Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

OCZ Technology Introduces 400GB and 480GB Capacities for Vertex 2 and Agility 2

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-25-10, 02:30 AM Thread Starter   #1
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
OCZ Technology Introduces 400GB and 480GB Capacities for Vertex 2 and Agility 2



__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-10, 06:13 AM   #2
xtkxhom3r

 
xtkxhom3r's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Antonio,TX

 
now thats what im talking about! tobad their probably going to be like 1000 bucks lol...

any idea on the form factor? if thats on a 2.5" drive that is really impressive

__________________
[2600K - 4.5GHZ | Swiftech HeatKiller- MCR 120.3 - 6 Fans]
[MSI P67A-G45 | 2x4gb gskill]
[x2 7970's | EK vga blocks | MCR120.3 - 3 Fans | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty]
[x2 OCZ Vertex 3 raid 0 | x3 WD 3TB red | Coarsair 1000HX | Lian Li V2000 ]

Laptop Service Manuals

Dont forget to hit that thanks button!!
xtkxhom3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-10, 01:29 PM Thread Starter   #3
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
well they have 512gig drives in 2.5in so i would think 2.5in still. only time i have seen 3.5in or heard about them is in the 1TB+ size.

__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-10, 01:57 PM   #4
xtkxhom3r

 
xtkxhom3r's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Antonio,TX

 
i dont know why they just dont make them 3.5 form factor like come on why try to make everything fit into a 2.5" one when u can make bit bigger and add way more space....

__________________
[2600K - 4.5GHZ | Swiftech HeatKiller- MCR 120.3 - 6 Fans]
[MSI P67A-G45 | 2x4gb gskill]
[x2 7970's | EK vga blocks | MCR120.3 - 3 Fans | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty]
[x2 OCZ Vertex 3 raid 0 | x3 WD 3TB red | Coarsair 1000HX | Lian Li V2000 ]

Laptop Service Manuals

Dont forget to hit that thanks button!!
xtkxhom3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-10, 02:24 PM   #5
hyperasus
Member

 
hyperasus's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA

 
All of the OCZ Colossus drives are 3.5". OCZ makes 3.5" drives starting at 120GB all the way up too 1TB. Not cheap though.

I would love to have a 500GB 2.5" SSD for my notebook.

__________________
Motherboard: ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3 Z68
CPU: Intel i7-2700K
Memory: 16GB Crucial Ballistix 1600 (2 x 8GB) 8-8-8-24
Hard Drives: Intel 520 240GB + 4TB Seagate 7200rpm
Video Card: Integrated Intel
Power supply: Antec EarthWatts Platinum 450watt

Heatware
hyperasus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-10, 03:32 PM Thread Starter   #6
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
the only colossus i remember hearing about was the 1tb in 3.5in FF. interesting to see smaller ones now, though with a single SLC up to 4gb. in a 3.5in FF that is going to be one huge drive.

2.5in FF makes more sense in a way, why take up more space for a hd when you can make it smaller. you use less material and you can ship more to etailer/retailer, its better all around. plus ocz makes more money per drive that way too.

__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-10, 03:41 PM   #7
xtkxhom3r

 
xtkxhom3r's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Antonio,TX

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
the only colossus i remember hearing about was the 1tb in 3.5in FF. interesting to see smaller ones now, though with a single SLC up to 4gb. in a 3.5in FF that is going to be one huge drive.

2.5in FF makes more sense in a way, why take up more space for a hd when you can make it smaller. you use less material and you can ship more to etailer/retailer, its better all around. plus ocz makes more money per drive that way too.
i understand but the tech is taking to long to get to the point of 500/1000gb ssd drives that we need now u know.... they should release them in a large form factor then later on when the tech is there then down size them

__________________
[2600K - 4.5GHZ | Swiftech HeatKiller- MCR 120.3 - 6 Fans]
[MSI P67A-G45 | 2x4gb gskill]
[x2 7970's | EK vga blocks | MCR120.3 - 3 Fans | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty]
[x2 OCZ Vertex 3 raid 0 | x3 WD 3TB red | Coarsair 1000HX | Lian Li V2000 ]

Laptop Service Manuals

Dont forget to hit that thanks button!!
xtkxhom3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-10, 03:47 PM Thread Starter   #8
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtkxhom3r View Post
i understand but the tech is taking to long to get to the point of 500/1000gb ssd drives that we need now u know....
the tech isnt taking to long, the problem is the price. have you seen the price for a 1tb ssd? no one i can think of would drop that kind of money on a 1tb ssd. If OCZ or someone else thought people would drop 1.5k+ for a 1gb TB drive, it would have been out sooner. about the only people that would buy something like that. is website hosters or database hosters, where they need the high IOPs.

*you sentence left me a bit confused so i hope i understood it right*

Quote:
Originally Posted by xtkxhom3r View Post
they should release them in a large form factor then later on when the tech is there then down size them
so then you would rather have a 3.5in SSD drive over a 2.5in is what your saying? i mean 120gb is still 120gb no matter how you slice it. It will still take the same number of nand chips regardless of FF of the drive.

__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-10, 06:00 PM   #9
Brando
Member

 
Brando's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brandonia

 
Hot damn. No need for a spinning storage drive at that point. I NEED that 480gb one.

__________________
[]Intel 3570k 4.4ghz~Asus P8Z77-V pro~Megahalems[]Mushkin Blackline 2x4gb[]Gtx 780 direct cu II oc[]Dell U2713HM[]Samsung 840 Evo 500gb~Spinpoint F3 1tb[]Pioneer BDR-206[]Corsair AX850[]Fractal Midi R2[]Leopold Tenkeyless~Deathadder 2013[]Harman Kardon HK990~Denon AH-D7000[]

HEATWARE RATING
Brando is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-10, 07:19 PM   #10
xtkxhom3r

 
xtkxhom3r's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Antonio,TX

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evilsizer View Post
the tech isnt taking to long, the problem is the price. have you seen the price for a 1tb ssd? no one i can think of would drop that kind of money on a 1tb ssd. If OCZ or someone else thought people would drop 1.5k+ for a 1gb TB drive, it would have been out sooner. about the only people that would buy something like that. is website hosters or database hosters, where they need the high IOPs.

