 90GB.

However when I index the C drive for total used space...




It reports only 20.6GB space used. in other words, where is the other 69.4GB

This isn't a 1024 vs 1000 issue. I think the OP is in the same boat, hopefully this makes it a bit more clear.

__________________
CPU = Intel Core I7 2600K @ 4.8Ghz - 100x48 1.40vcore
MB = ASUS Z77 Sabertooth - Watercooled with an Apogee XT
RAM = Corsair Vengeance v1.43 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 2133
VGA = SLI 2x EVGA Superclocked GeForce GTX 580 Hydrocopper 2's @900/2100
HD = Crucial 256GB primary and raid 5 storage array
PSU = CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W

Last edited by MasterCraft; 05-06-10 at 01:39 PM. Reason: Fixed links to pics.
MasterCraft is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-10, 01:45 PM   #17
MasterCraft

 
MasterCraft's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wonderland

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
It sounds like shadow copy making its backup.

Right click your hard drive and click "Properties". Go to the "Previous Versions" tab and see if there is any listed.

You can disabled it by right clicking "Computer", clicking "Properties", clicking "Advanced System Settings" and going to the "System Protection" tab.


I didn't even see this post, Bravo.


This was my issue.

__________________
CPU = Intel Core I7 2600K @ 4.8Ghz - 100x48 1.40vcore
MB = ASUS Z77 Sabertooth - Watercooled with an Apogee XT
RAM = Corsair Vengeance v1.43 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 2133
VGA = SLI 2x EVGA Superclocked GeForce GTX 580 Hydrocopper 2's @900/2100
HD = Crucial 256GB primary and raid 5 storage array
PSU = CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W
MasterCraft is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-10, 02:06 PM   #18
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterCraft View Post
So I'm having the same problem, let me elaborate through pics and see if this is his problem as well. This was all done on a fresh install of windows 7.


I have a 500g Seagate model "STS3500320AS"




as you can see the drive reports 375GB free of 465GB. a difference of 90GB.

However when I index the C drive for total used space...




It reports only 20.6GB space used. in other words, where is the other 69.4GB

This isn't a 1024 vs 1000 issue. I think the OP is in the same boat, hopefully this makes it a bit more clear.
As I said:

Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
It sounds like shadow copy making its backup.

Right click your hard drive and click "Properties". Go to the "Previous Versions" tab and see if there is any listed.

You can disabled it by right clicking "Computer", clicking "Properties", clicking "Advanced System Settings" and going to the "System Protection" tab.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-10, 02:08 PM   #19
MasterCraft

 
MasterCraft's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wonderland

 
See above.

__________________
CPU = Intel Core I7 2600K @ 4.8Ghz - 100x48 1.40vcore
MB = ASUS Z77 Sabertooth - Watercooled with an Apogee XT
RAM = Corsair Vengeance v1.43 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR3 2133
VGA = SLI 2x EVGA Superclocked GeForce GTX 580 Hydrocopper 2's @900/2100
HD = Crucial 256GB primary and raid 5 storage array
PSU = CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W
MasterCraft is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-10, 02:10 PM   #20
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Aww, you beat me to it, no problem. Now I just wish the original poster would read my comment.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 128 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x E5645 | 288 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?