Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

AMD Phenom II X4 965 vs AMD Phenom II X6 1055T

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-17-10, 06:41 PM Thread Starter   #1
Viperlx
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
AMD Phenom II X4 965 vs AMD Phenom II X6 1055T


So the question is simple, which one is better for gaming

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103727

or

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-851-_-Product

Nothing out there uses 4 core now yet alone 6 core. With the motherboard I am getting I could easily update to 6core in the future if needed. Which would you get to overclock and game.
Viperlx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-10, 07:03 PM   #2
Dolk
I once overclocked an Intel
in a nightmare and
it was HORRIBLE Senior



OCF's Plaything

 
Dolk's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Louis MO

 
Actually a lot of things use 4 cores, and more. Anything that is coded in multi-threaded applications (which is a lot) will scale up to the maximum cores enabled by Vista (mostly).

It comes down to this: What exactly are you doing with this computer? Are you doing a lot of programming, video editing, media editing, etc? Or are you gaming?

__________________
(╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
currently has .2738428927348 internets
create your own rules to find the answer
be proud of the pink stars
Earthdog: New codename for SB for extreme overclockers... BLEH.


Dolk is offline Author Profile Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-10, 07:11 PM Thread Starter   #3
Viperlx
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2004

 
I will be doing alot of gaming but chances of coding and photo editing in the future when I go back to school
Viperlx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-10, 07:15 PM   #4
Dolk
I once overclocked an Intel
in a nightmare and
it was HORRIBLE Senior



OCF's Plaything

 
Dolk's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: St. Louis MO

 
965 if your short on cash

1055T if you have it, and want future support

__________________
(╯v)╯︵ ┻━┻
currently has .2738428927348 internets
create your own rules to find the answer
be proud of the pink stars
Earthdog: New codename for SB for extreme overclockers... BLEH.


Dolk is offline Author Profile Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-10, 08:01 PM   #5
Pvt.Dancer
Member

 
Pvt.Dancer's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wilsonville, OR

 
dolks got the right idea but remember when gaming its all about clock speed after you get past 2 cores the higher the better for gaming.

__________________
Main Rig
Mobo: ASUS Maximus IV Extreme CPU: Intel I7 2600K @ 5.0 GHZ Vcore 1.5 Cooling: Custom water cooling 3x120 rad, EK supreme HF full copper, EK 150 basic res, Koolance PMP-450 High-flow Pump RAM:16GB Corsair Dominator GT 1866 9.10.9.27 2T GFX: ASUS GTX 690 PSU: Corsair HX 850 Case: Corsair 800D

Server
CPU: 2x Xeon x5550 Memory: 48GB DDR3 1333 ECC REG 8x QR HDD's: 3x 15k SAS 350GB Raid 5 & 3x 7200 RPM SAS 1TB Raid 5
Pvt.Dancer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-10, 08:28 PM   #6
ytpconquer
Member

 
ytpconquer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Davis, CA

 
how well do the 1055s OC compared to the 965BE? Considering the 1055T is not a BE does that tend to make other components more of a factor in higher clocks?

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Intel i5-2500K @ 4.5Ghz
Cooler Master Hyper 212+
4x2 GB G.Skill DDR3 1600
EVGA 660Ti FTW
WD Caviar Black 640GB, 1TB
Antec HCG-900 900W
Antec 900 Two


Heatware
ytpconquer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-10, 09:02 PM   #7
AlabamaCajun

 
AlabamaCajun's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A Labyrinth

 
You might consider the AM3 Regar at 3.1G and 2x 1M cache.
Those big caches help for gaming and dual cores are still great for encoding.
Later get one of the 32nm Beasts!
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-844-_-Product

__________________
Main Rigs
Developement -Phen2 1090T on Asus 870
Fun -Callisto 555BE, Asus 990FX Sabortooth,ATI HD3870
CDs, Labels, Printing etc- 5000BBE, GA790FX, Wintec 800 4G.HD2600XT
Rendering Server- 4x Barcelona 8347s. Tyan S4980 Quad, 16G (2G Kingston per socket).
Folding, Testing- Vista, Regor 265 X2 on Asus 880,
dead- Phen2-940
AM2, DFI790FX-M2R,Corsair-PC6400 CL4
Theme Park Builder 3D The Game- Build-em and Ride-em.
AlabamaCajun is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-10, 09:23 PM   #8
col_sanders
Member

 
col_sanders's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: USA-PA

 
Cant go wrong there if you trying to save cash. I got an Athlon II x2 245 regor running 3.9 GHz with ease (then put it back to stock since I was giving it to my mom for email and surfing). But newer games coming out are actually supporting multi-core processors and you would definitely benefit from a quad or hex core chip (DiRT2, GRiD, arma2, metro2033 and others)

__________________
---Main/Folding/BOINC/Folding/Server---
CPU: AMD Phenom II X6 1100T CPU: Xeon E5450 CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 CPU: 2x Opty275
MB: ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB: eVGA nforce 790i SLI FTW MB: MSI K9N6PGM2-V2 MB:HP Proliant DL385
GFX: 1x EVGA GTX 780 Ti GFX: 1x EVGA GTX 460 + 1x EVGA GTX295 GFX: 1x EVGA GTX 260 GFX: Onboard

Heat
col_sanders is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-10, 02:06 AM   #9
e6600

 
e6600's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles

 
i honestly never liked the 965 all too much.. it just doesnt warrant a good enough oc over the 955 to justify the price difference

the 1055t is a really nice cpu for the money

__________________
Heat
e6600 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-10, 04:55 AM   #10
Niku-Sama
Member

 
Niku-Sama's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Deadford OR

 
a for instance for games..

as of 5/18/2010 WoW supports up to 8 cores
http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/th...cId=1778017311

link shows you how to modify configuration incase auto detect fails on # of cores are in the system. i had to manually change it on both my windsor and my tri.

and considering the age of wow (even though its constantly updated) theres probably alot more with multi threading than you think
Niku-Sama is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?