*you sentence left me a bit confused so i hope i understood it right*


so then you would rather have a 3.5in SSD drive over a 2.5in is what your saying? i mean 120gb is still 120gb no matter how you slice it. It will still take the same number of nand chips regardless of FF of the drive.

well the way i see it it would be cheaper to make a 500 gb 3.5" drive with older memory chips than a 500gb 2.5" drive that has new chips that can hold more memory u get me?

__________________
[2600K - 4.5GHZ | Swiftech HeatKiller- MCR 120.3 - 6 Fans]
[MSI P67A-G45 | 2x4gb gskill]
[x2 7970's | EK vga blocks | MCR120.3 - 3 Fans | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty]
[x2 OCZ Vertex 3 raid 0 | x3 WD 3TB red | Coarsair 1000HX | Lian Li V2000 ]

Laptop Service Manuals

Dont forget to hit that thanks button!!
xtkxhom3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-10, 07:33 PM Thread Starter   #11
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by xtkxhom3r View Post
well the way i see it it would be cheaper to make a 500 gb 3.5" drive with older memory chips than a 500gb 2.5" drive that has new chips that can hold more memory u get me?
i don't know what size chips they use, i was just pointing out there are 4gb chips now. only noticed then when reading the new seagate hybrid review, using a single micron 4gb SLC nand. they could still be using the same MLC ic's used in older drives like say from OCZ solid line, i dunno. benchmark reviews has a lot of pic's, maybe its time to compare. see if we can even make out the PN's on the different drives to see what nand flash is being used.

For a company it isnt cost effective to be making older ic's. when for the same cost they can manufacture smaller and/or denser ic's. It really doesnt matter the FF cause in the case here. Regardless of the nand density the 500gb can fit into a 2.5in as well as a 3.5in. why they market/manufactures went with 2.5in vs 3.5in, who knows, i can only guess. all i can think, is they thought mobile users would jump at the chance. to make one of the biggest boosts to performance by going to a SSD from a MDD.

__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare

Last edited by Evilsizer; 05-25-10 at 09:03 PM.
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-10, 08:44 PM   #12
wingman99
Member

 
wingman99's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

10 Year Badge
 
As Evilsizer said it's usually cheaper to produce chip wafers with smaller dies, you receive more dies per production of wafers. However you do have a point why don't the just load a 3.5 with more of the flash memory. I think it's because the note book market is a grater demand and the cost of allot more chips would be astronomical anyway and it would be a small market for 3.5 when 2.5 will work with all markets.

16 chips each has (8GB)

Vertex 2 Pro 16 chips both back and front, look below they probably could fit a allot more chips on a 3.5 you could even layer them, that would be vary expensive. Just looking at this, I cant believe it cost $384.
Attached Images
 

__________________
i5 2500K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570

Last edited by wingman99; 05-25-10 at 09:12 PM.
wingman99 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-10, 09:03 PM   #13
hafa
Premium Member #24

 
hafa's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: A tiny dot in the middle of the Pacific

 
Also, it is cheaper to tool up for a single production run. 2 different form factors cost twice as much to set up. Standardization = more benefits to the consumer.

__________________
.
HTPC: Core i3 540/8GB/300GB Raptor/GTS450-1GB/W7P-64 ~|~ File Server: (Green) AMD 4850E/4GB/6TB RAID/Windows Server 2008 ~|~ Notebook/Workstation: M780 Toshiba Convertible Tablet/i7 M620/8GB/128GB Crucial M4 SSD /7200RPM 750GB/W8 Pro

hafa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-10, 09:58 PM   #14
hyperasus
Member

 
hyperasus's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA

 
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227512

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227513

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227514


Looks like they are out of stock on the 1TB model but its out there. Personally I don't see whats all the fuss bout 3.5" SSD when you can buy a 2.5" to 3.5" adapter for dirt cheap. Now days they sell more laptops then desktops so don't hold it against OCZ for placing more focus on 2.5".

__________________
Motherboard: ASUS Maximus IV Gene-Z/GEN3 Z68
CPU: Intel i7-2700K
Memory: 16GB Crucial Ballistix 1600 (2 x 8GB) 8-8-8-24
Hard Drives: Intel 520 240GB + 4TB Seagate 7200rpm
Video Card: Integrated Intel
Power supply: Antec EarthWatts Platinum 450watt

Heatware
hyperasus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-10, 10:06 PM Thread Starter   #15
Evilsizer
Senior Fourm Spammer


 
Evilsizer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austin,Texas

10 Year Badge
 
not only that hyper but alot of SAS drives i have seen used, when i was working. were 2.5in drives in sleds so they have a wide market range with ssd's. getting them sold to help drive price down is the way i see it with going with 2.5in out the door with them.

__________________

Intel G3258@4.2ghz | Asrock Z97M OC Formula | Galaxy GTX660 GC | PM840 Pro 128GB, PM830 FDE 250GB | SilverStone ST45SF
i3 370M | Jetway NF98 | 2x2gig DDR3-1066 | pico 120WI | Asus GT630 2GB (GK208) |
intel i5 2450M


"I Love To Camp!"
"Commensing Shock Therapy!"
I'm jonnyGURU of jonnyGURU.com and we don't overload PSU's - JonnyGURU

HeatWare
Evilsizer is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?